We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Charlotte
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Royken, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We just stopped by after a long drive and through Yosemite. What we found was a great hotel with the best welcoming and serviceminded staff (owners). The little town here is like the old western, with Californias oldest saloon. What is so special about this place, is that they serve food and wine from the local area. Who makes the food extra good.
This one night stay is one of the thing we will talk about for a long time. Even though we have been travelling for 1 month.

Room Tip: Worth a stay before or after going to Yosemite ntl. park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    250
    65
    34
    10
See reviews for
171
391
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Vallley, WA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed here for four nights while on a mixed business/pleasure trip in the area.

Doug and Jenn were very friendly and welcoming as hosts. They always had time for us and it was fun chatting with them as they were from the area where we live.

They gave us a fantastic rate for 4 nights there: 99$ per night. We stayed in a small detached unit behind the main hotel. This is not a luxury hotel but it's still fairly nice.

I've attached a few pics. The room itself was a bit small but it was big enough for us. I am pretty sure it was a queen bed, though it might have been a full. We didn't have a problem with it.
There was an A/C in the room, though we didn't really need it much since we were out all day most days. One day we tried to use it and it wasn't hooked up properly but it wasn't a big deal since we were only there an hour during the daytime.

Some quirks:
-The light outside our room that was sensor activated kept failing and they kept fixing it.
-Our sink stopped got stuck in with no visible way to get it back up, but they fixed that.
-The bathroom door was a flimsy accordion-style folding thing that could not fully close since there was no way to really grasp it from the inside so privacy while two people were in the room was a bit weak when using the toilet. Maybe a knob would fix this.
-We noticed the water was off for a few hours one night while they were doing repairs. Not a big deal but we were dirty and wanted to shower before dinner.
-The ice machine was often empty or low capacity.
-Every night there were some weird loud crashing noises behind the hotel. We had no idea what it was.
-Wifi didn't stretch out to the unit behind the hotel or very far inside the hotel itself. I gave the owners some tips on how to improve their net and also limit the bandwidth each guest's connection used so as not to cause a complete failure since the internet out in Groveland isn't high speed yet. Don't expect to use netflix out here.
The above issues weren't really major issues, just stuff to note for the owners.

Let me tell you some great stuff about this place:
-The owners are very friendly and will do nice stuff for you like freeze your ice-chest packs in their freezer over night, look up local attraction and business info and print it out for you, allow late check-ins by leaving your key in an envelope in a special place in the lobby, etc.
-There is a restaurant and bar in the Hotel and they serve some great food, beer & wine. Ask for the owners' recommendations on the beer.
-The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Groveland and everything is easily walkable from it.
-The breakfasts are all you can eat buffet style and have bread, milk, juice, coffee, pancakes, eggs and sausage. The pancakes did taste a little weird but I think they were sourdough. The eggs were very good and my favorite part.
-There is a library of books to read near the back of the hotel.
-Free satellite TV in the rooms.
-Free nation-wide calling from the rooms since cellphone signal is not good in Groveland.

Overall we really liked staying here and we'll be back next time we are in Groveland. Thanks a lot to Doug and Jenn for making our stay great!

Room Tip: ask for the 99$ rate on the detached unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SeattleKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We had a good time at Hotel Charlotte. The room was big enough to hold the rollaway needed for our daughter plus the queen bed for us. The hotel is well kept. The owner has been trained as a chef in S. F. And does a good job with the food too. The staff was very helpful and we were treated well. It was a restful place after Yosemite.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trwint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night while travelling around Yosemite. The place has so much charm and character it really deserves a visit. The staff are very friendly and take time individually with you. The dinner was excellent and not traditional however portions perhaps slightly small. The rooms/bathroom definitely are very small but full of old world charm. There are a few details that need to be addressed for a higher review such as dust in places and a poor breakfast. It just didn't live up to expectation at all. If these details were addressed this is definitely a place worth staying.

Room Tip: You must be aware that the rooms are all small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We booked at Hotel Charlotte because everything was fully booked within Yosemite and... after staying at Charlotte we were actually grateful that Yosemite was full! Staff was friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. Room was clean and cozy. Dinner was lovely. We definitely recommend staying here on your way to/from Yosemite.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaAsgeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is a very nice and cosy hotel, runned by two young women.
The rooms are very small, but the beds are good.
Perfect if you go to, or like us coming from Yosemite NP.
The breakfast was ok, but we had to wait a little bit long to have some pancakes.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Our room was on the small side, but spotlessly clean. The restaurant was excellent and all the staff were friendly and helpful. About 30 minutes to the entrance gates of Yosemite and much more reasonably priced compared to accomodation inside the park. We travelled back and forth over two days and did not find it an inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larch462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
20.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
19.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
11.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Property: Hotel Charlotte
Address: 18736 Main St, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Charlotte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing