We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little spot for visiting Gualala”
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Alamos, New Mexico, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quaint little spot for visiting Gualala”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I've been visiting Gualala regularly for 30 years or so - It's a small, relaxed, beautiful area. The Surf is a local icon and a nice place to lay your head while not exploring. Close proximity to Mendico, Point Arena, and plenty of other attractions.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric C, Owner at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words and yes we have been around, we just added two new decks and a fire pit that over looks the Pacific Ocean. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    82
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
36
127
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay! My fiancé and I were in town for only 1 night to check out the Mendocino/Gualala area. The price was extremely reasonable for everything we got out of it. We had a room on the far side from the ocean, and still felt right on the water. We could hear the water at night, and walk to the little trails above the ocean. There is no easy access to the water. There were little seating areas with ocean view, and signs for trails to follow. (walking, not hiking ). The rooms are small, but very clean and quaint. The building is dated, but they have done and are continuing to do, remodeling. The service was outstanding. When we asked for an extra blanket for our 70lb dog, they gave us one of their own. They have a hot, home cooked breakfast included in the morning. Orange juice, eggs, biscuits, pastries, coffee, sausage, gravy and even made everyone waffles. Friendly and knowledgeable of the area. The area itself is very remote, and we still felt that at the hotel. However, we had everything we needed across the street - grocery, video, roadhouse, etc. We were not expecting such a lovely little place for the price, not to mention pet friendly, breakfast included and great location as advertised! Thanks to the Surf Motel, we will be back the first chance we get!

Room Tip: There are ocean view rooms available. Unless you want the kitchenette, I wouldn't pay extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elinzabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric C, Owner at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
You have made my day, so many kind words. We are always open to your pets and love to provide for them a walking path with dogie bags. Our staff stands ready to help with all special request and the easy one too. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife & I stayed one night 4 January 2014.
We opted for one of the queen bed rooms with a full view of the ocean.

The room was clean and tidy but a tad small. There is a small room heater that did an amazing job of warming the room. The bathroom/shower/tub is of adequate size but in need of updating – still has a straight, rather than curved, shower curtain rod. The in ceiling exhaust fan did not work, but there is a window for ventilation and more views of the ocean. The Wifi worked and was fairly speedy.

My only real complaint was the queen bed. Although a standard queen size, the bed was topped by some type of ‘pillow top’ that might have been designed for a double bed. The effect was the edges of the bed were rounded off – essential making the bed about a foot more narrow in width, as one could not rest near the rounded edges.

The highlight of the Surf Motel is the breakfast. This buffet exceeded our expectations. In addition to waffles on request – made with a special batter, there were scrambled eggs, sausages, and sausage gravy for biscuits. Oatmeal and a dry cereal and a selection of baked sweets – perhaps baked on premises – bread and yogurt?

I can confirm the Surf Motel’s claim to “Your best travel dollar value on the North Coast.”

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric C, Owner at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Great comments, we have reconfigured that room and added new chairs with a side table. Value and Service is the corner stone of all that we do. Starting in May 1, 2014 we will start a High Tea with Wine. Come back for a Glass.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed one night in this motel, and the views over the sea were beautiful. The room was small, but clean and had everything you need. Main thing to stop it from getting 5*s was the breakfast. It was served in quite a small room and was a little too communal for my OCD.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric C, Owner at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Home run on the remarks, we added more seating outside and more view options while eating breakfast. Thank so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

What a great motel! We happened upon this spot while on route from Chilliwack B.C. to Santa Cruz California. We had stopped elsewhere to find a room on the beach that would be acceptable of our dog spending the night as well. There were five other couples with their dogs as well. The other motels in town wouldn't allow dogs so.... The room was great, the breakfast in the morning was a nice touch and falling asleep to the sound of waves crashing was perfect. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: They accept dogs- and have a nice dog walking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 766Monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric C, Owner at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
How can we say, Thank you for taking a chance, while we are not that "Branded cookie cuter inn we try to keep up with all that they do. We have just added Kureg coffee makers to all guest rooms and will start serving a High Tea with Complimentary wine and crackers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willits, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Driving on Hwy 1, I Was very tired when I pulled into the Surf Motel in Gualala at 8:00 p.m.. I was met with a friendly smile from the owner. I got a room with an ocean view for a great price and slept very well. No Hwy noise at all! The FULL breakfast was great and the whole experience reminded me that I don't need to stay in a name brand motel to get great quality at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a view of the ocean. Wow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hwy101Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric C, Owner at Surf Motel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
I remember you, so kind of you to write this down for others. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cordes Lakes, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

The wife and I were on a 2 week motorcycle trip from Arizona and we had gone up through Nevada and then up to the California and Oregon border. We were heading down the coast and it was getting dark and a little foggy. As we were driving into Gualala my wife saw the Surf Motel and I turned around and went back to get a room for the night. After checking in and unloading the bags from our bike we opened the door to our room and were completely amazed. The room was absolutely gorgeous. The next morning I went out to check on the bike and the views were amazing. I met and older gentleman who asked how I liked our room and he informed me that his granddaughter and her husband were the managers. I couldn't believe that we were right on the ocean. The breakfast that they served in the morning for their guests was over the top. We are already planning on going back next year and bringing some friends with us. I would highly recommend this establishment to anyone. Two thumbs up!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Azriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
8.1 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
771 reviews
21.2 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
109 reviews
22.0 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
91 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
301 reviews
3.8 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Property: Surf Motel
Address: 39170 S Highway 1, P.O. Box 695, Gualala, CA 95445-9559
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Motel was the first lodging facility in Gualala on the Ocean built in 1965, it has seen upgrades over the years to include 3 full ocean view rooms and 1 suite; 5 rooms have full kitchen. The inn was redone in 2008 when bought by new owners and now serves a full hot breakfast each morning. Free Wifi and parking are your to enjoy. Office is open from 8:30am until sunset. 24 hour phone service and night service is avalible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel Gualala
Surf Hotel Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing