We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We left our hearts at the Blackberry Inn!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Groveland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blackberry Inn at Yosemite
Ranked #1 of 6 Groveland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We left our hearts at the Blackberry Inn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2007

Walking up the steps to the Inn we were sidetracked by the hummingbirds flocking round the feeders on the porch - and things only got better.
We spent 3 nights in the Briar Rose room, which is HUGE (it's only a slight exaggeration to say that the bed is bigger than some rooms we've stayed in)
Everything you could possibly need is provided and then some - for example there's no sewing kit, there's a whole sewing basket! On the landing, as well as a vast selection of guidebooks and 'proper' reading books, is a fridge plus a picnic basket with plates/glasses/cutlery...and the all important bottle opener, downstairs a selection of tea & coffee, cookies in your room... I suspect if you are creative enough to think of something Ann Marie & John haven't already provided they will get it for you before you could say “what I’d really like is…”

My worry in selecting the Blackberry had been that the drive into Yosemite (and back) 2 days in a row might prove to be a chore. As it turned out, even though we visited on the Friday & Saturday of the holiday weekend and the park was very busy it was a straightforward drive, and if we are ever lucky enough to go back to Yosemite, I would stay at the Blackberry again without a second thought.

If it’s not already pretty obvious, we can not speak highly enough of Ann Marie and John and the Blackberry Inn! We stayed in some excellent accomodation throughout our trip, but our experience here was the best! Thank you!!

  • Liked — light & spacious, ultra-comfortable room - fantastic inn keepers
  • Disliked — Having to leave it
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank ThatNameIsTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
375
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2007

Once you have been charmed by the building, enchanted by the humming birds feeding on the verandah, met the delightful hostess, munched the tasty home cooked cookies and settled in to your superbly comfortable room you will realise how lucky you have been to have chosen the Blackberry Inn. And you still haven't had breakfast yet!

It's c12 miles from the Western entrance to Yosemite in a very tranquil spot. We stayed in the smallest of the three rooms - which was bigger than my house!

Breakfast? Don't get me started! It'll keep you going and put a smile on your face - that's all I'll say.

'Nuff said - if you enjoy the B&B experience and are visiting Yosemite - stay at the Blackberry Inn.

If you need a downside, there's only one local place to eat (which was closed when we visited) so you need to travel into Groveland (c15 minutes by car) to find a restaurant - and even then, go early cos it's a sleepy place that closes early. At least in the off season.

  • Liked — It's B&B perfection
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2007

This is a lovely, (adults only), newer (3-guest rooms) home, mid 1990s, built with "country" charm, complete with a big front porch & rocking chairs to watch the swarm of humming birds at the feeders and a sweet golden retriever. (The dog appears to be mostly confined to the owners' private quarters of the B & B.) Our hostess cooked fancy, wonderfully tasty breakfasts for us, & she's written many hiking guidebooks, so she was able to offer hiking recommendations.
The room was very clean, & the queen size bed was very comfortable. There are no TVs or radios, so it's quiet.
(My only complaint is that the lighting in the room, esp. the bedside lamps, was poor for reading.)
Although mileagewise this isn't too far from Yosemite valley, the winding mountain roads still made this drive about a 45 min.- 1 hour drive down into the valley each day, which got tiresome.
Otherwise, this was our first stay at a B & B, and it was a wonderful experience.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorelei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2007

Ann Marie knows how to make you feel at home at this gorgeous B&B. The Berry Patch room was a charming delight. The breakfast is absolutely wonderful(can we get her a show on the food network?). Aside from the B&B, Ann Marie is an author of 13 guidebooks on California recreation(she really knows her stuff)and was so helpful on Yosemite hiking trails for first timers.
I truly wish my husband and I had stayed here for our honeymoon.
However, this was the best five year anniversary gift we could have ever shared together.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Raven5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2007

Ann Marie and John run an Inn that is excellent in every way. My husband and I visited the Blackberry Inn for two nights in December of 2006. We stayed at 10 different Inns in our tour of NoCA and the Pacific Northwest. While all had their charming qualities, The Blackberry Inn sits firmly at the top of our list for overall experience!

Yes, the Inn is beautiful and convenient to Yosemite. Yes, the rooms are supremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. Yes, the delicious, healthy and hearty breakfasts deserve our highest rating (and in fact, were the best of our trip!). But, if for no other reason, you must stay at the Blackberry Inn to meet Ann Marie, John and CJ (their beautiful golden retriever). We've yet to come across more warm, hospitable hosts. From our pre-arrival orientation to the area and warm welcome - to Ann Marie's suggestions for our itinerary - to their fond farewell, these guys are doing it right. They obviously love welcoming folks to their little corner of paradise and I can't imagine that anyone knows the area better than they do.

As other reviewers have mentioned, Ann Marie has written many guidebooks detailing hiking/biking opportunities in CA. Do yourself a favor and get at least one or two. She is a fantastic writer and we found her 250 Hikes an invaluable resource as we travelled through CA.

As we reflected back on our experience, our only surprise was that our high expectations for the Blackberry Inn (based on what we read here from other reviewers) were exceeded! Gotta love that!

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 777dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2006

We were on our honeymoon so I wanted something a little bit special and the Blackberry Inn certainly didn’t disappoint!! The downside was that it was a little way outside the park but everything else was fantastic. There are only three guest rooms so it is very quiet and personal. Ann Marie, the owner, was fantastic. She couldn’t do enough to make us feel welcome. She cooks the most amazing breakfast every morning and knows Yosemite very well so was able to give us help and advice about what to see and do. I would highly recommend the Blackberry Inn for quality, service and the best hostess I’ve met.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surreybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2006

We just spent 3 nights in the Briar Rose room at the Blackberry Inn. This is a perfect place to base your explorations of Yosemite. Everything is absolutely spotless and comfortable. The chocolate chip cookies and feather bed waiting at the end of a long day of hiking are just two of the special touches that make this one of our new favorite places to stay.
Ann Marie is very knowledgeable about the area (she has written several guidebooks) and will help you with your planning if you wish. Breakfast is enough to hold hikers until dinner. We ate breakfast and then took some trail mix with us to snack on in the afternoon. Arriving back at our base, we ate at the 49er restaurant just down the road, which gives ample portions or 'roadside diner' food for a small price. With the windows open, we had cool breezes coming in all night and in the early morning twilight, the views of the stars was wonderful. With several hummingbird and finch feeders, there was always a flurry of feathered activity right outside the dining room.
In short, this B&B fulfilled all our B&B ideals; spacious, quiet, beautiful setting, located close to our destination, good food and a great hostess that was helpful without being overly so. Definately a 'do again'.

  • Liked — wonderful ambiance
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mish_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
12.2 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
10.1 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
15.8 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
19.0 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,660 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
#4 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackberry Inn at Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackberry Inn at Yosemite

Property: Blackberry Inn at Yosemite
Address: 7567 Hamilton Station Loop, Groveland, CA 95321-9766
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to simple pleasures and total comfort in your home away from home. The Blackberry Inn Bed and Breakfast is a romantic country farmhouse surrounded by National Forest, with a wraparound porch and hundreds of hummingbirds that visit daily. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackberry Inn At Yosemite Hotel Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing