We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners attention to detail and hospitality were four-star. From check-in to departure, we were like family.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2009

This is the very first b n' b who's owners actually were available and came to talk with you about your needs and your stay. Customer service at it's finest! Quiet little hideaway - excellent, caring staff. We can't wait to return! Our thanks to Kazie & Jim, Owners. Gratefully, Arabella & Adrian Alvarado

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2009

My husband and I and our daughter and her husband (from LA) stayed in Sea Bounty and Golden Voyage. I wish we'd had longer to stay. Kazie, the owner, welcomed us with 2 beautiful rooms. They were clean, spacious, fully equipped kitchen, fireplace w/wood, very comfortable beds and beautiful view of the ocean from the living room and bed room. It is so peaceful waking up to an ocean view and falling asleep to crackling fire. Breakfast was fantastic and served in our rooms! One morning we left early for a day of activities and the staff bagged muffins and fruit to take with us. That is great service. The rooms are large enough for a special gathering and we could have prepared meals in their kitchen. These two rooms are the only ones w/that feature. One evening Kazie hosted a reception for the guests serving a wide array of delicious appetizers and wine. The gathering was fun and welcoming. We bought sweatshirts which are made of good fabric and do not shrink, just in case you were thinking about buying one.

Every detail was taken care of, making our stay 5 stars. Thank you Kazie and Staff for a memorable time.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

After a stressful few weeks, decided to run away up the coast and stayed one night at the Whale Watch Inn on our way to Mendocino. Fantastic location - quiet, peaceful, wonderful views! Our room, Cypress, had a great view, loved listening to the waves, but had to unplug refrigerator in room at night to truly enjoy the sound. Lovely staff and great breakfast, accommodating dietary restrictions. There are so many great things going for this place, location, friendly and attentive staff, fireplace in room, but needs some updating and new towels and robes (ours were so frayed you didn't want to even put it on). Our bathroom also needed some updating. Had dinner in Anchor Bay, would suggest going into Gualala, or further if you want a great meal. All in all this was a great place to relax, just needs a little "tender loving care".

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Our room was fantastic, it was very romantic with a whirlpool tub for 2, a warm inviting fireplace, a beautiful view of the ocean, and the very best part was breakfast each morning deliver to our room. This place is sooooo fantastic I so would recommend this to every one I know. 5 plus stars....

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SimmyCastroValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2008

Marja and I always look forward to our regular visit to one of our most favorite places on the west coast "The Whale Watch Inn". Kazi and staff are so pleasant and accommodating. This B & B with it's secluded beach and just the sounds of nature, are just what God has intended for humans to learn to relax. How wonderful it is to be somewhat removed from all the worldly cares. So to renew the mind, body and soothe the nerves, you need to try this wonderful hide away.

Bill and Marja Rudge

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Bill-Marja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2008

We stayed in the Rose Room for our 38th Anniversary. I found the property to be clean and well maintained. The view from our room was fantastic. the 132 private steps lead down to a beautiful beach that we walked from one end to the other.

The breakfasts in our room was delicious. The fireplace added a lot to our stay.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We will definitely go again, and check out some of the other rooms. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to get away from all the hustle and bustle of life and reflect and rest in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dbtravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

If you need time to get away from the hectic work life, this is it. I took my wife here for a couple of days to spend alone, together, without cell phones, tv, or obligations. We had a great time enjoying each others company. We took day trips to the wine country, saw giant redwoods, & sea life. We built a nice cozy fire in our fireplace and had wine and cheese for dinner. September allowed us to drive highway 1 in a convertable, with the top down. It was a little cool in the mornings, but nice by afternoon. We would also recommend taking some of the back roads that cross to the west (be careful to ask which are safe for a car). I would not recommend this to someone who needs to be "entertained". But it's a must if you like quiet, peaceful solitude, and getting to know your partner!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimnCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
11.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
773 reviews
24.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
123 reviews
3.8 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#3 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
306 reviews
4.0 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale Watch Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Watch Inn by the Sea

Address: 35100 S Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445-9589
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range: £194 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whale Watch Inn by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a motto here at the Whale Watch Inn and it is to provide you with "World Class service in a World Class setting." With 18 beautifully decorated guest rooms each with a dynamic view of the ocean, our rooms also all include a private deck and wood burning fireplace/furnace. Also included with your stay is a full breakfast, either delivered right to your room or buffet style in the Whale Room. We are committed to making your stay an out of this world experience by accommodating your needs, and paying attention to the details. We hope you will join us soon. The ocean is waiting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Whale Watch Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale Watch Inn By The Sea Hotel Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing