We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Buck Meadows Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buck Meadows Lodge
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Coyle, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great place to stay so close to Yosemite! We stayed in the room next to the restaurant and we didn't have any noise from the restaurant. (Which, btw, the restaurant is yummy for both breakfast and dinner.) No wifi - no cell access for our phones....which was great to be unplugged!

The room was clean and we slept well. It's quiet and not crowded. The small row of rooms by the restaurant share the pool with the hotel on the other side of the restaurant.

Just wish they had bigger beds than queens!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinbing68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    26
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This place is in a great location not far from the main entrance to Yosemite National Park.
We stayed in room 606 which was to the rear of the diner. It was quiet, the beds were clean and the room was tidy. The price of the room was also great considering the close proximity to the park.
There is also a swimming pool a short walk away.
Would certainly use again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shev137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Buck Meadows Lodge, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Shev:

I wanted to personally thank you for your positive review of your stay at Buck Meadows Lodge near Yosemite. We are a small convenient lodge that is part of the Yosemite Westgate Lodge facility offering a swimming pool and clean and comfortable lodging at a budget.

Please do see us again. Book directly with us at buckmeadowslodge.com

Thanks,

Raj
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a great place to rest after a long day hiking and seeing the sites of Yosemite. It is a perfect location for those not wanting to stay at the overcrowded hotels/camps in the Yosemite valley. It is conveniently positioned not far from the entrance of Yosemite and also downtown Groveland. The room pricing was a great deal & fair to what is provided.....updated, clean and quiet rooms with comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Reserve a room away from the connected diner. Those would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amd147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Buck Meadows Lodge, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest:

Thanks for leaving such a positive review of your stay at Buck Meadows Lodge near Yosemite. We are a small convenient lodge that is part of the Yosemite Westgate Lodge facility offering a swimming pool and clean and comfortable lodging at a budget. Your review perfectly underscores this.

Please do see us again. Book directly with us at buckmeadowslodge.com where you can find each of our room types and book direct.

Thanks,

Raj
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in buck meadows for one night after visiting yosemite-nationalpark. The lodge was very nice but a little bit to expensive. The restaurant nearby was great- very good breakfast!! We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Buck Meadows Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Julia:

Thanks for your positive review for your stay at Buck Meadows Lodge. We are happy to see that you found our accommodations to be of good quality. While you might have found our summer rates high, we still offer one of the best values considering being the closest property to Yosemite on Highway 120.

Book directly on our website at buckmeadowslodge.com and find the lowest rates on the internet. Enter: Promo Code: tripadvisor on Step 2 of the Reservation Tab and save $5 per night.

Thank You,

Raj - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, CA
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stay here every year on our way to Yosemite. One of only two places with a pool in the Groveland / Buck Meadows area, and I need to get the kinks out of my back in the water after the long drive. I believe the other lodge (Evergreen?) only has cottages. Rooms at Buck Meadows are adequate tho walls slightly thin and beds are barely comfortable. The owners were making improvements each year but this year I think they consider themselves done. Wi-fi, but very, very slow, of course. Wish they would get some good pillow-top beds, but for one night, can live with it. Costs about $200 a night but there aren't many places on the way to Yosemite on 120. We then have only one hour into the valley and are not tired when we arrive. There's a small lawn w/ picnic tables and a swing set. Out of town, so, a quiet place in the woods on the highway (if your next door neighbors are quiet). Staff is somewhat indifferent but nice enough. Restaurant next door does a decent breakfast if you are there before 11. If you are an early bird, you may want to drive back to Groveland (20 min) for the $10 buffet breakfast at the Charlotte (over at 10AM) or the tea room.

Room Tip: If you cannot climb stairs, be sure to CALL and insist on a downstairs room. No elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend after spending our 1 year anniversary at Yosemite. It was such a letdown, and while we didn't expect a Four Seasons experience for $120 outside a big national park, we expected more than this motel. First off, the little hut that is in the 1 traveler photo...is not what we experienced. Part of this motel (a normal style motel) was located in the same building as the restaurant, and our room was one of those. We were able to smell the cooking, as our room was only 2 doors down. The restaurant was terrible. If you are one of the many Americans that has no desire to eat healthy and loves huge portions, then you will like it. If you enjoy more than crap food, you won't. My boyfriend ordered a $15 Al Capone pasta dish, that literally couldn't have been more than white pasta from Walmart with Ragu sauce with old sausage dumped on top. When I am at a sit-down restaurant I expect it to take longer than 5 minutes for my meal to be prepared, and his came out literally in less than 5 minutes, so I'm guess it's just made in bulk and rewarmed. The room itself wasn't dirty...there was a big flat screen TV and there weren't bugs on the floor or anything. However, I would hardly even call it average. Also, the desk doesn't open until 8, which seems super late for a motel in a tourist location. I wish I had a photo to share, however, I didn't even think of taking one because it wasn't something I wanted to remember. If I get the opportunity to go back to Yosemite, I'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 986StephanieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Groveland hotels

Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed there coming back from Yosemite

This hotel is nice but expensive because of its location
Note that you are still around one hour from Yosemite valley

Rooms were clean, bathroom was large and the pool was very nice.

A very nice stay when you can afford it


  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
9.7 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
413 reviews
11.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
576 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
806 reviews
9.6 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buck Meadows Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buck Meadows Lodge

Property: Buck Meadows Lodge
Address: 7649 Highway 120, At Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite California Hotel - Buck Meadows Lodge. Buck Meadows Lodge - The Closest Affordable Lodging to Yosemite National Park. Welcome to the Buck Meadows Lodge & Restaurant. Located only 12 miles from Yosemite National Park in the small town of Buck Meadows on Highway 120, east of Groveland, The Buck Meadows Lodge offers 10 clean and comfortable motel rooms for the budget minded traveler visiting Yosemite. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing