We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closest place to Yosemite gate w/pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Closest place to Yosemite gate w/pool”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stay here every year for a night on our way to Yosemite, to rest and get the long drive out of our backs by working out in the pool. This time, although they have updated a lot of the decor nicely, they have replaced all the pillows with foam ones and we could not sleep and woke up with neck aches. A/C was noisy and it was very hot out, so, a bad night, unfortunately. I have a walking difficulty and requested a room close to the pool when I reserved, then called ahead to confirm it, and they moved things around - so that I was not upstairs!!! Whoever put me up there did not get it when I said I was on crutches. But the room we got was the furthest room from the pool instead of closest, and they put us in a wheelchair room which did not work well for us. So I think they are overwhelmed in the front office in terms of any request that is out of the ordinary. They are very nice people so I know it is not that they just don't care. If you don't care what room you are in and are a heavy sleeper this is a great place for you.

Room Tip: If you cannot do stairs you need to call them two or three times before your arrive to make sure the...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are implenting more and more recycling and other green efforts; bins are outside at the end of each building tho not for paper. No separated recycling in the rooms yet.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    364
    141
    51
    25
See reviews for
302
329
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
348 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Close enough to Yosemite but far enough from the crowds. Price was reasonable and the room was large and comfortable. After dealing with the throngs who (like us) understandably want to see this iconic treasure, it was great to retreat a short 12 miles to peace and quiet. Our room was clean and well kept. We enjoyed our 3 nights.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

First, this is not in Groveland, it's actually beyond Groveland as you're headed west toward Yosemite. I believe it's in Bucks Meadow. You will want to know that so you don't freak out if you go through "downtown" Groveland and don't see it. Motel is well located not too far from the Yosemite West Gate on Rte 120. We had a sizable king bed room. It was equipped for handicapped access, which we had not been made aware of and wouldn't necessarily have wanted. (Booked this hotel many months ahead of mid-week July stay.) I know our room was more than $80 over the price of a double bed room... once I heard that rate quoted to a "walk in" I did feel a bit cheated. However, staff was nice and efficient and room was clean and comfortable. We did have an ice maker right outside the room, which was a bit noisy all night. You might want to avoid that.

Room Tip: Our corner first floor room had an ice maker right outside, which we could hear making ice on and of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lettuceleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Three of us had a very good 2 night stay here, using the motel as our base for a Tuolumne River white water rafting trip with AO Rafting.

Our double queen room had a 1 person futon sofa bed, air conditioning, dinette table, microwave, mini fridge, coffee maker, and updated tile bathroom. Outdoor pool and spa are great amenities to come back to. No complaints. But expect to pay +$200 during summer weekend.

We would say this is the best motel accommodation on Hwy 120 on the approach to Yosemite. About 1 hour drive to the Yosemite Valley floor, add an extra 90 min more if visiting on a Saturday as Valley traffic is horrible beginning at El Capitan on Saturdays. Everything else is either a B&B or very rustic and funky. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JasminedogLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

You know that a hotel room is likely to be clean when you open the front door and you smell bleach. And in this case I was right. The room was spotlessly clean. It was a comfortable room with two queen sized beds and everything needed for a single-night stay. Note that the hotel no longer supplies Wi-Fi. You’re a long way from the big city here, and even my mobile phone didn’t get a signal. You’ll have to settle for cable T.V. or make sure you’ve downloaded your entertainment before you leave home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntercontinentalOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

It's technically a motel. And it feels like it. The rooms are fine, just very generic. It definitely looks better on the pictures. The bathroom seemed older and too basic.
The motel is 10 miles outside of Yosemite park. The park itself is huge. So from the park village to the motel is 1 hour drive. It's something to consider. Also next to the motel there is a restaurant (which we thought was good) and that's all for another 10 miles or so. And there is no internet connection or phone reception of any kind. So plan accordingly.
Overall not a bad place, it does the job. Just ends up being overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeFTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. The hotel is very basic and the Wi-Fi does not work at all. The hotel is very close to the entrance of Yosemite. There is a restaurant next door which is Ok. It is a good choice of hotel for the location, which is basically what you are paying for.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 808Neilb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsight_Hospitality, Owner at Yosemite Westgate Lodge, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Neil:

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Your honest appraisal is valued. We do wish we got a few more ticks of positiveness. We're sorry we do not have WiFi--it's unfortunately out of our control. You won't find high speed internet anywhere up in this corridor because of the remote location unfortunately. We barely have any cellular coverage as well so we advise our customers to visit Yosemite with this in mind and to come with the mindset to disconnect and leave it all behind and really absorb nature. We're the closest and most modern hotel to The Park and we'd love to host you again in the future.

Book direct at yosemitewestgate.com and you'll save some more next time.

Regards,

Raj
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groveland
11.7 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
15.7 mi away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
1,954 reviews
9.8 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
780 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
565 reviews
18.8 mi away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Westgate Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Westgate Lodge

Property: Yosemite Westgate Lodge
Address: 7633 Hwy 120, at Buck Meadows, Groveland, CA 95321 (Formerly Yosemite Westgate Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Groveland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Groveland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Yosemite Westgate Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is the most modern lodging facility on Highway 120, located just a mere 12 miles from the Big Oak Flat "Westgate" Entrance to Yosemite N.P., And a short 35 mile jaunt down to the Valley Floor and the many popular features of Yosemite including the thunderous waterfalls, Half Dome, El Capitan, Cathedral Rocks, and many campgrounds in and around Yosemite. We offer the ideal place to stay if you are traveling from the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern California. Our hotel boasts 48 luxuriously appointed and newly remodeled and extremely spacious rooms. Most of our rooms have two queen size beds, making them ideal for families or groups. The Yosemite Westgate Lodge is a 100% Non-Smoking facility and unfortunately, Pets are NOT allowed. The Lodge has a heated swimming pool, spa, playground, laundry facilities, and an adjacent restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yosemite Westgate Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Yosemite Westgate Hotel Groveland
Americas Best Value Inn Groveland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing