We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place in Gualala”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gualala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seacliff Motel on the Bluff
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gualala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We have gone here many times. We've tried a couple of other places in Solvang (one is out of business) but we like this one the best. We love the fireplace and jacuzzi tub in the rooms the best. The view outside any of the windows is very good. I love to listen to the waves at night, so I love being so close that I can fall to sleep listening to them. There is no breakfast, but for the price who cares. I love that we have a small fridge and microwave in the room too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

All we could ever wish for! Quiet, private room; spectacular view on the ocean at the mouth of the Gualala River. In-room jacuzzi, bathrobes, gas fireplace, Internet mid-week special, WiFi, microwave, refrigerator, etc.

Room Tip: 72 hour cancellation. You probably don't need reservations mid-week. Vacancies now in January...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fotobag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Just spent a long weekend at the Seacliff. The view from the room was amazing...the Gualala river crashing into the Pacific Ocean. Seagulls, pelicans, and harbor seals provided further entertainment. Our room had a large front window with matching recliners at the helm; kinda felt like captain's chairs :). The room is large and clean with fridge and microwave. Office managment was very friendly and helpful, and they had an adorable mascot Dudley, a labrador-poodle mix. Coffee pot is in the room but Trinks, across the parking lot makes a very nice latte. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask front desk, they will help you find the best room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We drove down the Mendocino Coast enjoying the beauty and looking for a place to stay for the night, when we ate at The Chowder House our waitress recommended The Seacliff! What a beautiful place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank HeidiB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

As I write this the ocean is breaking on the sandy beach just outside the large picture windows of my room at the Seacliff Hotel in Gualala. The sound of breaking waves will be a constant backdrop to your visit here.

The rooms at Seacliff are simply, but nicely, furnished (see pictures), and the facilities are clean and well maintained. Flat screen TVs have been installed in the rooms and a good wireless internet is available at no charge. Cell phone service is also now available in town.

A gas fireplace provides heat, and there is a deep Jacuzzi tub for soaking. Bubble bath is also provided! Binoculars and robes are provided, which are nice amenities as you relax, and do some whale watching.

With the recession, some cuts have been made. You used to have a choice of a bottle of champagne or sparkling cider; now it is just sparkling cider. Also, the soaps and shampoos are now smaller in size.

Restaurant choices in town are somewhat limited, and many places close at 8:00 PM, especially in the winter.

For a two-night (Friday & Saturday) stay I paid $355.00 (including taxes). This is for an upper floor room, which has a nice vaulted ceiling.

There is no food service in the hotel, but a local café (Trinks) is a very short walk away. That is a good place to go for breakfast.

The hotel is a quiet, peaceful, place and a great location for a restful or romantic getaway. What truly makes this hotel special are the incredible views out over the Pacific ocean.

This hotel is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smokeyham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We turned up on spec having eaten in Gualala and it had got dark. The place looked deserted. It seemed a bit pricey when we asked but decided to stay and were pleased we did. The rooms are huge and face straight onto the pacific. We then found out the room had a whirlpool, and a fake log fire. The whirlpool was great - only downside was that the whole room filled with chlorine smelling steam and took a while to clear. The log fire was a great idea but it didn't work. We then found a complimentary bottle of sparkling apple juice. Was great to sit out on the balcony and drink it - shame they had only provided cheap plastic chairs to sit on. The bed was very comfortable; unfortunately the TV looked to be 20 years old and the remote control didnt work properly.

There was only one other couple staying in the place the night we were there - surprising they don't drop their prices more and/or improve their marketing in the quiet periods to atract more customers........

One final thing - they didn't offer any breakfast. This was very unusual given the price charged and they fact they had a huge lobby that wasnt being used for anything.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ianjmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We stayed here one night on our way down the coast. The views from our room were amazing! The sun set over the Pacific was beautiful. The rooms were nice, with large windows overlooking the ocean. The whirlpool tub was a nice treat after the gorgeous sunset. The staff was friendly and courteous, offering numerous dinner options.
This hotel is a must if you are going to be in the Gualala area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hjk131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
8.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
785 reviews
21.3 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
141 reviews
22.1 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#1 of 7 in Gualala
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
95 reviews
3.7 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seacliff Motel on the Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seacliff Motel on the Bluff

Address: 39140 S Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445-9559
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gualala
Price Range: £82 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Seacliff On The Bluff Hotel Gualala
Seacliff On The Bluff Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing