We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute delight!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute delight!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Who wouldn't enjoy sea-front views, the sounds of crashing waves, a near-private beach cove to sneak away to and a fireplace to snuggle in front of? Oh, and it's right by Sonoma for fun day trips! The staff was fantastic and helpful, check-in was easy and the room was comfortable and exactly what was needed to unplug and relax by the sea in Northern California. Such an excellent find to make an annual tradition :)

Room Tip: Their website has pictures of each room at the inn, honestly all you have to do is choose which amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    39
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
17
119
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Lawn, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at WWI over the July 4th weekend. We stayed in the Cliffside room which was small but had a fantastic view. The room was very clean but a little worn. The throw pillows on the bed had seen better days. We kept the sliding glass door open at night and fell asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach below. No TV but the room did have a fireplace which we used each night. There was supposed to be WiFi but it never worked for us which really wasn't that big a deal. Our breakfast was served in the common room which we had personal access to in the morning. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very pleasant. Overall, the property could use an update. Evidently the property is under new ownership so it might be wise to give them a bit of time to spruce up the place a bit. However, the location is perfect and the view from our room was just awesome. Also, the journals in each room are priceless and provided great entertainment instead of watching TV.

Room Tip: Our room was Cliffside. The room was small but the view was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mailcommando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Helena, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at Sea Ranch the evening before, but as they were sold out, looked for a new location for our family of 3 children, 2 adults and 3 labrador retrievers (!) The Whale Watch Inn was delightful. Tracy was welcoming, oriented us into our more than gracious and spacious Golden Voyage Room and we had everything we needed. The private access to the perfect little beach was a great treat. Our family played all day in the unadulterated setting. The Whale Watch room served cheese and wine for an adult respite and all in all the entire stay was wonderful. Our breakfast in the am was on time, and delicious, accomodating all manner of tastes and ages. I highly recommend this coastal retreat!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BridgetandGan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maheshwar, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Returned to this beautifully located inn after 8 years. we stayed in a great room, but the view, once upon a time very open to the Pacific was much blocked by tree growth. The staff were non-existent so no homely feeling. there were no choices for breakfast, which only came at 8 o'clock. A dirty coffee cup stayed on the bathtub sill during our two night stay.
And $300+ I think was too much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rholkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Wow this place was beautiful. So quiet and so private. A little trouble checking in no one around the office when we first went in so we left to make our dinner reservations and the restaurant called the inn for us. All in all a very nice night away from the city

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank obliviot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We celebrated my husband bday here for 5 days with our 5 yo girl. We got a room with an awesome view of the beach. The room we got have kitchen, huge fridge, microwave and stove also a fireplace, no TV, but who needs TV if you want to stay away from chaos and a skylight bedroom. Wifi connection is slow but if you go to business or work room it is good enough. They have coffee, tea and wine also a room for the guests over 21 yo for happy hour with a huge fireplace over looking the ocean view. All I can say is excellent experienced, good service, clean room most of the the breakfast is fabulously delicious and healthy. I love and enjoy everything.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank juvylovepm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Enjoyed very much staying here. The view was great from Cliffside #17! Saw a few whales from the common room. They should probably trim down the bushes so the view is easier to see sitting down.

The breakfast is very good. The wi-fi worked great after the office router was reset.

The room was smaller than I expected but the view was better than I expected.

Wish I had more time to explore the beach. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
11.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
771 reviews
24.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
109 reviews
3.8 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#3 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
4.0 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Watch Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Watch Inn by the Sea

Property: Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Address: 35100 S Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445-9589
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whale Watch Inn by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a motto here at the Whale Watch Inn and it is to provide you with "World Class service in a World Class setting." With 18 beautifully decorated guest rooms each with a dynamic view of the ocean, our rooms also all include a private deck and wood burning fireplace/furnace. Also included with your stay is a full breakfast, either delivered right to your room or buffet style in the Whale Room. We are committed to making your stay an out of this world experience by accommodating your needs, and paying attention to the details. We hope you will join us soon. The ocean is waiting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Whale Watch Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale Watch Inn By The Sea Hotel Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing