We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for an Overnight stay on the way to Yosemite” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkshire Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Berkshire Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Groveland B&B and Inns
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“OK for an Overnight stay on the way to Yosemite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

Our room was very spacious and comfortable. Compared to other places in the area, the price was reasonable. Unfortunately the hot tub was not working. The continental breakfast the next morning was what you might expect at Comfort Inn, but not at a B&B. We were there on a weeknight in September and there was only one other couple staying there so it wasn't over crowded. They have Wi-Fi and a comfortable lounging area.

The Inn was further out of town than we anticipated, but not a problem for a less than 5 minute drive to town. Not sure that I would want to stay there for a week, but for an overnight or if travelling in a group where you can take advantage of the common area rooms which there are plenty of, then it's OK.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBABD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    17
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

This was a nice place and very close to Yosemite. The breakfast is self-serve continental - hot and cold cereal, fruit, bagels, bread, English muffins, etc. Juice and coffee and tea. If you are expecting to be served a fancy hot breakfast, go somewhere else. The room was nice and comfortable and the owner let us use the freezer to keep our ice packs cold. There is free wi-fi and 2 living rooms with board games and TV.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caliblue75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

Sure are some haters out there!! Everybody got there opinion but jeeze!

So if you want a stuffy hotel go somewhere else. Like so many of the foothill locations I've been to I don't expect swank. The Berkshire is down to earth home style B&B.

Kevin Was a most gracious almost overly helpful Host.. When was the last time you experienced customer service??

Location was cool. For summer swimming ry the Rainbow pool 20 mins on 120 towards Yosemite.

Beds were comfortable.

Food was typical "continental". It was good. I never have expected much from anything European....lol For pizza try two guys in Groveland.

I will be going back.

No stress.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimnjay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmond, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed there for 2 nights in May 2010 and this place has been one of the highlights of our trip! The owner is very friendly and does everything to make his guest feel happy & welcome, and the place is just filled with nice touches: a nice big living room with lots of magazines, a chess set, nice balcony to enjoy breakfast, complimentary whine upon arrival, etc. Everything is very clean, room and bathroom were great (all new), breakfast was great, we just had a great stay! Don't fall for the idiot prices of the hotels in Groveland itself (+$250 per night), this place is just a few minutes out of Groveland and in the right direction of the Yosemite entrance. I am so glad we didn't take a hotel room in Groveland and decided to drive on looking for another place. The horror stories here are apparently from a different area under different management, don't base your judgment on those. This place definitely ranks #1 or 2 in the list of places we went to in a month long trip. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dropmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

It was so wonderful to get away for a few days. Just right outside of town you feel close enough to all the great food and hospitality in town and return back to the tranquility of the Birkshire. Kevin was a wonderful host. We did miss not having hot breakfast We look forward to our next visit!
The Caputi's 2Spoons Coffee

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2spoonscoffeehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emeryville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

The Berkshire Inn has apparently changed owners because this place rocks and is nothing like the bad reviews i've read below. My husband and i checked in on a Friday night and were greeted with a friendly smile and a glass of wine. Kevin, the Inn Keeper went out of his way to make my husband and i feel at home. When our car broke down in the parking lot he drove us to the meeting we HAD to attend at 6am the following morning. When we returned, he helped us look for towing companies for hours. The rooms are clean and cozy, the views are beautiful and the continental breakfast provided variety and was delicious. If you ever need to go to Yosemite and would like to stay in a Bed and Breakfast, this is the place to come! We will definitely come again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MellissaPerezBixler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

We have stayed at the Berkshire Inn twice now, once last year and then just last weekend.
Kevin, the owner goes out of his way to be helpful with recommendation, carrying your luggage, making dinner reservations, etc.
The place itself is well kept and cozy, although the walls are a bit thin.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saskiarebekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
1.6 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
19.0 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
17.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
22.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
1.7 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkshire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkshire Inn

Property: Berkshire Inn
Address: 19950 Highway 120, Groveland, CA 95321
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Berkshire Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing