We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of two pools in Groveland area + adequate hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Buck Meadows Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buck Meadows Lodge
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of two pools in Groveland area + adequate hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stay here every year on our way to Yosemite. One of only two places with a pool in the Groveland / Buck Meadows area, and I need to get the kinks out of my back in the water after the long drive. I believe the other lodge (Evergreen?) only has cottages. Rooms at Buck Meadows are adequate tho walls slightly thin and beds are barely comfortable. The owners were making improvements each year but this year I think they consider themselves done. Wi-fi, but very, very slow, of course. Wish they would get some good pillow-top beds, but for one night, can live with it. Costs about $200 a night but there aren't many places on the way to Yosemite on 120. We then have only one hour into the valley and are not tired when we arrive. There's a small lawn w/ picnic tables and a swing set. Out of town, so, a quiet place in the woods on the highway (if your next door neighbors are quiet). Staff is somewhat indifferent but nice enough. Restaurant next door does a decent breakfast if you are there before 11. If you are an early bird, you may want to drive back to Groveland (20 min) for the $10 buffet breakfast at the Charlotte (over at 10AM) or the tea room.

Room Tip: If you cannot climb stairs, be sure to CALL and insist on a downstairs room. No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    24
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend after spending our 1 year anniversary at Yosemite. It was such a letdown, and while we didn't expect a Four Seasons experience for $120 outside a big national park, we expected more than this motel. First off, the little hut that is in the 1 traveler photo...is not what we experienced. Part of this motel (a normal style motel) was located in the same building as the restaurant, and our room was one of those. We were able to smell the cooking, as our room was only 2 doors down. The restaurant was terrible. If you are one of the many Americans that has no desire to eat healthy and loves huge portions, then you will like it. If you enjoy more than crap food, you won't. My boyfriend ordered a $15 Al Capone pasta dish, that literally couldn't have been more than white pasta from Walmart with Ragu sauce with old sausage dumped on top. When I am at a sit-down restaurant I expect it to take longer than 5 minutes for my meal to be prepared, and his came out literally in less than 5 minutes, so I'm guess it's just made in bulk and rewarmed. The room itself wasn't dirty...there was a big flat screen TV and there weren't bugs on the floor or anything. However, I would hardly even call it average. Also, the desk doesn't open until 8, which seems super late for a motel in a tourist location. I wish I had a photo to share, however, I didn't even think of taking one because it wasn't something I wanted to remember. If I get the opportunity to go back to Yosemite, I'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 986StephanieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Groveland hotels

Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed there coming back from Yosemite

This hotel is nice but expensive because of its location
Note that you are still around one hour from Yosemite valley

Rooms were clean, bathroom was large and the pool was very nice.

A very nice stay when you can afford it


  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Cool it to those with bad comments...if you check into a room that is clean and nice, don't let the dead bird outside ruin your experience, just ask to have it all cleaned up..This place was Amazing, the housekeepers were very friendly compared to any other hotel we have stayed out..Very awesome managers I believe they are married, the nicest warm welcoming managers you will EVER meet at a hotel. Beautiful flowers around the pool, cute birds flying around. Also, noticed that the rooms were newly remodel rooms, which are FAB by the way, awesome granite counters and floors...The price is extremely worth the pay, close to the park, close to a little town of Groveland...We love it.....and will come back again next season. Very family oriented place, awesome playground, pool and hot tub. COOL stuff!

Room Tip: 406, is spacious room with nice big jacuzzi in the spacious bathrooms....just wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elesaca143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Our first impression was a dead bird on the stones right next to the deck to our room and then a bunch of bird poo on the deck which was from a nest in the eves of the deck (we had the room which was behind the restaurant and had a covered porch/deck to the room. From there, we stepped into a very dark and musty smelling room. We opened the windows but one of the screens was broken so we were concerned about bugs getting in...or BIRDS, so we only kept one window open! This place was not worth paying over $100. We should have driven a bit further and found a place in Groveland.

Shower barely spit out water.

On the plus side, the bed was very nice and comfortable and the room did seem clean. Rooster woke us up in the morning as well as a dog barking because we did keep the windows open.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Buck Meadows Lodge, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Darci:

I wanted to take the time to apologize for your poor stay at The Buck Meadows Lodge. We truly apologize that you came upon a deceased bird. As we are in the forest, we have many critters who frequent our property from wild birds to deer. We gladly would have taken care of this issue immediately if we were aware. In regards to the concerns you had with the shower--we have had maintenance handle that concern so we appreciate your feedback.

We have branded the Buck Meadows Lodge as a clean and comfortable place to stay when visiting Yosemite. It is a very small property but offers facilities which cannot be found in the area so we do take immense pride in our offering. We hope you would give us another chance to make a better impression.

Do book directly with us at buckmeadowslodge.com and save.

Regards,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is very close to Yosemite and it was cold, raining, hail and mist when we were there so to arrive at our Motel to find a large warm room, we were in heaven. Parking outside our door, a laundry to wash clothes in and diner next door with the great steaks, a wine waiter, who gave us a tasting, it was great. I cannot comment on price as our stay was included in the price of a tour we did but we certainly enjoyed our 2 nights here. There is a heated spa in the swimming pool area which some of our party took advantage of - all in all we had a fun stay.

Room Tip: From what I could judge all rooms were equal, just some were upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bretvase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Buck Meadows Lodge, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Bretvase:

Thank you for your positive review for your stay at Buck Meadows Lodge. We are one of the closest motels to Yosemite National Park and strive to offer clean and comfortable lodging at a budget. We appreciate your kind words.

Please do book directly at: buckmeadowslodge.com next time you visit and find our lowest rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We stayed at Buck Meadows Lodge for 2 nights at the end of September 2012. The lodge is about 35-45 minutes from the West Gate to the Yosemite National Park and perhaps the closest you can live outside the West Gate of the National Park. We paid about $99/ night + taxes. The Lodge is run by a friendly couple who gave us a lot of tips about the park. We were given a cottage close to the adjoining restaurant at the Lodge. Our cottage was basic, but clean and comfortable. We had a king size bed, tv, microwave, fridge, hot shower and a little patio. We didnt find (or explore for that matter) food options close to the Lodge, but the adjoining restaurant to the Lodge is great. The restaurant has big food portions (probably the largest chocolate shake I have had in a while) and open until late (11 PM or midnight), which is helpful if you come back to your room after a day of hiking at Yosemite. The gas station is located right next to the Lodge compound and is open 24 hours.

This Lodge is basic, but is a great option for someone who doesn't want to live in the park (and pay those $$), but be close by to get there quickly. They have a website - http://www.buckmeadowslodge.com/buck_meadows

Room Tip: Take the cottages close to the restaurant. They are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Legal_Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
11.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
9.7 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
9.6 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buck Meadows Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buck Meadows Lodge

Property: Buck Meadows Lodge
Address: 7649 Highway 120, At Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite California Hotel - Buck Meadows Lodge. Buck Meadows Lodge - The Closest Affordable Lodging to Yosemite National Park. Welcome to the Buck Meadows Lodge & Restaurant. Located only 12 miles from Yosemite National Park in the small town of Buck Meadows on Highway 120, east of Groveland, The Buck Meadows Lodge offers 10 clean and comfortable motel rooms for the budget minded traveler visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing