We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We booked our five night stay at Sunset Inn on the recommendation of our daughter who stayed there four years ago as part of her honeymoon trip. The advice was excellent - Sunset Inn is an absolutely idyllic valley, only two miles outside the entrance to Yosemite.
The booking process was very easy and the information that the owners, Lauren and Bill, sent us was so useful. The directions were excellent and the advice about shopping was particularly invaluable and meant that we picked up our provisions for the entire stay on the way.
Sugar Pine Cabin was so comfortable and well equipped that we enjoyed cooking our meals and spending cosy evenings in the cabin. Though it was cold and snowy during our stay, we were lovely and warm with the very efficient (and very easy to light) wood-burning stove.
Lauren and Bill were so kind and helpful and gave us lots of suggestions about hiking trails and places to see. We were particularly grateful for their recommendation to visit Hetch Hetchy Valley, where we spent a truly memorable day.
Sunset Inn is a very special place, peaceful calm and very beautiful, and it provides a wonderful base from which to explore the wonders of Yosemite.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claret54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
72
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

A rock-fall on the road out of Yosemite (now fixed) led to a 3hr detour to arrive at Meadow Lark Cabin. Lauren and Bill were most accommodating - having sent us alternate directions, offering a discount and really assisting two tired travellers! It was a lovely experience staying in this well-kept, cosy and comfortable cabin. It was so well equipped it was a shame to stay only one night. Would definitely recommend Meadow Lark for a family holiday with genuinely hospitable hosts.
Had the road been open this would have been our first choice for visiting Yosemite.....wins hands down over the accommodation in the Park!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southerncrossscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My husband and I stayed for four nights in the Sugar Pine Cabin - our base for visiting Yosemite. The cabin is well-equipped, clean and very comfortable. It's just minutes from the entrance to Yosemite - close enough, but without the crowds and hassle of staying in the Valley. We would recommend this cabin to any couple that likes to get away from it all for a few days to reconnect.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We were bowled over by Sunset Inn and in particular our gorgeous cosy 'Sugar Pine' cabin. It had all that we needed and more thanks to Lauren's stocking of essentials and then some! Under 2 miles drive direct to one of the main entrance gates to Yosemite, it was a fantastic base to head into see the many parts of the park. Despite the time of year, we had perfect weather and few people around thanks to it being off season. Getting back after dark, we had the delights of the fantastic wood stove to look forward to which kept us cosy until we left again in the morning. The peace and quiet (we were left alone unless we wanted something) was wonderful and a perfect setting for our first holiday with our 'baby in waiting'. Top tip - order a wonderful chocolate cake from Lauren - you won't be disappointed (although you will need to plan some long treks to walk it all off!). Thank you for a wonderful break and we look forward to visiting again, this time with our little one in tow!

Room Tip: Definitely the little Sugar Pine for couples wanting a beautiful, cosy and romantic retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband and I were so pleased with sunset inn the Cabin was VERY CLEAN, cozy and quaint, we get so wrapped up in our kids and busy schedules that this little getaway was exactly what we needed there's no distractions and its so beautiful we were able to reconnect and spend quality time together I recommend this little slice of heaven on earth to everyone we will definitely be back again and again and again!!!!!

Room Tip: Sugar Pine Cabin bed is super comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Sugar Pine cabin. We LOVED it! These were the best five days ever! Do not expect to bring your laptop, your cell phone, and watch your favorite On Demand shows. This is a place where you go to disconnect, light a fire in the wood burning stove, open all the windows and enjoy the cool, mountain air, cook your own dinner and open a bottle of wine while sitting on the patio playing a board game or cards when you are not actually in Yosemite. We had such a good time, and Bill and Lauren were very friendly with lots of helpful information getting around and hiking in Yosemite. Also, we feel like these cabins were not only cheaper than the valley, but the location was even more amazing, quiet, and better located to visit Hetch Hetchy and Tuolomne Grove! We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Yosemite!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waltsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We recently stayed in the 'Meadowlark' cabin at Sunset Inn and really enjoyed ourselves. We found the cabin clean, warm, and well equipped, so we were able to self cater comfortably and relax in the lovely surrounds. We were so pleased we had chosen Sunset Inn when we saw the hustle and bustle of Yosemite with RVs, and big hotel/residential complexes. We thoroughly recommend Sunset Inn, our only note of caution would be that without chains you can find it difficult to get down into the Yosemite Valley once snow starts to fall.
Siwan, Tom and Finn (from Canberra, Australia) October 2011

Room Tip: Meadowlark has the nicest view out of the three cabins available at Sunset Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiwanL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
0.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
413 reviews
5.1 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
10.5 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,578 reviews
18.3 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
806 reviews
11.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins

Property: Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins
Address: 33569 Hardin Flat Rd, Groveland, CA 95321-9607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Inn is a small, family owned and operated lodging. Three beautiful, cozy cabins offer king or queen beds, equipped kitchens, private bathrooms, wood burning stoves and sun porches. Located just 2 miles from Yosemite National Park, in a peaceful mountain setting, surrounded by huge aromatic pines, on the edge of a lovely private meadow. A stay at Sunset Inn is a true mountain getaway. We also offer a fabulous vacation home nearby, privately situated on the banks of the Tuolumne River, able to accommodate up to 6 people. We invite you to visit and enjoy this unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing