We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Mildly tolerable"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yosemite Lakes RV Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yosemite Lakes RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Elk Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Mildly tolerable"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We booked our reservation on line for a tent site and double checked it twice. They booked us in an RV site, we requested to have a tent site and we were told to go check out what may still be available. So we did! Found a nice large site on the river however, it was all blocked by trees. We proceeded to pitch the tent and set up camp only to find out the showers/toilets by our site were closed due to repairs. It would have been nice for the lady checking us in to let us know that ahead of time, we would have picked a different site. Too late to pick up and move everthing... I asked how long the restroom would be close and the man working on it said "Awe who knows a couples days maybe a month!" Really! Hmmm. Well they did finally open it the next day so at least we had toilets and 1 shower near-by. There were no benches in the restrooms to put your things on, they were filthy no one ever came to clean them, they must of restocked the paper towels because they never ran out. I finally went to the office to ask when do the restrooms get cleaned. The lady replied "Everyday!" I told her" I don't think so no one has been to ours it's filthy". There was a couple checking in and I made sure they overheard me. Well, as it would be 2 ladies showed up on the morning we were leaving to clean. We have been camping the better part of 30 years and this is the worst I have come across. The whole camp ground just looked run down, the lodge was a mess, very spotty WI-Fi coverage in the lodge only, No cell service, and to boot don't think your going to put up a clothes line to dry your towels Not allowed! I brought my hammock which I do on all camping trips and I was told "You can't put that up no hanging it in the trees!" that's a first for me. Other than being with my family & friends and enjoying their company, as well as Yosemite there needs to be some major changes before i will come back here. For the price they charge you would think they would take better care of the campground. I must say the campground was very quite day and night no rowdy people even though there were a big group of small kids having fun they were very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Outdoorgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    153
    58
    32
    33
See reviews for
303
175
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

Our experience was awful. The staff was rude to us and treated us as if we were beneath them. We were there for one night only because of the treatment we received and the fact that the bathrooms were dirty and old and broken down. Their wonderful wifi was only available in one room at certain times o the day-- plus there is NO CELL SERVICE. We were stuck but only for that one night. Be warned

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gswprchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

The cabins are basic, but comfortable. Linens on all beds even though we were told through reservation there would be none and we brought our sleeping bags across country. Nice fire ring, propane heat, and picnic table. Clean bathhouse. Hot showers, don't forget your towels. Store, gas station within walking distance, basic premade sandwiches, drinks, and cheapest gas in the area. We traveled 8 miles to buckmeadows for dinner, it was very good and a fun little bar, pool tables and shuffleboard. Would love to be there now. Closest place to Yosemite, well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SallyE0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We spent a week there in our 40 foot class A and were very happy with a few exceptions, no 50 amp and no phone coverage. There was free wifi in the clubhouse but it was very slow. We squeezed into a site by the river under the giant pines, finding one we could level in but could'nt get our front mount direct tv to get a signal in because of the trees. The sites under the pines are very tight but worth the shade as the afternoons were quite hot. If you want more elbow room, there are lots of other sites in the park out of the trees.The climb up hwy 120 to the park for large rvs and 5th wheels includes a 6 mile winding 1600 ft grade. IGNORE your gps's suggestion to turn up Old Priest Grade, it has a 7500 lb limit and is TOO steep, stay on hwy 120!

Room Tip: riverside sites are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobncamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SFBayArea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

My family stayed in a Meadow Yurt at Yosemite Lakes April 8-11, 2012 as our "home base" for forays into Yosemite National Park, as Yosemite Valley itself is about a 35-40 minute drive from Yosemite Lakes via Highway 120. We chose the yurt because it offered two key features that appealed to members of my family--a fire pit for roasting marshmallows and indoor plumbing!

From what I can tell, all the yurts are identical; it's the setting that determines the price level. River yurts command the highest price by virtue of location along the South Fork of the Tuolumne River, while Hillside yurts are the least expensive. In between price-wise are the Meadow yurts, which are literally across the road from the River yurts.

The River and Meadow yurts are located on the eastern end of the Yosemite Lakes property. Access is controlled by a gate that requires a code number to be entered. Behind the River and Meadow yurts are many tent sites, but these were closed and unoccupied during my stay. I'm sure these will be filled up during summer, so you may want to keep that in mind if you stay during peak season.

Physically, the yurts are about 30 feet in diameter. Half of the interior space is devoted to the living/sleeping area, one-quarter to the bathroom, and one-quarter to the kitchen/dining area. Because of the shape of the yurt, the ceiling is very high, and a skylight caps the dome. A locking entry door leads to a small deck equipped with a gas grill (grill brushes for cleaning are provided) and two screened windows equipped with venetian blinds on the inside permit additional light. The "window panes" are secured with velcro and can be removed to permit additional ventilation. Storm flaps over the window exteriors can be lowered if needed. (Tip: bring a small stepladder to help with these.)

The yurt is very well stocked. Linens provided include bed sheets, pillows, pillowcases, blankets, comforters, bath towels, wash cloths, and a shower mat, but you need to provide your own soap and shampoo. Kitchen appliances include a full-size refrigerator/freezer, two-burner electric stovetop, microwave oven, two-slot toaster, and 10-cup coffeemaker. A full range of utensils and cookware is also included, as well as a cutting board, colander, and dishrack (dish soap and a sponge are provided). Creature comforts include a gas heater, air conditioner, and small television with DirecTV. For sleeping, there is a queen size futon and a bunk bed (single upper and double lower).

Please note that the river can be quite loud if the current is strong. In addition, if it rains like it did during our last night's stay, the raindrops hitting the yurt's walls and ceiling can be noisy. I'd recommend bring earplugs, just in case. Also cell phone coverage for me at least was non-existent. In addition, the nearest restaurant is about 20 minutes away in Buck Meadows.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay. There's no way I would call it camping, but I think it's a good bridge for anyone who wants to transition from a hotel/motel experience to a different accomodation experience. While the distance to Yosemite Valley may put some people off, you're paying less as a result.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank keyroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We went during one of the major power outage in the winter. They did call beforehand and warned us that the power may not be re-instated when we get there. Since we had already planned for the trip, we went anyways. They provided some candles for light and we brought our own lanterns as well. Power came back on second night. Can't find fault with anything there. It was clean and very appointed. Heating is propane. Amenities: Full kitchen with fridge, microwave, all utensils and cutlery, stove and oven, Bathroom with stand shower and toilet, queen size bed and a full futon, satellite tv, outdoor gas grill, picnic table and parking for 2 cars. The surrounding is really beautiful.

Drive to Yosemite entrance is only 5 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jawayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yosemite National Park, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We loved our hillside yurt! This was my first trip to Yosemite so I really wanted it to be special. We booked the yurt at the last minute and were a little nervous but we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. I agree with some of the other reviews that the beds were a little uncomfortable, but not a big deal. The gas grill was definitely dirty and unusable (there was no grill brush) so we had to cook our burgers on the stove top instead. Other than that we were very pleased and would highly recommend staying in a yurt. We will definitely stay here again. The drive to the valley is about 40 minutes but it is so beautiful it never bothered us, in fact we drove into the park 3 days in a row and never felt put out by the drive.

Room Tip: Yurt #15 had a great view off the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank N1c_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
6.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
11.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
19.6 mi away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#2 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
13.5 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Lakes RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Lakes RV Resort

Property: Yosemite Lakes RV Resort
Address: 31191 Hardin Flat Rd, Groveland, CA 95321-9716
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Yosemite Lakes RV Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Yosemite Lakes RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Lakes Cabins Hotel Groveland
Yosemite Lakes Cabins And Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing