We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evergreen Lodge was a wonderful, peaceful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Evergreen Lodge was a wonderful, peaceful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

If you like something a little more rustic but still want a more upscale, quiet, woodsy environment you'll totally enjoy the Evergreen.

Went to the Evergreen for 3 nights. When we booked, which was somewhat late, we were told we would have to be in 3 different cabins. They said they would move us from place to place. When we arrived, they ended up only having to move us one time which was great. The cabins were just perfect for us...clean, good beds and nice size bathroom with a strong shower. Nice little decks with chairs. We stayed in the "new" cabins, one which was newer than the other but both were nice. Can't vouch for the older units. Nothing fancy but well done and well kept.

The Evergreen is 7 miles back a road that goes through a lot of the Stanislaus National Forest and while it is by proximity close to the park, you have to drive back out the 7 miles to get to the road to the park entrance which is just maybe a mile away on the main road. Advice is to go early to avoid lines...weekdays are better than weekends. So it takes about 15-20 minutes to get to the gate but we were happy not to be staying in the hotels in the Valley. If you only want to visit the Valley, and take the walks from there, I guess the Valley is a great place for you but to really see the sites, you need to drive around so you have to leave the Valley and drive anyway. The Valley is crowded with people and more cars. The Wawona, which is where we had initially booked is very far away from most places we wanted to see and the road back and forth from there is very windy.

Food was very good at the Lodge and since there is no where else really to go, unless you want to drive back into the Valley which is really pretty far, you will enjoy having the dining room right there. Meals were a little pricey but the quality was above average and dinners were great because you could have a more gourmet meal or they also offered sandwiches at lower prices. Don't have little kids but they did have a kids menu. Nice bar that gets some outside traffic too since it is the only one in the area.

We loved sitting outside on the patio for either drinks or dining under the covered porch area. The front porch dining was also charming. Some people just got take out and ate at the picnic tables in the recreation area.

While there is no internet or cell service, they do provide some computers to use and phones where you can make calls to anywhere in the US.

We utilized their tour services to take hikes in Yosemite. At first, I felt like this was an "extra" that we didn't really need but after going out for full day trips with their guides, we all felt we got a lot more out of the experience than if we had tried to do it ourselves. Not having to drive so you can soak in the sites as well as having someone who knows the roads, less crowded pull offs and just great info about the park made this a great first time trip. If we had been more experienced with the park, we wouldn't have needed this much help but for us, it was great. There is much more driving in Yosemite than I realized and I (being the sole driver for this trip) wasn't totally exhausted at the end of the day from doing the hours of driving it takes to get to places in Yosemite.

All in all, we loved this place. It felt very homey and comfortable, a great place to come back to after our all day trips.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathyPittsburghPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    494
    104
    53
    41
See reviews for
637
666
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

The lodge is not in Yosemite but it doesn't matter at all. I am really pleased we stayed here as otherwise we wouldn't have seen this part of Yosemite and it is beautiful. The lodge was great, we had a biig cabin which had a fridge in which is handy. The room is big and the bathroom is lovely. There is a pub, resturant, shop and handout area right there with plently of oganised activities if you want to do them. The staff are really helpful and we got all the info we needed so we were able to go on treks by ourselves. It's a great location, very beautiful, I wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamsBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

Yosemite is amazing. However, I was extremely disappointed with the "custom camping" option at Evergreen. There's nothing really custom about it. It's $80 a night and basically you get a relatively cheap tent, matress and sleeping bags. It's was nice to not have bring camping stuff with us. And, if it was just a regular camping ground I wouldn't complain. However, the tents are extremely close together. For two nights in a row my family (10 year old and 6 year old) had to endure loud, drunk and obnoxious groups getting wasted near our tent. Again, this is something that can happen at any camp group. But at $80 a night, I was hoping for a little quiet. Also, you're not allowed to cook or even make coffee. That means that even though you pay a lot for a tent, you basically have to eat at the Lodge's medium-priced restaurant. There are no grills. Also, don't expect to have internet at the Lodge despite their advertisements. I witnessed people loosing it as they tried to get online. The Lodge is better off just not having it. I also found the staff largely unhelpful. When I ask about horse riding at the nearby Mather Camp the staff looked insulted and just pointed in the direction of Mather. The staff was mostly interested in selling the $350 fly fishing excursion or other overpriced hikes. The motto of the place should read "Nothing is free at Evergreen." Overall, Yosemite was incredible but Evergreen completely underwhelmed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ethan045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora, Ca
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

If you drive through Yosemite Valley or travel across Tioga Pass, you know how frustrating peak travel periods can be. Hetch Hetchy is the quiet alternative to the hustle and bustle of Yosemite for those not able to slap on a backpack and really get away from it all. And while the waterfalls and lake of Hetch Hetchy are dramatic, there is another hidden gem nestled in the trees just outside the national park boundary: Evergreen Lodge.

Once the Post Office and General Store for the construction workers that built the Hetch Hetchy Dam, the main building at Evergreen Lodge now serves as the restaurant and bar for the lodge property. The "resort" is very low key, with cabins scattered across the property, which straddles Hetch Hetchy Road, a narrow paved country road. The cabins are a bit rustic but the location and isolation from traffic means that relaxation is always available. Since the lodge is less than 1000 feet above Yosemite Valley, summers can be warm and the cabins a bit stuffy. Ceiling fans help keep the rooms comfortable and evenings usually cool down enough to make sleeping pleasant.

For us, the restaurant was a pleasant surprise. While the menu is not too varied, their steaks are some of the best one could ask for. And, if you are hungry for lunch, stop by the bar and have a hamburger--one of the best we have ever had. They also have a full bar and a good selection of wines, which we found to be reasonably priced.

Be aware that Memorial Day and Labor Day) weekends, the Strawberry Music Festival is held just down the road. Thousands of people come to these events and the narrow road is used to stage the visitors into manageable groups. We left the morning of the first day of the Memorial Day event and the narrow road was reduced to a single lane. Fortunately, we did not have any difficulty getting out to the main road.

While they have free wifi, be aware it uses a satellite link that limits daily bandwidth and once that is exceeded, its speed slows to something approaching that of a glacier.

We recommend this "off the beaten path lodge" to those looking for something a little out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OGoneAgain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

This was our second stay at the Evergreen Lodge. Over the past four years they have expanded considerably and it is a wonderful spot for couples or families to enjoy. We had forgotten that there is no AC and when we arrived at 3:00pm, our room was terribly hot. I asked for a room in a shded area and they were able to relocate us. The food is good, I had a GREAT margarita at the bar. Restaurant service consistently missed a few beats, like a banana split without the banana. It is a bit pricey, and beware of the 18% room tax. They have computers with SLOW internet access, if you can get onto one. (BUT,you are supposed to be on vacation and getting away from it all.) If you can live without AC, and your cell phone, (no signal) for a few days, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneyFan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

After living in the bay area for the past five years, we decided it was about time we visited Yosemite. While looking at multiple lodging options, the Evergreen Lodge seemed like a good place to stay. The drive down wasn’t too bad and upon arrival, we were received by an extremely friendly staff. We were informed that our cabin was located in the newly constructed section. They were also very helpful by arranging dinner reservations at the on-site restaurant. With not many other dining options around (besides the well stocked general store) we were apprehensive about eating in the same place for multiple meals. The menu and quality of food turned out to be great. Even our kids could pick from different things to eat.

We had seen pictures of the rooms and the rest of the property on the Evergreen website, but those pictures didn’t do this place justice. The rooms are beautifully furnished and the beds (even the couch) are comfortable and have nice linens. The bathroom was huge and spotless, just like the rest of the cabin.

The rest of the grounds were great as well! The staff was very informative and explained many of the updates the property had received. It is obvious they did a great job! Our kids loved the pool/foosball tables as well as the arts and crafts and the computers were helpful as well. While some of the previous reviews mentioned the lack of TVs and slow internet speed, I found the escape from technology quiet pleasant. Being in a secluded area does not permit for high speed internet. However, it does permit for a place to reconnect with your family while not forgoing the essentials (comfortable beds, showers, etc).

The location to everything was great! It was close enough to the valley, while offering peace and tranquility that is not in the valley. I’d recommend it to anyone who would like to step away from the average, everyday hotel for a more unique experience and authentic way to discover Yosemite.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJH_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

I recently stayed at the Evergreen Lodge for 2 nights at the beginning of the summer. The lodge exceeded my expectations to say the least. I was under the impression that it would be a rustic way to begin our vacation, without amenities such as TV and internet in the rooms. I never realized what a blessing the absence of these day-to-day distractions would be. Instead of lounging around in the room, catching up on the news, we actually took our time at meals (which we ate every night in the dining room and still wanted to go back to try more) and got to really catch up on each others lives. The rooms had a "cabinesque" feel which fit the surrounding and lived up to other hotels of equal value in comfort and style. Staying at the lodge proved to be a great way to begin our vacation and get away from the everyday demands of our regular lives.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boilerfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
14.9 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
14.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,652 reviews
17.6 mi away
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacati...
#4 of 24 in Yosemite National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321-9772
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Lodge is a newly expanded full-service historic resort featuring 88 spacious cabins in the woods. The lodge sits on 20 acres just a mile from Yosemite National Park in California, putting top attractions - Yosemite Valley, Tuolumne Meadows and Hetch Hetchy - in easy reach. At the lodge, savor a delicious meal, kick back in the classic tavern and enjoy other amenities, including Evergreen's sun deck, game room, kids play areas, nightly activities and therapeutic massage. Ready for adventure? Evergreen's professional guide service offers a variety of sightseeing, hiking, biking, fly fishing and snowshoeing tours, as well as free planning advice for self-guided adventures. A Frommer's 'Favorite' and 'Highly Recommended' by Fodor's, the Evergreen provides the perfect mix of recreation, relaxation and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing