We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to visit the park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great way to visit the park”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel is 55 minutes or so from the valley but it is so worth staying here. Tioga road is even closer than that. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly and a drive to the valley is wonderful. They have pool and hot tub to help relax your muscles from all day walking. They have benches by the rooms where you can sit and drink wine. But I think the best part about the stay there was the restaurant nearby, Buck Meadows. We had breakfast and dinner every night there. Food is amazing, portions are big and prices are good. So if you are trying to find a place to stay while visiting the Yosemite, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asta55113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    369
    142
    51
    25
See reviews for
308
332
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This motel is ideally sited for a trip into Yosemite and priced very reasonably in comparison with other places inside the park. We travelled down from SF and arrived mid afternoon, the check in staff were very friendly and helpful, offering some great suggestions to maximise our time in the magnificent area. Our rooms were large, comfortable and very clean and tidy. There is a bar next door that does good food for dinner and breakfast. Very nice place.

Room Tip: All rooms open on to the parking lot and back onto a forested area. All look good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Yosemite. Only 20 minutes drive to entrance of the park.
Rooms very clean, staff pleasant. Bedding and towels like new. Iron/board & toiletries povided. It's in a quiet area with a pool and a 50's diner next door. Food here was what one would expect from an American diner. Staff were pleasant and it was open for breakfast but it closed about 9 PM at night. However, it is going to stay open until 10pm from this weekend 10th May.
Would recommend this motel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Tony!

I wanted to take a few minutes and personally write you to thank you for leaving us such a positive review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Westgate Lodge. We work really hard to provide the best value lodging in and around Yosemite and your review helps reflect this principle.

We'd love to host you again. Next time, book direct with us at yosemitewestgate.com and use the promo code: tripadvisor to save more one what are already our lowest rates.

Best Regards,

Raj
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed one night with friends on the way out of Yosemite. Is has 2 levels of rooms all opening out to the parking. It seems rooms were renovated and the interior still looked good. Rooms were spacious and clean. Bathroom clean, new and all marble. Reception/all stuff/ we meet was nice and helpful. Only stayed one night and room was clean. no real negative experience.
It has no breakfast nor restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falconi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dr. Jacomo:

I wanted to quickly thank you for your stay at The Westgate. I am glad that you felt we ran a good operation. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and hospitality. We do have a restaurant on site, The Buck Meadows Restaurant which is located just steps away from the main lodge. All of our rooms have microwaves and fridges.

Please do spread the word about our lodge. We hope to host you again in the future. Book directly at yosemitewestgate.com to find our lowest rates.

Thank You,

Raj
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed 1 night with family on the way out of Yosemite and headed to Sacramento. I refer to it as Motel as this is setup with 2 levels of rooms all opening out to the parking lot. Rooms were renovated a few years ago and the interior still looked great. Rooms were spacious and clean. Only negative I have is that this is labeled a non-smoking room but ashtrays are placed right outside the doors at each end of the building. If you had a room like we did (2nd level at the corner by the stairs) other guests were compelled to smoke right outside of your room. I am sensitive to smoke so it bothered me, others not so much. Only stayed one night and room was clean so I was satisfied. Also, Groveland is 11 miles down the road, and is a nice town great Pizza restaurant we ate at. Didn't get a chance to try the restaurant that is co-located with the motel but it looked decent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkyclark101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
175 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

The lodge just outside Yosemite is in a good location if you are visiting the park. Basic clean rooms with all usual facilities like fridge and coffee machine. There is also a self service laundry which was useful to us as we were half way through our tour. $1.50 each machine load and $2 for one pack of soap.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great place to stay outside of the park. Reasonable too. Was a bit concerned when I made my reservation on line and when I was checking in they charged us $11.00 for an extra person?? Phones didn't work in our room (couldn't dial out) the owner, when I asked to use there phone told me to buy a calling card !!!! He wasn't accommodating at ALL (Cell phones didn't work ... No service)

Room Tip: Don't plan on the couch/fold out to be cozy. It's not !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
11.7 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
9.8 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Westgate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Property: Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Address: 7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite Westgate Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is the most modern lodging facility on Highway 120, located just a mere 12 miles from the Big Oak Flat "Westgate" Entrance to Yosemite N.P., And a short 35 mile jaunt down to the Valley Floor and the many popular features of Yosemite including the thunderous waterfalls, Half Dome, El Capitan, Cathedral Rocks, and many campgrounds in and around Yosemite. We offer the ideal place to stay if you are traveling from the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern California. Our hotel boasts 48 luxuriously appointed and newly remodeled and extremely spacious rooms. Most of our rooms have two queen size beds, making them ideal for families or groups. The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is a 100% Non-Smoking facility and unfortunately, Pets are NOT allowed. The Lodge has a heated swimming pool, spa, playground, laundry facilities, and an adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yosemite Westgate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite Westgate Hotel Groveland
Americas Best Value Inn Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing