We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic setting, well decorated room and convenient for Yosemite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blackberry Inn at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 6 Groveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting, well decorated room and convenient for Yosemite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at The Blackberry Inn. We chose the Half Dome room which was pleasant although it was a little noisy in the morning due to the room upstairs and a neighbours cockerel. The straight-talking, no nonsense owner provided a hearty breakfast on both days (served promptly at 8am for all guests) and some good tips for Yosemite. No evening meals are provided but a nearby diner offers some hearty food options.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlexTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
376
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Actually, it is somewhat expensive rate comparing to other inns, but it is worth living and enjoying. Elegant room decorations with comfortable bed totally attracted my wife. Taking shower in a huge bath tub can release travellers' tiredness. What astonishing is the breakfast. It is no need for customers to go to a public place to grab the food. My wife and I had a romance private breakfast just outside our room in our own balcony. Generally speaking, I will visit there next time when I go to Yosemite.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 阿波羅
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had an amazing experience staying at the Blackberry Inn. The room that we stayed in was part of the newer addition to the lodge and it was outstanding. It was spacious, immaculately clean, beautifully furnished and the bathroom was superb.

Steve was friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was also fabulous. The setting is surreal and it was our favourite lodging during our recent trip to California from New Zealand.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdgarWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Only good things to say about our 2 day stay here last week. Stayed in their El Capitan suite. Absolutely beautiful room with well chosen furnishings. Comfortable, clean, outstanding service. A few horses grazing close by added to the very nice views from the 'wrap around' porch - this room is in the corner of the newer building so it has two different sides to sit on. Private entrance, really nice bathroom. Steve went out of his way to help us decide how to get the most of our 2 days in the park. Breakfast was excellent. Cookies, fresh drinking water. We were very impressed to stumble across this gem, especially considering the other choices nearby and outside the park. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I tried to book this inn for one night next week - there was one room free on that night so suspected owners might be keen to fill this and we need a stopover. Firstly the person I contacted 'Steve' asked me to call in 5 hours - 2 am in the UK! Although he didn't know we are in the UK I think its a bit rude to ask a customer to call in several hours. I then enquired about whether our daughter (4 months) could stay and he said no, 'we have a 113 year age limitation here'. When I asked exactly what that means I was ignored. Kind of glad to not be staying somewhere with such rude staff/owners!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackberryInn, Owner at Blackberry Inn at Yosemite, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
As this person stated, we did receive an email from her asking about a single night stay. The room was available, so we replied to her email, yes, she could have the room. Our reservation system does not allow for Single Night reservations to be made online by a guest. We ask guests wanting a single night to call us to book their stay for confidentially of their financial credit card information. We do not ask for financial information in an email for the guest's privacy protection.
It's shocking and disappointing to realize that trying to protect this guest's financial information by requesting a simple telephone call is now considered RUDE to the level of a 1 star review when they have never stayed with us. We are just a mom and pop business trying to do our job properly.

This is a B and B and we "wear many hats". We are very often not available by phone during the day, as there are many errands to run and duties to perform. Someone is always available after 5:00 PM, PST, to help people with questions and reservations, etc., so we asked this customer to please call at this time. She responded that she was in the UK and it would then be 2:00 am. (of course we had no way of knowing this previously), so we apologized and requested more information through email. At that point she was asked to send pertinent info and we would be happy to make the reservation for her and send her a confirmation with driving instructions..

We have a double occupancy restriction and a minimum age requirement that is stated on the website. When asked to confirm the number of guests in the party, THEN the guest responded that there was a 4 month old child.

We responded that we are an adult facility and have an age restriction of 13 years. Because the computer keyboard sticks sometimes, the response sent said 113 years instead of 13.
When the guest responded that she didn't understand. We apologized yet again, saying that the keyboard sticks and reiterated the proper age restriction.

The entire email stream including our responses was completed in 2 hours and 3 minutes. We do not ignore our guests and this incident is no exception.

We work tirelessly throughout the season to provide our guests the best possible service along with clean, well appointed rooms, as evidenced by over 300 past and present positive reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this lovely B&B from May 24-27 this year. I can't even begin to tell you how wonderful it was. The owners of the home, Steve & Alexandria, have left no stone unturned when it comes to providing a home away from home. First, the property is just beautiful. Quiet, charming and luxurious all at the same time. The huge wrap around front porch is a delight and watching the plethora of hummingbirds at the feeders is really a treat. The home was built in the 1990's with a Bed & Breakfast in mind, so every room is designed for comfort. We stayed in the Brameberry Suite and it was incredible. The bed was more comfortable than my own! One night I even took a bubble bath in the soaking tub; so relaxing! Breakfast was also a treat and Steve and his helpers made sure we had what we needed and always asked ahead of time if you had any special dietary needs. They truly go out of their way. The Inn is about 13 miles outside of the Oak Flats entrance to Yosemite. They have virtually no cell phone service, but they are prepared if you need to use their land line phone. But it was wonderful not to have cell service....more relaxing, for sure. My husband and I really didn't have a "plan" for touring Yosemite each day, so Steve offered his guidance and made us a picnic lunch for one day's journey. His "day tour" was spot on, and we had an incredible day. The only thing that I would have changed was how long we stayed. We were only there for 3 days and I could have stayed forever, and I was sad to leave....I would definitely go back and stay with Steve & Alex! Thank you so much for your hospitality!! (Hello to Catorce & Cricket!!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Although I could have booked a hotel inside Yosemite National Park itself, I was not keen to do so after reading reviews on the service and noise in the rooms. It took me some time to trawl the net to find something quiet. I finally stumbled on Blackberry Inn by accident and boy, am I glad to make this decision.

This is a rustic country home-style but with modern amenities and elegant decor both in the rooms and the gardens. You can see the owner's passion in the design, commitment to keep standards high and care for the place. Steve personally cooked the breakfast according to my dietary needs and baked the cookies that were left in the room each day.

There are intricate classic details at every corner. It is like a dream home with understated beauty and practicality. I appreciate the adaptor with 2 USB ports and a 3-pin power-point. This allowed me to charge both my mobile phones and camera at the same time. There is a night light in the bathroom when you turn off the lights. There is also an electric fireplace and air conditioner. The bed is ultra-comfortable and grand.

I'm glad I took the initiative to talk to busy Steve after guests had left for their daily outings and found him to be energetic and attentive. (That was when I discovered the cookies were home-made by him.) There are common areas such as a library, lounge and verandah for guests to relax in. Watching the humming birds feed and hearing a bird sing was a joy. A restaurant with good burgers is 5 minutes away.

This pretty inn with the owner's personal touch each day is a rare find and sets the bench mark for boutique lodging. It is a destination in itself. It was a delight returning to the tranquil grounds each day, watching the sunset and horses. Blackberry is like a grand dame that is young at heart. It was hard leaving her!

Room Tip: If you like breakfast served at your patio, you will need to choose the rooms in the newer wing - at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamwithU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
12.2 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
10.1 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
15.8 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
19.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#4 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Inn at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Inn at Yosemite

Property: Blackberry Inn at Yosemite
Address: 7567 Hamilton Station Loop, Groveland, CA 95321-9766
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to simple pleasures and total comfort in your home away from home. The Blackberry Inn Bed and Breakfast is a romantic country farmhouse surrounded by National Forest, with a wraparound porch and hundreds of hummingbirds that visit daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackberry Inn At Yosemite Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing