We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of a kind, world class!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Orres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gualala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Orres
Ranked #4 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of a kind, world class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Unforgettable experience with very unique E. European cultural settings. It's amazing how much love went to building this B&B. The quality of woodwork is breathtaking! The little onion topped houses are stunning in and out. Located on the water, surrounded by trees and pink flowers called "Naked Ladies" in the summer time!

Restaurant is the best and ready for a gourmet palate.

Hope to be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 121Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    27
    8
    7
    11
See reviews for
9
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
valley springs ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Our kids gave us a gift certificate for 2 nites and dinner at St Orres..My oldest son and wife stayed at ROSE COTTAGE 2 years ago, and they loved the view and the cottage...
The cottage was very, very nice..comfortable bed..beautiful view, comfortable small living area..my only complaint was being i have bad knees, it was hard for me to step over the bathtub for the shower..This cottage is not for older people, who are not very agile..We had dinner at the restaurant, which has a fixed price of $45.00 which includes soup, salad and entree..I ordered filet mignon, and it was delicious, seved with potatoes and assorted vegetables.My husband had the wild boar , and he said it was delicious too...Very gourmet and beautiful presentation...The grounds around our cottage are very nice, to walk around..We did that while waiting for our breakfast which was delivered in a wood box every morning at 8:30am..First morning we had, rice pudding, pumpkin bread, assorted fruits and granola cereal ..Second morning we had eggs, pumpkin bread, and assorted fruits, plus the granola cereal..It was delicious and a very generous portion...We really enjoyed our mini getaway, and would recommend this place to anyone..5 stars..Thank you to the friendly staff...Irene and Vic

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irina43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We recently spent the first night of a 4-day March road trip in Gualala and were delighted with everything and everyone at St. Orres. It had been a number of years since we had stayed there and we found it to be better than ever. St. Orres has always been a remarkably creative place, its design influenced by Fort Ross and ending up like something out of a Russian fairy tale. Previously, we had stayed in fun little rooms in the main inn building, but this time we stayed in the Tree House, a luxurious cottage in the woods. We had a truly magical time, whether sitting outside in various woodsy locations, watching the deer and the flowers and the sunset, or relaxing in our cottage, catching glimpses of the ocean, gazing into the fire and venturing outside again at night to look at the stars. Also, the meals we had were both excellent and the staff totally attentive and welcoming. For dinner, we chose not to have their prix-fixe menu; instead, it was very nice to have the option of ordering from their more moderately-priced pub menu and yet still be seated in their fabulously onion-domed dining room. The next morning, a delicious hot breakfast was delivered to our door. We felt that we were truly on vacation and were provided with every conceivable amenity to make our stay a total pleasure. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerryAndBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

In March we had an amazing overnight at St. Orres which had been recommended to us. We stayed in the Tree House cabin which had a view of the ocean, a fireplace and a little tasteful kitchen area. Double doors opened up to a great deck where we had sunset views and also ate our complementary yummy homemade breakfast and fresh squeezed juice which was delivered to our door in a cute wooden box! The grounds are beautiful, there is a secluded beach across the street, and there is a lovely restaurant and bar in the main hotel. The bar was sweet, had a fireplace and the patrons were repeat visitors celebrating an occasion or making an annual pilgrimage there. The meal was delicious and offered a la carte and prix fixe and a mice wine list. On top of it, it is pet friendly and everyone was really nice to our dog who had a great time sniffing deer tracks around the wooded surroundings. We got to chat with the founders who built the place and still run it lovingly. We felt well cared for there and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BayAreaKmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

My husband and I just returned from our two-night stay in the Pine Haven cottage at St. Orres. This was our first time to the area, and this hotel definitely contributed to the fun weekend we had.

First, we are grateful to St. Orres for being dog friendly. We enjoyed being greeted by the four St. Orres dogs when we checked in.

Pros:
A variety of cottages to choose from, some in the Russian design which was fun and interesting. There was a sense of privacy.
The St. Orres restaurant was wonderful, but very expensive, so be prepared
The very thoughtful and delicious breakfast was left at the cottage door (just a knock and away they went, you didn't have to let them in)
You can hear Sea Lions barking from the cottage
Loved seeing deer eating under the apple tree just after sunset and before sunrise
We loved walking the Bluff Trail starting at Gualala Point Regional Park, visiting Fort Ross, the Annapolis Winery, and the Sea Ranch Chapel.

Suggested improvements:
The lack of a TV was disappointing, but even worse was the lack of cellular service, or even Wi-Fi. So research everything before you go! We had to drive to Point Arena to connect to the internet which we use contantly
Our cottage needed to have the carpets cleaned, or better yet replaced with tile or hardwood floor
We didn't see any outside garbage can for the dog poop bag, but we left it by the front door and it was taken away when the cottage was cleaned

Thank you, St. Orres, we had a lovely time!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank PTown4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

If you want an escape and are looking for woods and peace and quiet, fresh air, yet you also want nice and clean accommodations, linen tables and a five star dining experience - this is the place!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diametryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stopped by on a stay in Gualala to book a table here and my husband went in to be greeted by a grumpy owner...looking into the dining room he spotted the owners dogs sat ON the laid up tables...needless to say we didn't book a table for a meal!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
10.5 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
23.6 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.4 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Orres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Orres

Property: St. Orres
Address: 36601 S Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445-8583
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
St. Orres Hotel Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing