We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Service in California”

Cove Azul Bar & Grill
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Gualala
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: (707) 884-1835
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worst Service in California”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

The food was acceptable but the service was terrible. Go to the restroom first, then you will not want to stay; even for a drink.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrankEPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    43
    34
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant venue with good views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This restaurant was recommended by the owner of our hotel and upon so informing the server, we received a complimentary glass of wine. The Cove Azul & Grill is plain, but has a good view from its perch on the second floor of a little retail complex. The food was good, but certainly not gourmet. I enjoyed the scampi with a well prepared side of seasonal vegetables. The restaurant was nearly full of patrons and still quiet enough for easy conversation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BSA1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“tasty and elegant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I liked the elegant restaurant, however next door bar and pool table were noisy and full of cheers...
We had a window table, overlooking the ocean, which added to our experience.
The food was very tasty, and they accommodated our special needs.
lunch menu is very reasonably priced, and the service was impeccable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Oh My!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Husband and I go to Gualala about twice a year for mini-vacations. Cove Azul was new to us and I could not have been more pleased. Before we ate later in the day, we visited the Cove Bar and looked over the menu. The locals were fantastic and made us feel welcome. Later, we returned for an early dinner. My husband had the seafood linguine and could not finish it! He's a big eater so you can figure out how much food was on the plate! Travelers, please try this wonderful place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luvsthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“eat here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Sunset over the ocean from our table was a definite plus. We had Tequila skewers and Seafood Scampi. Soup was great (clam chowder was excellent!!), salads were good, and the entrees were both Very Good. For a town the size of Gualala, we were very impressed, and the pricing was very reasonable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tr4par
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cove Azul Bar & Grill also viewed

Gualala, Mendocino County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 
Gualala, Mendocino County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 
Gualala, Mendocino County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 

Been to Cove Azul Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing