We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful & comfortable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful & comfortable stay”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My 6 year old son and I stayed for 2 nights in the Larkspur cabin at Sunset Inn in mid-April 2014. Lauren, Bill and Lupin the dog was great host. I decided to visit Yosemite about month and a half prior, knowing it was a last minute decision for our spring break. After reviewing other places inside Yosemite Valley, I've noticed how expensive they were and how shabby most places looked. I much rather wanted to stay somewhere comfortable, with good beds but still wanted that feel of being in a cabin in the woods. With Sunset Inn, we got best of both worlds!

The kitchen is small but very well stocked and functional. The refrigerator is fairly small (bigger than typical hotel mini fridge but definitely not a full size fridge) but sufficient. It also comes with a small microwave and a toaster oven. There's no actual oven, so do not plan on making a casserole or do any type of baking. There's no cooking oil provided so make sure to bring some. They had plastic wraps and aluminum foils.
Kitchen also includes a coffee maker although I didn't get to use it.
There's also a charcoal grill outside on a beautiful patio for BBQ. I didn't know how to start a charcoal grill but Bill was kind enough to start it up for us so we can make S'mores and also found some metal skewers for us.
The bathroom is small but functional. Larkspur cabin only has a shower. The water pressure isn't too strong but it was fine for me and I have very thick, long hair. My only request for the owners is to perhaps add a hook or a two so we can hang our toiletry bags. There were small shelfs but after you put your tooth brushes, cup, and a tooth paste, there's pretty much no space to put anything else. There is a nice hair dryer so you will not need to pack one. Nice, soft towels are also provided and soap is also provided. Our cabin also came with shampoo with conditioner but if you have difficult, long hair like mine, I would bring your own.

We were so busy exploring Yosemite during the day that we mostly came back to the cabin to eat dinner and sleep since my young son goes to bed fairly early. I wish we had more time to spend and relax at the cabin. Next time, for sure!

For anyone with small children, the property has a swing, a small sandbox and a nice chicken coop. Lauren gave us some eggs and they were the best eggs I've ever had in my life! Much better than Whole Foods eggs. My son LOVED the swing. Each morning, he was out there swinging away. The property was nice and secluded that I felt totally safe letting him play in the swing by himself while I cleaned up after dinner. Lovely dog Lupin kept him company. My son is also scared of dogs but Lupin was so friendly that by the second day, he was completely comfortable with Lupin hanging around him. :)
I would highly recommend this property for your next Yosemite visit. Even though it is about a 45 minute drive to Yosemite Valley, it's so much quieter and you will truly experience being in the woods. Be aware that due to last summer's Rim Fire, the western part of Yosemite, including Sunset Inn's surrounding has lots of burnt trees and brown trees. Obviously this isn't Sunset Inn's fault but that still doesn't take away the magical feeling of being in Yosemite.
Obviously, there's no TV and you will not have any internet connection. The whole point of visiting Yosemite is so you can disconnect from all that once in a while and enjoy nature. So if you want Ritz Carlton turn down service, WiFi and TV, Sunset Inn or even visiting Yosemite will not be for you.

Room Tip: Larkspur cabin can sleep up to 2 adults in queen size bed and 1 small child in a sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaismommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
70
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The Sunset Inn is an amazingly place to stay in the Yosemite area, about the closest place you can stay outside the park. As we entered the driveway on our arrival day, it began to snow, and the Meadow Lark cabin couldn't have been more warm and welcoming. The kitchen was immaculate and perfect for doing real cooking, the bathroom towels were plush and the beds were comfy. Lauren and Bill were great. They know Yosemite well and can offer many suggestions for fun activities. Their big sweet dog was friendly too, and the hens gave us delicious fresh eggs for breakfast. This is a great place and a great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarreguemines, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We've been at this lovely place 2 times. The rooms are clean, the kitchen big enough for two persons and the bathroom was also good. "Our" Sugar Pine Cabin is the best place to relax: No TV, no radio or internet - just real nature. And the best: Sunset Inn is just a stone's throw away from Yosemite.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clear Lake City, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This place really is as amazing as all of these reviews say.! Don't doubt it! We took our first trip to Yosemite in July, 2013, and stayed in the Larkspur cabin. It is,so peaceful,,it's really hard to imagine until you've been there. We were able to exhaust ourselves with hikes in the park, and return to our cabin with such ease. Returning to the cabin was such a welcome reprieve. Lauren and Bill ARE as friendly as these reviews say. Lauren knows so much about Yosemite, she can help you plan any adventure you wish. They also have two lovely dogs with whom you will fall in love. Especially the beautiful Yoda. The black lab will help ensure your sense of peace, as well.

We've already planned our return trip for next summer, taking our two daughters to revel in the beauty of Yosemite. Words cannot express how happy we are that these cabins were saved from the fire.

If you stay here, take advice and stock up,on groceries. Also, be sure to print out the map to the cabins. It is very difficult to find the without the map, and cell/internet service is extremely limited. Print the map.

Room Tip: couples.. larkspur or sugar pine... families..meadowlark... they're all great, though
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We originally tried to find accommodation in the park but it was way out of our price range. These cabins are not cheap but they are far better value than anything inside the park, and so close by...really just a couple of miles from the entrance.

The hosts - Lauren and Bill were very friendly and welcoming. Lauren was extremely helpful in recommending some of the best hikes in the park and we did them all. Lauren really is a lovely warm person who one could chat to all day, My partner got on well with Bill and enjoyed chatting to him in the workshop. he was most helpful in pointing out beautiful swimming holes nearby.

The cabin itself was a real delight, beautifully presented, and rustic in a most comfortable way. The bed was very luxurious with high quality linens. There were toiletries provided and a range of hot drinks too. The cabin was well equipped for cooking and also had a bbq, with charcoal provided. There are also numerous books and hiking guides for the park. The cabin is located near the owners house and flanked by trees, in a tranquil woodland setting.

We were surprised when we read the negative reviews about the workshop ( woodwork) however it is not a problem at all. There was no noise from it and in fact, Lauren had said that if at any time, we wanted peace, she would ensure the work was halted. There wasnt any sound and the workshop itself is quite quaint, If you dont want to look at it, you can sit around the other side of the cabin

We highly recommended this place and would love to return. It was our first anniversary here and we have said if we have a child, we will definitely come here for their first bday!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

the location of this property is great, its just outside the gate to the park and without the over inflated price tag of the properties in yosemite valley.

the cabin was comfortable and clean, and the setting is fantastic, surrounded by woods and wildlife,

Our daughter adored the owners pet dog Yoda and we all enjoyed the peace and tranquility

we hope to visit yosemite again and would stay at the Sunset inn without hesitiation

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed here about 8 yrs ago in December... we went into Yosemite for the annual Lords & Ladies Dinner they have at the Ahwahnee Hotel. This was such a perfect location, clean; friendly owners. I could not ask for a better place outside the Park. I have tried to get in here twice and our timing was last minute and all booked up. Perhaps this year we might make it back. Looking forward to another visit to this quaint place!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
0.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
377 reviews
5.1 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
10.5 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
799 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
574 reviews
11.6 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins

Property: Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins
Address: 33569 Hardin Flat Rd, Groveland, CA 95321-9607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Inn is a small, family owned and operated lodging. Three beautiful, cozy cabins offer king or queen beds, equipped kitchens, private bathrooms, wood burning stoves and sun porches. Located just 2 miles from Yosemite National Park, in a peaceful mountain setting, surrounded by huge aromatic pines, on the edge of a lovely private meadow. A stay at Sunset Inn is a true mountain getaway. We also offer a fabulous vacation home nearby, privately situated on the banks of the Tuolumne River, able to accommodate up to 6 people. We invite you to visit and enjoy this unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing