We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windermere
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights at the Windemere House the last week of July 2014. The hotel is very well kept up. The rooms very comfortable and clean. We stayed in room 213. We will request a second floor room again (lakeside). It overlooked the lake with a semi private large balcony. It had two lounge chairs as well as two chairs. The only complaint I have about the room would be , the shower water pressure was very poor.
The pub food was great with a good variety of entrees,however The food and drink service everywhere in the hotel was very slow. We were on vacation with no time constraints so we were ok with this but I do think more wait staff is needed.
Breakfast buffet was included with our room. It was just ok. (Wasn't refreshed often)
We did use the canoes with no issues. The marina across the road offered boat tours of the lake. We will for sure take advantage of this service next time. (The more people you get to go on the tour the cheaper the price. ) We also took advantage of the golf course across the street. It was very well kept. I would suggest to make tee times before your arrival.
The 5-6 foot deep saltwater pool was very clean and never over crowed.
The reception room was beautiful with a good size dance floor for a wedding etc.
in the past we have stayed at Deerhurst not far from Windemere House. We really enjoyed the smaller feel and all that Windemere house offered compared to Deerhurst. We will be back to Windemere house next year. :)

Room Tip: 2nd floor facing the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Opticalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Windermere House Resort & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had specific dietary requirements so we called two days prior to visit. Phone was unanswered, so we left a message. This call was not returned, so we called again the following day. That call was returned, but not till the day of arrival, and only by luck, some 5 minutes before we left.

The staff member we talked to did not know what was possible, and said she would speak to the kitchen. However, when we came for dinner and breakfast, no-one seemed to be expecting any specific requests, and staff seemed unaware of this. The result was that, although we managed at dinner with some substitutions, there was pratically nothing at the breakfast buffet that I could eat. When we asked if the kitchen could provide a couple of poached eggs, along with gluten- and dairy-free bread, our waitress pleasantly went off to make enquiries, and the kitchen was able to produce the items we had requested.

It's been our experience in other resorts and hotels of Windermere's price range that kitchen and waitstaff are aware of our requirements as pre-notified, were expecting us, and that solutions had been offered and prepared prior to our arrival. If we had not tried to solve the potential problems before we arrived, we would not have been surprised at the seeming lack of knowledge or understanding on the part of the hotel and its staff. However, since we did try, we found this aspect of the hotel service quite unacceptable. Furthermore, for a restaurant at this level to be taken aback by requests for gluten-free or dairy-free menu items, is quite frankly disappointing in this day and age, and at the price point charged by O&B. They make a major marketing point of the quality of their "food service providers" - we didn't find this any advantage over a standard hotel-run dining room.

The overall impression we were left with was that there was no offer to cope with requests that were not on the menu, and that nobody was really interested in putting themselves out. That may not be 100% true, but it's certainly the impression we were left with which, in a hotel at this price level, is not a comfortable experience, and would deter us from repeating our visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor overlooking the lake share a walkout to a terrace - try to get one of those i...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 26DonnaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I first vacationed at Windermere House in the summer of 1945 or 1946 with my mother. Nearly seventy years later she recalled that stay as the best vacation of her entire life. My husband and I returned to Windermere House for a short stay in her memory and were not disappointed. Different from my recollections of that 1945 visit: the delicious Edo Sushi now served on the porch and the fun of playing sfuffleboard (I was too small last time). Still the same: the beautiful lake, the gardens and especially the hollyhocks, the comfortable room, the friendly service, and the magnificent views.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have stayed at Windermere many times over the past few years, and have loved it each stay. The property is beautiful and situated steps from the lake with swimming access. The service is great, and the suites and public rooms of the hotel are lovely. The food is great and the sushi bar is delicious! I would highly recommend this small-scale family resort for a relaxing weekend retreat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

A fabulous stay at Windermere with great food and friendly warm helpful staff! The balcony views are stunning and the bed super comfy and rooms clean. And the choice of restaurants make it a pleasure whether a yummy breakfast buffet in morning to to hearty pub fare in pub to incredibly fresh sushi on verandah to exquisite dishes in the Grill. We love the layout of the historic inn. Large enough but still comfy and not sprawling and the lake and outdoor beauty are the stars of it all! Thanks to all. The market at Rousseau on Fridays is wonderful too. Mary H

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 38MaryR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Windermere house with another couple for a 4 day get together. It was overall relaxing and enjoyed by all. We were able to stay for 3 nights with the hotel's 3 nights for the price of 2 deal.
Our first impression was not the greatest as the hotel entrance was not easily found. We drove around a bit, and at one point entered the wrong door. There was an 18 wheeler unloading by the enterance, so we assumed we were at the rear. The sign "lobby" was hidden by branches and not visible from the driveway.
However, once we found the lobby our vacation began. We were offered an umbrella, since it was teeming down rain. A nice touch. Check was smooth. First impression of our lake view room(as others advised, was worth the extra money)was breathtaking. The red and white awning shading our white balcony was elegant, And much appreciated during the hot parts of the day. I did however wish for a bigger awning as the sun moved and shade completely disappeared.
The room was spacious and clean. The bed was most comfortable. One problem was the lack of chairs. Given our stay was to visit with friends, it would have been nice to have a second chair there, rather than having to shuffle furniture from one room to another. First world problem eh?
Our stay was punctuated by laughs, and good times with our friends. We made our own entertainment, which was fine by us, but necessary as there really isn't much to do (unless you golf).
We ate in all 3 restaurants. They were good, and I had an exceptional duck confit arugula salad with a poached egg. Divine! Service was friendly (Thanks Danielle!)
Would we come back again? Probably not. We have found more value for our money at other resorts. I missed forested trails, and a hot tub. It .all depends on what amenities are important to you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband grew up in Ontario and has fond memories of the Muskoka lakes. So, we came back for a visit (from BC). Windermere House was the perfect place to stay - an historic inn with phenomenal lake views combined with outstanding service. The food was so delicious we stayed put and tried the wide variety of menu items. And the front desk staff were extremely helpful to connect us with the marina to rent a boat to tour the lake. Our personal boat tour was the highlight of our trip. The pool and recreational activities at the resort are wonderful. We look forward to recommending Windermere House to others and for our return visit.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are worth the price! Very enjoyable.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferye17, Guest Relations Manager at Windermere House Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Grace L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Windermere House. We are thrilled to hear you had such a great experience, and that you were able to enjoy all the dining outlets on the property. It's great you even had a chance to head out on the lake. Such a beautiful way to see the sights. I have forwarded your review to the General Manager of the resort as well as the Food & Beverage Manager so they are both aware of your positive experience.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Thank you again for your review, we'll see you soon!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windermere
4.5 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
18.7 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
6.2 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#28 of 56 in Muskoka District
259 reviews
21.0 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
260 reviews
19.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere House Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere House Resort & Hotel

Address: 2508 Windermere Road, Windermere, Ontario P0B 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Windermere
Price Range: £168 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windermere House Resort & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Lady of the Lake.” Windermere House Resort is an iconic landmark located on prestigious Lake Rosseau in Muskoka, Ontario, Canada. The country's oldest hotel, it has welcomed guests for over 140 years. Fine dining, boating, tennis, golf, spa services and five star service make Windermere House a preferred destination. New at Windermere House is The Cottages at Windermere, a private enclave of 6 three bedroom luxury fractional ownership cottages. Experience everything Muskoka has to offer in unsurpassed comfort. Luxuriate in plush pillowtop beds, indulge in sumptuous dining and relax amid plentiful, carefree recreation. We're here to spoil you. Offering family vacations, romantic getaways, golf packages, weddings and conferences facilities, Windermere House resort on Lake Rosseau offers the ideal backdrop for your Muskoka getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Windermere House Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere House Resort And Hotel
Windermere House Hotel Windermere
Windermere House Resort & Hotel Canada - Muskoka District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing