We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here for your visit to Yosemite !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins
Norco LA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stay here for your visit to Yosemite !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Our stay in the Larkspur cabin was great. Clean, comfortable and quiet. Bill and Lauren are great hosts. Cabins are only a couple of miles from the park with a fantastic ride going in. Nights and mornings were cool but the cabin was warm and cozy. Throughly enjoyed our three day stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAML1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
69
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Had a very good time at Sunset Inn. Although the cabins are not very far from each others, our cabin - Sugar Pine - was very quiet and cozy. Location is great for a lot of different hikes in Yosemite (e.g Hetch Hetchy). We would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerome D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Had a very relaxing stay at the Sunset inn. The location is great, and the facilities more than adequate (the kitchenette is so thoughtfully stocked). It felt very special to be within the forest, among the tall pine trees, very much felt like we were in Yosemite! I could sense that the owners lovingly tend to the place, so it was a pleasure to be able to be in such an environment. Thank you, Sunset inn family.

I should have written this on the comment book (instead of here) but if I may, I'd like make a humble suggestion which is to minimize some of the decorative objects (wall hangings, pictures, toys etc.), it felt like they covered up the nice wooden surfaces/ structures (the real aesthetic elements) of the cabin.
I loved the deck and the skylights in the shower!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

I have mixed feelings about our stay at Sunset Inn Sugar Pine cabin. First of all, it was advertised as "the most secluded" of the cabins. Not sure what that means but it's probably 10 feet at the most from the cabin next door. When we arrived, we were greeted by Lauren. She was very nice and asked if she could help carry stuff into the cabin. We had a lot of luggage and a cooler because we were on a 2 week road trip. She helped a bit and then said when we're done to come into her cabin. After my 54 year old husband carried everything in, I went over to her cabin. There was a young 20 something young man sitting in her kitchen and I believe it was her son. Not sure why he couldn't help but he didn't. Lauren gave us some eggs and that was nice.

Here are my problems. The view from the "secluded" cabin was of 2 large sheds, doors opened and filled with junk. The second morning I got up and wanted to have my coffee on the porch at the table. There were about 6 men with 3 pick up trucks just outside at the sheds loading stuff onto the pick up trucks. I felt very uncomfortable going to sit there while they were RIGHT THERE!! So, I went back inside.

The cabin was very cute but not really fully stocked. When we used the toaster oven, it set off the smoke alarm every time so we had to open the back door. The pans were cheap and Not non-stick so just plan on scrambled eggs because over easy are not an option! Just spend 10 bucks and get non-stick pans!! The silverware was rediculous...can't even explain it and there was only one teaspoon.

There are no services here at all...no room cleaning, bed-making, etc. They supply towels but no shampoo, soap, etc. There is only a shower but plenty of hot water.

I'm writing this to make sure people are aware of what they're getting. This is NOT a remote cabin or secluded in any way from the other cabins. The view is of 2 large sheds. If you want to see the meadow, you need to take a little walk because it's not visible from your cabin.

These people in my opinion should advertise as renting their cottages and should not call themselves an Inn. They should also post pictures on their website to show that the cabins are on top of each other. If you plan to be "romantic", you better also be very quiet about it!!

We didn't spend much time (3 nights but spent all days at Yosemite) there but the bed was very comfortable. The chairs at the counter were VERY uncomfortable and they have one little what they called "easy chair" in the room. The one game we were interested in playing - backgammon- had a couple of pieces missing and we had to use pennies. It's only a cheap board game so they should think about replacing and spending the $8 bucks for a new one.

It is my feeling that the little things make a difference. I wasn't expecting the Taj Mahal but was expecting privacy, pans that can be used, and being able to cook using their so called fully stocked kitchen.

We were able to use the internet a little but it didn't work most of the time.

Would I recommend Sunset Inn? Hmm yes if there was nothing else available. I wouldn't stay there again though.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tricia198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear 'Tricia198',

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are very sorry to learn that your stay was less than optimum. We wish that you had mentioned something while here, to allow us the chance to improve your experience. However we are grateful for the information you provided, as it gives us the opportunity to ensure a better experience for future guests.

Sunset Inn is located in a beautiful mountain spot, surrounded by forest on the edge of a lovely, private meadow. The historic workshop (‘sheds’ as you mentioned) are a necessity here to maintain the property throughout the year which includes snow removal and firewood cutting for the cozy wood burning stoves in the cabins.

This is an historic property where placement of the cabins was determined long ago. The wrap-around porch on your cabin does face the workshop on one side, and on the other is the forest. It seems a shame you may not have noticed the beautiful forest surrounding you. None-the-less, your comments are not taken lightly, and we will do our best to enhance the view from all sides of Sugar Pine, our most popular cabin. It is feedback like yours that helps us to continue to improve our unique property.

We are already working to address some of the concerns you mentioned, and have since replaced the silverware and added a non-stick egg pan to the existing selection of Revere Ware pans.

It is as disappointing for us as it was for you that your visit was not what you expected. It is our goal for every guest to thoroughly enjoy their stay at Sunset Inn! Thanks again for sharing your perspective!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the sunset inn (larksburg cabin) in mid June. It was maybe a 10 min easy drive to the park entrance. Lauren personally greeted us upon arrival. Our cabin had a fully stocked kitchen and was so peaceful and quiet!!! We would recommend this place and feel assured you will find it to be a great place to get away from the crowds. **Just one warning the address is groveland but with lauren and bills awesome directions they prevented us from going all the way into groveland and having to turn around and come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjaynebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

It's not easy to find a comfortable spot which can accommodate two boys (who WON'T share a bed) and their mom (who, for obvious reasons, would prefer a separate room) without paying a fortune. The Meadow Lark cabin at Sunset Inn is a perfect answer. It was comfortable, perfect for our requirements and well located. The kitchen was surprisingly well appointed (high quality pots and pans, everything you could possibly need). Do not expect high luxury, but DO expect a warm greeting, excellent recommendations on what to see and do, a perfectly peaceful location and, if you're lucky, some fresh eggs from the owners' hens!

One warning: do heed the owners' advice on where to buy groceries. You really do not want to arrive at the park with no food - grocery shopping in Yosemite valley is not how you want to spend your precious holiday time (and money!).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Wonderful place in the woods far from the crowds in the park. Lauren and Bill were more than helpful in every way and yet were not intrusive even though they live on the property. We stayed in Larkspur which was so very comfortable with everything we needed and more. Bill did the work himself and it is really warm and inviting. The bed was comfortable, the hot water was plentiful and the kitchen had everything we needed. Be forewarned, the frig is a mini fridge, so don't over buy. There was a charcoal grill on the stone patio where we cooked our dinner 2 nights. There is a little porch with a table, but the bugs were out in force and we weren't able to eat outside.

We were celebrating our 40th anniversary and Lauren had written a thoughtful card and left it inside for us. I arranged for her to bake a chocolate cake and she decorated it with fresh pansies. It was REALLY good. She also offered us eggs, but we had bought them in town. The chickens and their coop just added to the country feel of the place.

Lauren gave us great advice about where to spend our limited time and we were grateful for her hints. I was shocked at how remote the cabin was and yet so close and easy to get to the entrance to the park. The drive back to the cabin every evening was wonderful. The huge trees and wildflowers along the way were a great welcome back after a long day hiking.

The only way to make this property any more perfect would be for Bill to find an out of the way place for a lot of his workshop "overflow". I found this distracting from the
"cabin in the woods" feel. I understand that they live and work on the property, but the workshop area is directly across from Larkspur and it kind of messed with the view.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
5.1 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
0.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
10.5 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
11.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,654 reviews
8.9 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#4 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins

Property: Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins
Address: 33569 Hardin Flat Rd, Groveland, CA 95321-9607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Inn is a small, family owned and operated lodging. Three beautiful, cozy cabins offer king or queen beds, equipped kitchens, private bathrooms, wood burning stoves and sun porches. Located just 2 miles from Yosemite National Park, in a peaceful mountain setting, surrounded by huge aromatic pines, on the edge of a lovely private meadow. A stay at Sunset Inn is a true mountain getaway. We also offer a fabulous vacation home nearby, privately situated on the banks of the Tuolumne River, able to accommodate up to 6 people. We invite you to visit and enjoy this unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing