We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short but wonderful stay”
Review of Breakers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gualala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Breakers Inn
Ranked #7 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 June 2014

we didn't originally plan on staying here but wanted to get closer to our final destination... they were wonderful - we stopped late and they still took the time to answer our questions and book a room for us. Super friendly and helpful, despite the time. The room was nice - a great view... and I wish we could've used the fireplace, which if we had time to sit with the balcony door open, we could've - but it would've been too hot for us. The bathroom was simple, but clean and nice and the jacuzzi tub would've been great for a relaxing night. The beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. We had to wake up early - before breakfast, but we were hopeful since we were close on time we might be able to grab something for the road. The door was locked so we dropped off the key and were going to head out, but we were asked if we needed anything and told to hang on, he was sure they could help. And sure enough, they let us get breakfast for the road. They went above and beyond to provide great customer service which made for a wonderful visit. Next time we're headed up hwy 1 - I would happily plan a longer visit here. Great views, great service, and nice rooms.

Room Tip: all rooms looked like they'd have great views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent our anniversary here at the end of April. We reserved two nights by calling the hotel and speaking with the manager, Kim. She was exceptionally friendly and willing to talk about each of the rooms, which are thematically based on a country, state or region. She convinced us to stay in the Germany room, which she said had just been updated.

When we arrived we were warmly greeted, and given our hotel key which was an actual key...not a keycard. We were pleasantly surprised by our room which was huge. It was very clean and had new carpet and tile. A bottle of Zinfandel was given to us with a nice happy anniversary note. The room also had other amenities such as a wet bar, refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, two person spa tub, fireplace and of course a wonderful deck with spectacular views or the Gualala river and the ocean. They provide a Duraflame log for each day of your stay.

The Germany room is located on the second of three floors in Building D, which appeared to be newer than the other buildings which were somewhat run down. The most annoying thing about this hotel is the noise created by someone walking across the room of the floor above you. In our case we had a 300 lb woman that liked to pace, so it was very annoying. If we had a 90 lb person with foam rubber slippers above us, it would have been more enjoyable.

The continental breakfast in the morning was basically unpalatable, but the good thing is there is a wonderful market right next door that has everything you need. I walked over there and got a fresh made breakfast burrito on the day we left. They also have an excellent wine/liquor selection and wholesome fresh meats and produce.

Overall, this hotel needs some work, but I am rating this high because our room was particularly nice, the price was right, and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: Building D is newer. The very top floor is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slowolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Our room had a great view of the ocean. The balcony put us right above the tides, though the chairs were dumpy.
The fireplace with a fake log was a plus as was the jacuzzi.
The service was so so.
We had a out of service smoke alarm and there are no sprinkler systems.
Not really breakfast, just coffee and some rolls to take to your room.
Off season prices were good.
So as we said - It was the View

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MassarelloFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February 2014. What a treat! Beautifully appointed rooms, fabulous ... I mean really fabulous... views of the Gualala River and the Pacific Ocean! We saw sea otters, hawks, seagulls, kayakers, etc. from our lovely deck. There is also a little walk that runs from one end of the town to the other along the ocean cliffs. The Front desk staff were so friendly and the little town of Gualala is really fun to explore. Stay here...you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watermusicdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Positives: ocean view at its best, large spacious room, private balconies, close to everything we wanted to do, jacuzzi tub, comfy bed. Negatives: hard to ignore the people walking around on the floor above, could use some deep cleaning on deck, new chairs needed on deck too. Gualala is an awesome location and this is a hotel meant to create a comfortable stay. The room was clean, spacious and we did want the jacuzzi tub! The young lady who checked us in was friendly and helpful. We stayed in Denmark and loved the ocean and river view that could be viewed from everywhere but the toilet! The place is clean, though it is not super fancy. You can request that the maids leave you amenities in a basket at your front door if you don't want them coming in when you stay more than one night. We liked that option! There is a small coffee maker, microwave, and refrigerator in the room as well as an extra wet bar sink. Good coffee and pretty simple continental breakfast in the morning. Nothing fancy just Costco muffins and bagels. Still nice that it was provided. The only flaw in staying in a lower room is if you are a light sleeper like me you may be bothered by the noise from the room above. I could hear the people above walking and they were up at 630am! We kayaked the Gualala River I highly recommend doing that. We also did the hike at the local park just south of the hotel. We got pizza right across the street and walked up to Trink's for some great coffee and cookies!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank joybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

In all fairness, the front desk is super friendly and very helpful. However, the photos of the rooms are a bit deceiving. The furniture is worn and don't expect to find a beach to relax on. If you are looking for a room to sit in where you can hear the ocean then you may be pleased here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jstark60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Unbelievable! The view from the balcon is truly breath taking. The river actually meets the ocean. The rooms are very nice and clean. Customer service is great! Now if u want be inspired step out onto the balcony on a moonless night and... brace yourself, now look up-

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muskiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
8.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
790 reviews
21.1 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
146 reviews
21.9 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
251 reviews
4.2 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#4 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Inn

Address: 39300 S Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445-9571
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range: £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT** The Breakers Inn has graciously greeted guests for fifteen years. Dramatic and ever changing ocean views provide a breathtaking backdrop for your stay. Offering twenty-eight individually decorated rooms built on a cliff overlooking the mouth of the Gualala River and the Pacific Ocean. Along one of the country's most storied roads, the Pacific Coast Highway. Custom designed with European elegance, the inn is enhanced with large private decks, whirlpool spas, fireplaces, radiant floor heat, fine furnishings and artwork, kingsized beds, wet bars, microwaves, refrigerators, television and DVD players, free wireless internet, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, beveled glass windows and copper roofs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing