We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highs and Lows” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Highs and Lows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2006

This is a story of two halves...

Firstly a great location in a wonderful National Park. The lodges/rooms were superb and the facilities generally were very good. Access to the Park is easy and when you get there it is completely stunning.

Unfortunately, being in the middle of nowhere you do feel like you are a captive audience - this manifesting itself in uncomfortably high prices and lazy service. The staff were friendly enough but many were inexperienced and simply could not organise/cope with the requirements of a busy restaurant and bar. The management were conspicuous by their absence and we felt sorry for some of the younger staff.

We had two poor evenings in the restaurant but with nowhere else to go you are simply stuck - which makes it even more annoying.

Our accompanied trip to Yosemite was a little disappointing as the guide, whilst extremely pleasant, was clearly 'feeling his way'. Fair enough but this wasnt a cheap excursion.

Come on Owners - spend some money and get a set of decent Managers to run your lovely Lodge!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — How it was run
  • Tips/Secrets — Take your own sandwiches!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Forest1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    488
    103
    53
    41
See reviews for
630
663
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dcdc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2006

My husband and I stayed here the middle of Sept 2006. We stayed in a new cabin. It was nice - clean. Beautiful setting and about as close to park as you can get without staying in the park.

Biggest problem is you couldn't park by your cabin. The restaurant was pleasant looking and reasonably priced with excellent service and food. The bar looked nice, and the little store was handy.They had wireless internet access and phone service in the rec center. They didn't come through with the evening activities they had said they had planned. No TV or radio in room

Do not go during the Strawberry Festival. We thought we had gone back in time to the 60's. The 6 mile road to get to the lodge was packed with campers, and "Dead Head "looking Volkswagen buses. Long story. Did not impact us too much, but the festival people waiting to get into the festival kind of took over the lodge and the road to get to and from it. Once it starts, you have restricted access to Hetch Hetchy res. I am told this is a yearly thing. Looked like fun if you are into that type of thing. Has bands and kind of carnival atmosphere - nothing to do with strawberries from what I was told.

  • Liked — size and contents of cabin
  • Disliked — no parking outside cabin
  • Tips/Secrets — do your homework and book early
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gracie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2006

Oh My God where do I start! My husband & I love the mountains and thought a cabin would be a nice place to relax. WRONG! We might as well had stayed in a tent. We rented a one bedroom cabin that had a bed, refrig, couch and one comfortable chair and plenty of lighting, but a Very small cabin and you felt so closed in. To get to it we had to walk approx half a block and was able to take our car for unpacking our luggage, etc which had to be wheeled in by a large wagon. The problem I saw was their was plenty of parking spaces around each cabin? Why on earth would we have to park our cars so far away? My husband and I were treated rudely by all of the staff as if they were doing us a favor by letting us stay there? When we asked questions they never knew the answers and seemed to be put out for asking them. The workers seemed as bored as we were! We had to do the talking or no conversations would happen. As far as friendly they get a big o...... We ate in the resturant and the prices were pricey and the food was awful. Most dinners were 15 dollars plus for each person. Imagine feeding a large family. The mini market, deli was no different. Prices were sky high and it was obvious that this lodge was out to get your dollars. Nothing much to do and the closest town took about an hr & half to get to each way. You had to depend on their resturants to eat since they supplied no mircrowaves and said no cooking in their cabins. My husband and I left a day early because it was a terrible experience being there and with nothing to do but read and eat in their expensive resturants, thought another night was something we couldn't handle. They have hiking, fishing and bikes and a few activities for families but that too was costly. We are talking about 90 dollars per person for each activity and that included any bus tours. This lodge is unreal, unfriendly and so far to get to! I felt like we visited a cemetry and was not a fun place to be. We came a long ways for this vacation and treatment like they gave us, was unexceptable. We are fun people and expected more from this resort. I personally think we should have gotten a refund for poor service, etc! Oh well a review on this place to let others know not to go or waste their money & time should help.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank anthiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2006

We booked a cabin for three nights but chose to leave after only two nights. The lodge was too far away from anywhere. It was several hours, round trip, from Yosemite valley and 90 minutes round trip to Groveland, the nearest town. The staff was rude and extremely unfriendly. When I went into the office to get directions on how to get somewhere. There were three staff members sitting around with there feet up having a bull session while I stood there being ignored. When I interrupted them to ask my question I got three very dirty looks and a rude response. The cabins were Spartan to say the least. When the sun goes down there is nothing left to do. The only place to eat was in the lodge dining room which was very expensive for food that was no better then a truck stop diner and the general store sold very small deli sandwiches for $7.00 each. No cooking was allowed in the cabins so you were forced to eat in there dining room or spend several hours driving to get to a decent place to eat. Housekeeping made the bed (no clean sheets) and brought in fresh towels. No dusting or vacuuming. This is one place that I will never go to again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't even think about going here
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaxiont3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2006

OK, so we didn't really stay in the Lodge. We went there for dinner one night and will never go back. We had to wait for a table and got to see the entrees that were being served. For one thing everything had gone up $2 - $4 since the menu we had seen in our inn was printed. $20 for a rather small serving of lasgne seemed excessive. So to save money we ordered the $9 burger served with your choice of coleslaw or french fries. Since we weren't offered a choice, it was interesting to see that we got french fries - which turned out to be the best part of the meal. The burgers were square and less than 1/8 thick - I'm thinking frozen from Safeway. They were cooked dry and had at least a teaspoon of salt on them. My throat literally closed shut and wouldn't let me finish. My goodnes, it was awful. The $9 glass of wine was on par with the burger. The small Caesar salad and the small house salad were good, but $1 more than the menu in our inn. When we looked at the menu on our return to the room, we noticed it was about a year old. I think if you're staying in the inn and enjoying the whole atmosphere, it might be fun, but don't head there just for the meal. Every local we talked to thought the food was good (obviously they didn't have the burger), small portions, and too expensive.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank SJHVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2006

This lodge was recommended by a friend, so we didn't read any reviews before our stay and I am glad we didn't. The lodge is in an excellnt location - we visited Yosemite every day - not just the valley area but to Mariposa Grove and Tulumne Medows, and found that the travelling distances and road to be acceptable / good.

The restaurant was particularly good. We didn't think it was expensive at all - actually it was quite cheap, but the quality of the food & service were both excellent.
The rooms were slightly disappointing - I would have expected a hairdryer as a miniumum, but this was missing. The furniture was also just about OK - we were given a mis-match of chairs - one in particular was very poor quality and completely out of place in the room. Also the carpets must have been the cheapest available.

The shop has the most of the basics drinks, food, T-shirts etc. - but it would have been nice to have tea & coffee available for free (they charge for this). The nearest grocery shops are either in Yosemite Valley or in Groveland.

The lodge also has 3 internet terminals, all fairly unused - so we had no problems getting to use them. However the connection was EXTREMELY slow - I gave up in the end! There are also board games and books available from the recreation room.

We got the room at a good discount, at which the room was fairly priced, and we had no regrets staying there, and would recommend the lodge to others.

  • Liked — restaurant / bar
  • Disliked — no hairdryer
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to arrive in daylight - it isn't difficult to find, but the approach road is unlit
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kitseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2006

My wife and I have been back home from our vacation to the Evergreen Lodge for a little over a month now. We stayed there from Monday August 28th and left on Friday the 1st of September. We wish we were still there!! We had such a great time!

We were fortunate to be able to take in some of the activities the Lodge has to offer (there were many) so we took a van tour of the Yosemite Valley and Glacier Point, the Fly Fishing Tour and the Sunset Tour on our last night. Each one was well worth the time and money. We even learned a few things about the area and it's history from our helpful guides along the way too.

The cabin that we had was situated on the outskirts of the Lodge area and had a great view (it was right next to the designated sunset veiwing area). We loved the fact that we were away from the technology and distractions that happen because of it. If we needed to check emails or call anyone, the Lodge had all that for us in the Activity Center (a public communication hub if you will).

The restaurant had some really good food and was reasonably priced. I personally would suggest the Tuscan Lasagna if it's available. Excellent stuff! We were able to walk just a few feet away and enjoy our favorite cocktail to end the evenings.

All in all, this place is going to be a repeat on our vacation list. One thing I would recommend is that you time your stay to what appeals more for you. We weren't able to see much of the waterfalls so we're going earlier next time. That area is beautiful no matter what though. We can't wait to get back there again.

  • Liked — Location to Yosemite Park and the activities/tours that it provided
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank travelers74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
17.9 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
16.9 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,631 reviews
14.9 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
14.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,612 reviews
17.6 mi away
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacati...
#4 of 25 in Yosemite National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite

Property: Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Address: 33160 Evergreen Road, Groveland, CA 95321-9772
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Lodge is a newly expanded full-service historic resort featuring 88 spacious cabins in the woods. The lodge sits on 20 acres just a mile from Yosemite National Park in California, putting top attractions - Yosemite Valley, Tuolumne Meadows and Hetch Hetchy - in easy reach. At the lodge, savor a delicious meal, kick back in the classic tavern and enjoy other amenities, including Evergreen's sun deck, game room, kids play areas, nightly activities and therapeutic massage. Ready for adventure? Evergreen's professional guide service offers a variety of sightseeing, hiking, biking, fly fishing and snowshoeing tours, as well as free planning advice for self-guided adventures. A Frommer's 'Favorite' and 'Highly Recommended' by Fodor's, the Evergreen provides the perfect mix of recreation, relaxation and indulgence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Lodge At Yosemite Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel Groveland
Evergreen Hotel At Yosemite
Evergreen Lodge Yosemite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing