We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Escape”
Reviewed 1 August 2008

This Inn was an amazing escape for my wife and I on our one year anniversary.

There is nothing quite like falling asleep to the waves crashing and the fire in he fireplace crackling. Then to be awoken by breakfast in the room and the scent of pines and eucalyptus filling the air on the patio overlooking the sea is incomparable. Not to mention the two person jacuzzi tub on the second floor of the suite!
All in all, it was a wonderful escape and everything and more of what we were looking for.

We hope to make the 2500 mile journey back sooner rather than later.
Check this place out!!!

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank mrbuss9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    39
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
17
119
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
FLORIDA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

After an extensive search for a cozy, romantic place to spend a few nights on the California Pacific coast, we hit the jackpot when we found the Whale Watch Inn. The Inn can best be described as a secluded, well kept, idyllic spot off the beaten path, high on a bluff overlooking the Pacific coast line.
The owner Kazie (a Japanese doll) welcomed us with a delicious glass of wine, showed us around the property and then directed us to our adorable suite called the Country French Room. It was the perfect setting: a comfortable bed on the lower level with a small terrace offering a beautiful view of the rugged coastline, and a spiral staircase to a cute living room with a great fire place.
Both mornings, we were served a delicious breakfast, brought directly to our room, exactly at the time requested. There is no television, but we were perfectly happy to spend our evenings cozying up in front of the fire. If you are looking for a place that offers comfort, peace and tranquility we highly recommend the Whale Watch Inn. We hope to be back during whale watching season.

  • Liked — Comfortable, clean, quiet
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WORLDWIDETRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiburon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2008

I have been to the Whale Watch Inn 3 times during the past year. I had such a great time last Saturday night, I thought I would write. Besides every room have a private deck , fireplace and it's own private view of the ocean, they do this Saturday night wine and cheese gathering in the one communcal room, call the Whale Room. It is huge with a kitchen and a big fireplace in the middle with couches, tables and chairs etc. This is where I always meet some of the nicest, most interesting couples and single people ever. Last weekend, they had local divers there that dove for fresh abalone, the owner sauteed and made sushi out of it. It was wonderful. They are always so accomodating. I would recommend this place to anyone, single or couples. Great to get away and destress, or to have the romantic weekend. Have done both, and loved it.

  • Liked — Each room is different, but all have beautiful ocean views, fireplaces and private decks
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiburonclg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2008

Could not have scheduled a more perfect time to visit than this one. Anniversary complete and back home we thought we should do something we do not usually do, and that's give kudoos in this way, for all to see who might venture here or are planing a course to the Southern Mendocina coastline. Whale watching was a complete sucess from out suite window, local restaraunts windows (2) , Point Arena, and general walking about. The Inn's staff was there when you wanted them and not when you wanted your privacy, and overall the room was clean, well designed, and cozy with those nice breakfasts served on schedule as well as excellently prepared by the owner Kazzie who let the cook have a week off. Gretchen who took care of the heavy lifting as the guardian of the front office and staff, gave us all the hints needed regarding the stay and surrounding area as well as good eats to be had locally and was spot on with any recomendations. All in all our brief interlude with this establishment was the best and would generously recomend it to any who might be reading this review and looking for the "best" place to stay in the area. Very happy campers here.

Well wishes to the Whale Watching crew and thanx for the great stay..........Mike and Terri Kilmer.

  • Liked — Privacy as wanted, views, coziness, and location to the overall area. Great Hot Tub and Whale watching location.
  • Disliked — For once I can not complain about anything.
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pointman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2008

Took a room on a whim many years back and thought about returning every since. Made it back this past weekend and found that while the shine is starting to tarnish the location and views are still magnificent. North coast at it's best.

A little more attention to detail (coffee/tea service) would be nice.

You can laugh till you hurt or feel your heart ache reading some of the journal entries from previous guests. A place to stay put and soak up your surroundings. Definitely going back.

Had two very good meals (lunch and dinner) in establishments (Meza Grill and Cove Azul) directly across the street from one another in Gulala.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank 6pac60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2007

In this couples-focused world, peace, quiet and comfort are also treasured by single travelers! I found The Whale Watch Inn to be a lovely, relaxing getaway where I felt warmly welcomed by owner Kazuko Popplewell and her marvelous staff. The location is stunning, my room was beautiful, and I may just make this a Christmas tradition. Thank you, Whale Watch Inn, for making my Holidays really special!

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbGBurlingame_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra foothills
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2007

Expected at least a strong three star rating for the price of over 300 for one night. I would rank it as a two star hotel.
As others stated rooms are outdated. Linoleum coming up in bath, shower needs caulking, patched paint in ceiling, chipped porcelain in sink, finish coming off "garage sale' quality dresser, cracked fireplace tile, paint coming off patio chairs etc. Not only room was a fixer, but common grounds and buildings are not being cared for. Breakfast was ok if you like pancakes.

Yes' it is a special spot if you are in a room away from Highway 1. The view is spectacular--Too bad "hotel" is not.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — fixer upper
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adiosamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
11.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
769 reviews
24.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
100 reviews
3.8 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
293 reviews
4.0 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#3 of 7 in Gualala
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Watch Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Watch Inn by the Sea

Property: Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Address: 35100 S Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445-9589
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whale Watch Inn by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a motto here at the Whale Watch Inn and it is to provide you with "World Class service in a World Class setting." With 18 beautifully decorated guest rooms each with a dynamic view of the ocean, our rooms also all include a private deck and wood burning fireplace/furnace. Also included with your stay is a full breakfast, either delivered right to your room or buffet style in the Whale Room. We are committed to making your stay an out of this world experience by accommodating your needs, and paying attention to the details. We hope you will join us soon. The ocean is waiting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Whale Watch Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale Watch Inn By The Sea Hotel Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing