We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly great place to stay---they have changed!”
Review of Berkshire Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berkshire Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Groveland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 June 2010

I decided upon a last-minute Yosemite trip for a June weekend which made it quite a challenge to find accommodation of any sort that was not too far from Yosemite. This was the only place I found, through Tripadvisor, that had availability. I booked a room with some trepidation given the majority of negative reviews in the past, with only one positive one most recently this year. We were very pleasantly surprised with how nice this place was and hope that more people will come and see it for themselves!

The staff there were very nice, both on the phone and in-person. We had advised them that we would be arriving late and they kindly waited up to greet us and show us our room. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was also very clean and well supplied.

The place is quite big, on top of a steep hill and so, it has great views and a lovely big deck/porch.

They offer a big breakfast of waffles, toast, cereals, and fruit. They will even set it up earlier for you if you are leaving earlier than the scheduled breakfast time!. They also have great facilities for guests to prepare their own meals and/or store food that they plan to take into Yosemite the next day---there is a large fridge, spacious countertop to prep food, and gas BBQ for guests to use, all out on their covered deck/porch.

The manager Kevin told us that he is the new manager and that the previous, negative reivews were from the old management. Hopefully, more people will come see that this is a pretty nice place to stay. It is about 30 minutes from the Yosemite Park gates and another ~45 min drive to Yosemite Valley from there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gnomadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Berkshire Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2010

We stayed one cold and raining night and were greeted courteously -had our choice of rooms ( though we were the only ones there). The common rooms were clean, had a lot of reading material and a TV in another room ,if you wanted to watch it. Our room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom clean. Breakfast was light ( which we prefer)-cereal, bagels, fruits, juice, tea, coffee and zucchini bread that was wonderful. We had a good chat with the inn keeper about all the bad reviews in the past and he told us all the work they have done on the place. While it is not a 5 star B&B , we found it comfy and suited our needs well...Try it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

This "hotel" was dirty, dirty dirty!!! Carpeting looked like it had not been changed in years, bathrooms hadn't been cleaned in 6 months, and overall worst than a motel 6 but the cost of a much nicer hotel room. "Breakfast" was day old english muffins and bagels, oj and cereal. Would not stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank englishguyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Just don't stay here. Poor continental breakfast. Non-existent owners (they live in Texas and let their 30-something single son who could care less run it). Son's girlfriend was surly and slobby while carting out breakfast. Coffee never ready even at 7am. No hot tub, no pool.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vgw0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2008

I wonder how Yosemite official site can be so misleading and include this B&B in the list of hotels to contact. We trusted the suggestion and spent two nights there. First of all we found it hard to locate it since there is no proper indication, only a faded mail box at the beginning of the narrow road that leads to the building. But then, everything is faded and fatiscent and worn-out. The impression is that the owner doesn't care or doesn't earn enough to manage his business (despite the fact that rates are not so low, specially when compared to what you are offered) and you cannot avoid feeling depressed by what surrounds you. The plastic table cloth of the breakfast table was dirty and old, all the building was in hard need of a white paint ... really, should it be totally renewed it could be a marvel, but in the conditions it is now, DONT' GO!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JavaMilan_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2007

I usually write lengthy reviews about places that I would go back to. As the Berkshire Inn is NOT one of these places, I'll keep it relatively short. We got the recommendation from Frommers but I wish I'd checked Tripadvisor beforehand - Frommers is just plain wrong.

1) Large rooms but extremely dated and in need of thorough cleaning. Bed was acceptable.

2) Bathrooms cold as there was no heating outlet in there. Bathrooms also stuck in the 70s.

3) The owners do not live there and have clearly given up on the property since it went on sale. The person running the place there was a nice enough guy but not really a "hotel service" type - the most interesting thing about the Berkshire inn is the scar on his leg (its pretty impressive! I understand it was a result of a motor collision with a Brit driving on the wrong side of the road)

4) Breakfast is rubbish - unless you like toasting old muffins.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sameera3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2006

Everything the other reviewers said is true. The hot tub outside is "being repaired". The innkeeper walked around in his bare feet, and seemed bothered to be asked to write a receipt. The breakfast was pretty pathetic. A young girl (about 15) was laying down on the couch watching tv when we arrived. We thought she must be the owner's daughter, but when we asked, she said she worked there. At one point the owner walked into the TV room where we were watching a show, changed the TV channel, and then walked out. These people should not be running an inn.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank 3rdCultureParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
1.6 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
819 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
583 reviews
17.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
1.7 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
22.6 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshire Inn

Address: 19950 Highway 120, Groveland, CA 95321
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Berkshire Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing