We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“false advertising”
Review of Hotel Charlotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Charlotte
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is only pet friendly in specific rooms. the website is not clear. after a full day in yosemite, we were told as we checked in that we had not booked a pet friendly hotel. then i brought my 2 year old daughter in to use the restroom and the lady said loudly "OH MY AND YOU HAVE A KID?" and told me my two year old would be $20 extra charge. on the website it states the room is good for three people and there is no explanation that the room is not pet friendly and about the $20 extra charge. at this point i told them to cancel it and give me my refund. they refused to give me a full refund and charged me a $30 cancellation fee. i was charged for their false advertising. we were forced to drive three hours home, causing my daughter to get sick because of all the time spent in the car, which is what we were trying to avoid. The lady assisting me agreed the website was not clear yet charged me a cancellation fee. what an awful place and an awful experience, they ruined our vacation. i would not suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Savanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennykedwards, Owner at Hotel Charlotte, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Savanna K,

I am very sorry that you did not have a positive experience with us. Despite your confusion on our pet policy and number of guests (both of which were not disclosed to us during your booking), we made every effort possible to make exceptions and make your stay comfortable. Unfortunately you decided not to stay with us. I’d like to address the two issues:

Our website does state on the first page that there are “select pet friendly rooms”. Also, on the page where you can select a room, there is an option at the top of the page that says “pet friendly – yes or no”. If you select yes, then it will show only rooms that are pet friendly. Even though you were booked in a non pet friendly room, we saw that you were upset by the misunderstanding and offered to let you stay in a non-pet friendly room for our standard $20 pet cleaning fee. Despite that it would take us hours of deep cleaning to ensure no residual pet dander for future guests.

During the booking process, guests are asked how many people will be in their party. You stated only 2, which is why there was a bit of surprise in our front desk staffs voice when she saw that there were 3 of you. She did immediately offer to put a rollaway in your room.

Despite our efforts, you chose to leave and we refunded your money. I agree that we should have refunded your entire amount and not have charged a $30 cancellation fee. I have spoken to my staff about this, so should an issue arise again, she will better know how to handle it. I received an email from you following your stay and immediately refunded the $30 and offered to have you stay with us in one of our larger pet friendly rooms for free due to your unpleasant experience. Ultimately our guest satisfaction is our top priority and I am sorry that you were not satisfied in your experience and that our attempts to resolve the situation did not change your perception.

Safe travels, Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (828)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Gorgeous hotel that we chose to stay in as it was about a half an hour from the Yosemite gate. Very friendly staff, cute rooms that were small but very nicely decorated and well maintained. Really good food and wine too! The breakfast was better than expected with a large choice including sausages, eggs and pancakes. Groveland is a lovely little town with quite a few other food options, and many places to pick up a packed lunch, in particular the Firefall café which provided us with large sandwiches for our days in the park. The drive from here to Yosemite was very straight forward and beautiful too! Highly recommend :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura and Charl... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hotel Charlotte is located in the heart of a charming little gold rush town, with friendly and attentive staff, a newly redecorated hotel and restaurant, and an owner-operated establishment. We drove every day to nearby Yosemite, and the drive was scenic and easy to navigate. Yosemite itself was breathtaking and the staff was happy to give recommendations on good day trips and places to go within the park and the area. The restaurant is the go to spot for the entire town at night, with a cozy ambiance, wonderful garden fresh food, drinks and local wines. My only regret is not having more time to spend in the park, and no more room to try all of the fabulous deserts in the restaurant!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

While researching places to stay in and around Yosemite, we came across Hotel Charlotte and decided to give it a try. We were so happy we did! Room 14 is a large queen room right on the back corner so we felt like we had plenty of privacy and space. It's decorated, as are all the rooms, with a very homey feeling. The bathroom has been remodeled and updated with a large double-headed shower and new tiling.
We ate in the restaurant our first night and this turned out to be the highlight of our stay! The quality of the food was excellent. There was so much flavor and freshness that we ate every last scrap on our plates.
The staff, from the front desk to the restaurant, were always pleasant and helpful.
As mentioned, the drive to Yosemite Valley can take between 45 - 60 minutes but it's well worth it in our opinion.
The only negatives for me were minor. The first is that our toilet seemed to have a small leak and would flush periodically on its own. We kept the bathroom door closed and notified staff at checkout so this really didn't impact us. The second is that all the pillows were very soft. I realize this is a matter of personal taste though and, additionally, have been told that new pillows are on the way.
Overall, just a wonderful place to come back to after a long day in the park.

Room Tip: Room 14 is large and quiet on the back corner of the house. Room 12 has its own spa tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dash2U2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay art hotel Charlotte for 2 nights in April 2014. The hotel is probably equivalent to a very good UK b&b. The location is excellent for Yosemite; only 45mins from the valley and There is a great little general store up the road for stocking up on supplies for a day out. When we stayed the selection of restaurants in grovel and was limited which isn't a problem weds to Sunday when the hotel bar is open. The food there is really very good, however we ended up being ignored for 45mins (aside from being offered weed) at the iron door saloon over the road on the second night and walked down the road for some pizza.

The only unavoidable negative was that because this is an old west style hotel the rooms are small. Not a complaint but something to be aware of if you're making a long trip and have a lot of luggage like us.

Overall we loved the style, location, helpful/knowledgeable staff, gastro restaurant and well appointed rooms in this hotel. We'd stay here again, hopefully!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pmd203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

If you are planning to go to Yosemite National Park, you probably looked around for accommodation options in and near the park, only to find out that the options are very limited and expensive. If you do not mind driving about an hour, Hotel Charlotte in Groveland, CA is an excellent choice. The hotel is about 24 miles from park entrance, and another 20 or miles from there to the Yosemite Valley. It is a historical building, and it comes with all the charm, quaintness as well as a few little issues that comes with staying at such an old building. It is simple but tastefully decorated, and the rooms have the original bathtubs from who knows how many hundred+ years ago. The tubs have curtains running on old copper pipes, which makes the tub itself little tight (you will not like it if you are claustrophobic), if you are taking a shower. If you are taking a bath, no problem.

The hotel provides adequate if uninspiring standard fare continental breakfast, which along with the awkward curtain situation, is why I am docking one circle. That should not give you any hesitation, however, as the innkeepers are extremely nice and go out of their way to help the guests.

One word of caution: Groveland is a tiny tiny place. Do not expect very many dining options, though they do claim to have the oldest saloon in the country.

Overall, a very good place to stay, reasonably close to the park.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DincerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at the Charlotte last week and loved it! So adorably decorated and the staff was excellent. Sure the rooms are small, but very comfortable. If you're the type who wants to lounge in a hotel room all day this probably isn't the place for you, but as a spot to rest after a day of exploring it is perfect! We didn't eat dinner there (the menu wasn't appealing to my 11-year old) but sure enjoyed the breakfast-definitely better than your standard continental!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
20.5 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.1 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
594 reviews
19.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
24.1 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,213 reviews
0.3 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charlotte

Address: 18736 Main St, Groveland, CA 95321-9444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Charlotte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience a wonderful escape at the Hotel Charlotte, located at the gateway to Yosemite. Enjoy the rustic quirks of a charming, historic boutique hotel coupled with a wonderfully inviting ambiance and stellar service that will leave you wanting more.At the Hotel Charlotte, you'll be welcomed by friendly, knowledgable staff who will help you settle in to one of our 10 hotel rooms or 6 guest houses. Whether you want to experience the natural wonders of the surrounding area and Yosemite, have a romantic getaway, or enjoy a stay in an authentic old west hotel, you will find what you are looking for at the Hotel Charlotte. The owners, Doug and Jenn Edwards, wanted to retain the gold rush feel of the hotel while at the same time modernizing and simplifying. The sage green walls, the throwback Edison lightbulbs, the oversized, brown velvet sofas - invite guests to step into a contemporary old west. The look of the hotel also carries into the adjoining restaurant, the Charlotte Bistro & Bar. Under the direction of Chef Doug Edwards, the restaurant features locally grown produce and innovative Modern American fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing