We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peacefull and natural”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins
Reviewed 2 April 2009

We had a great time in our Sugarpine cabin. It's lovely to drive back to your cabin after a day in the busy valley and to find some rest (and a great bbq). The cabins look lovely and natural and are equipped with a nice kitchen (plenty of cooking-gear) and a pretty new bathroom with the fluffiest towels ever. The location is great: close to the action but very quiet. We loved sitting on our porch in the evening with some bbq-food and the sounds of the forest....

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jostravelsforreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2008

We stayed at this hotel on Nov 6, four adutls and one dog. When we drove to Sunset Inn at 5:30 pm, it was already dark outside and it just started raining. Following the direction we turned into unpaved road leading to darkness in the woods. If not for the strong recommendations and pictures on Tripadvisor, I would not have imagined there is a nice little cottage hidden in the woods.
Lauren showed us to the cottage, and it is just charming! We cooked soups and bread, turned on the fireplace, played some games and had a wonderful night!

My in-laws from Germany really liked the cleaneness and the comfort of the cottage.

We will sure come back again!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Sandyvonsanjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

The Sunset Inn is a wonderful getaway for people who want to visit Yosemite and then come back to BBQ and relax. The property owners are delightful and most helpful. We stayed 5 nights in the Sugar Pine cabin and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2008

It was wonderful to leave the highway and drive down the little road towards the cabin. As you drive up the driveway it opens up onto their meadow and the collection of cabins lit up by the sun shining through the trees. Bill & Lauren were working when we arrived but stopped to welcome us and show us around our cabin (Sugar pine). Even though it was so hot when we were there the cabin was still cosy and comfortable with a small but perfectly equipped kitchen area, a lovely bathroom and bed/living area. It was really nice to get back from a day walking, have a shower and then make some dinner with a bottle of wine and relax without any tv or interruptions. Bill & Lauren were great for advice about things to do and places to go if you didn't feel like cooking. Not only is this an idyllic place to stay, the location is perfect. Its about 5mins drive from the entrance to the national park, 10mins the other direction to a gas station and well equipped shop and then around 30mins back to Groveland where there is a big supermarket for supplies.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TheBops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

5 of us were doing a road trip around California, Nevada, Arazona and we planned on spending 3 nights in Yosemite. Unable to get accomadation in the park I found this place on the internet and from the reviews and photos thought it would be right for us. What can I say ..... we arrived to find the pictures just do not do it justice, the owners, Lauren and Bill, met us and were so friendly and helpful even giving us a bag of charcoal for the BBQ which we forgot about. We stayed in the Meadow Lark family cabin, two double beds in the main room a double and single in the bedroom with the bathroom. The place was picture postcard and spotlessly clean. Everything you need is there, cooker, pots pans BBQ games books for the quiet evenings sitting on the porch listening to the wildlife. We had woodpeckers which had taken up residence in the wooden frame of the swing and were constantly back and forth with food for their young chicks.
The Inn is so close to the park too. It is only $20.00 per vehicle for a pass that is valid for 7 days and we were there every day. Yosemite is just the most amazing place I have ever seen so dramatic and beautiful you can not put words to it. Whilst in the park we got a chance to see the accomadation there and all I will say is don't bother. STAY AT SUNSET INN !!!!!! you get the real experence and the short journey to the park is a joy in itself.
We were all sad to leave, even our 9yr old didnt miss the Tv or anything, would love to go back and spend more time exploring and walking. Lauren and Bill have a fantastic place here and we are all so jealous that they have all this on their on the doorstep quite literally.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Tadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2008

We knew we wanted a place to stay that was close to Yosomite. We planned to hike Half Dome which really needs to be an early start hike.. and we knew we would not want to drive a long way after a full day of hiking. I am familiar with Groveland and the local hotels - but we had three of us and were not looking to pay for two rooms if possible. I stumbled upon the Sunshine Inn Cabins.. 2 miles from the Yosomite enterance on 120. It was a great find! We could get a cabin for 3, cook our own meals and it was just fabulous. My brother and his girl friend came over one night and we bar B Q salmon for them - it was great!
The whole experince was made better by where we stayed. Thanks! Book early this gem is not going unnoticed!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank coop1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

We loved this place! Suger pine was our cabin and it was very accomidating but it still opened you up to nature. The owners greeted us upon arrival and amazingly offered up my favorite beer: Fat Tire (cheers Bill!).

We had a nice bottle of wine at night, explored their patch of forest, and told ghost stories - it was awesome! We will definately come back time and again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank derekge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
0.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
504 reviews
5.1 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
16.9 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,151 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,629 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#3 of 7 in Groveland
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn Yosemite Vacation Cabins

Address: 33569 Hardin Flat Rd, Groveland, CA 95321-9607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Groveland
Price Range: £119 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Inn is a small, family owned and operated lodging. Three beautiful, cozy cabins offer king or queen beds, equipped kitchens, private bathrooms, wood burning stoves and sun porches. Located just 2 miles from Yosemite National Park, in a peaceful mountain setting, surrounded by huge aromatic pines, on the edge of a lovely private meadow. A stay at Sunset Inn is a true mountain getaway. We also offer a fabulous vacation home nearby, privately situated on the banks of the Tuolumne River, able to accommodate up to 6 people. We invite you to visit and enjoy this unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing