We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful anytime, but especially wonderful during bird migration”
Review of Oso Flaco Lake

Oso Flaco Lake
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Guadalupe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful anytime, but especially wonderful during bird migration”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

If you want a serene environment in which to enjoy the gifts of nature, this is a great choice. Wheelchair accessible trail out to the lake with a wonderful walking bridge over this lake. Opportunities to view waterfowl in this peaceful environment are plentiful.
DO IT!

Helpful?
1 Thank SLOCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    9
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful walkway across lake out to the beach”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

One can see a lot of migratory waterfowl on the lake, and in the spring the native dune plants are beautiful in bloom. Warning: do *not* fish in the lake! Fish have been tested with high levels of DDT, etc., resulting from soil erosion from upstream farms going back many decades.

Helpful?
Thank jthomasca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
201 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Oso Flaco Lake is a few miles north of Guadalupe on Pacific Coast Highway 1. Don't be discouraged by the ugly road to get there or the dirt parking lot ($5 parking fee). There's an easy walk from the parking to the board walk (about 1/4 mile). The board walk itself is probably about a mile long and crosses the lake and goes to the ocean dunes. The area is beautiful and can be navigated by wheelchairs or power-chairs. There's a large number of birds on the lake, sometimes including white pelicans (which I've never seen before). There are bathroom facilities near the dunes and handicapped accessible. It is SO worth the trip and the walk. Hopefully some of the pictures I attached to this review came through.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
721 reviews
292 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the dunes.”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We were on a mission...a mission to find Oso Flaco Lake. My husband used to camp here when the dunes were open for camping back in the 80's before the closures of this area went into effect. He had not been back since the closures so with the help of google maps...we found it! Kind of in the middle of no where down a long road thru some farms you come to the trail head. We hiked the trail along the boardwalk to the Ocean and then double backed to the dunes....where we found a bathroom in the middle of the dunes! Nice little hike and my husband finally found the lake he used to camp at in his younger days.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RockNCreekGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“great day trip and hike at Oso Flaco Lake”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Brought our kids(2,4 & 7) to hike the trail from Oso Flaco lake to the dunes. It's a great little path in the middle of nowhere if your are city folks like me. It is in the middle of celery and broccoli fields. We parked the car and paid our fees in the drop box. It is part of Californias State parks sysytem, so we are greatful to pay in order to keep these areas maintained considering all the cuts happening to the parks sysytem. The trail begins in a wooded area lakeside, we saw some beautiful butterflies in the area but beware of the poison oak. As you pass the lake there is bridge that take you though the lake, great for bird watching, We then headed into the dune part of the trail that leads to the beach. The dunes are roped off for the animals protection. It was about a mile maybe less of a walk. The beach was empty and pristine. The water was cold and it was July. My kids didn't mind it, because all the beachwater we have ever been in has been cold. California has cold water beaches. We snacked on the beach and jumped a few waves. Great day. FYI Pit toilets are located halfway to the beach.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamatita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oso Flaco Lake also viewed

 

Been to Oso Flaco Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing