We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay and Breakfast”
Review of Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Staff was excellent ,very professional, and friendly. We had a great breakfast in the morning . Views are amazing. We enjoyed our stay and we'll come back

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janene_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Surf Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2010

We spent a night at the Surf Motel and enjoyed it. Prices for the rooms were fair, the place was clean, the beds nice and comfortable, the rooms had microwaves, stoves, fridge, silverware, plates, pots, etc.
The view from the walkway along the back of the motel is quite awesome...is where the river meets the sea. Lots of interesting shore birds in the lagoon.
The staff is friendly, the free breakfast pretty good.
All in all, the Surf Motel was fine.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomogren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

You get what you pay for, and with the Surf Inn, you get a small, clean room, with a decent breakfast thrown in for good measure (mixture of cooked and continental). The location is easy - right on Highway 1, which makes it a good base for exploring the sights north and south of Gualala. The views from the edge of the property (which overlooks the ocean) were probably spectacular had it not been for the thick cloud which was all along the coast when we were there... As a previous reviewer has said, all you need here is somewhere to rest your head at night - the natural beauty around you is the star attraction.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shep10910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

This motel was a great place to stay and a fabulous price for being right on the ocean. As another reviewer said, the rooms are small, but they are very tastefully decorated in mission style with lovely soft colors. And, the size is more than adequate. There is too much beautiful nature/ocean in the surrounding area to spend more than 'sleeping time' in the room anyway! The room looked just as the picture and the bed was very comfortable, complete with an old fashioned feather bed. The young woman at the desk was helpful, friendly and very kind. They offer a full complimentary hot breakfast that was fresh and tasty. They also welcomed my pets with whom I was traveling. I found my stay to be very pleasant, just what I hoped for and will definitely keep them in mind when traveling in this area again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank womynspeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

A friend and I were on a motorcycle trip and the place caught our eye. Although it was fairly booked with local area highway workers, the owner, Eric, went out of his way and put us in the corner suite. Although it had only one queen bed, even the roll-away had a pillow top cover! Eric filled us in with the local color, where to eat, stroll around to, etc., and his enthusiasm for the town was a delight. Our bikes had towels laid on them the next morning to boot. And yes, there's the homemade breakfast to say nothing of the great views! Will be staying here on our next trip!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Rooms a bit small but sea view, walking area, common patio, everything fresh with extra amenities in room. Reception was poor, the manager has an underlying attitude that lead me to believe she did not really like her job. For example, when I checked in I indicated that we would use mastercard to hold the room but I would pay with travelers checks the next morning, when I checked out I was told the transaction had been processed and that was what we had agreed to.... Not a big deal but poorly handled.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

The ocean view rooms are great. Amazing--huge, with all the goodies and a killer view. Everything is nicely taken car of here, though there's a distribution center next door that made noise in the morning. But forget that. You'll love this place. The breakfast is one of the best anywhere--homemade biscuits and gravy, an amazing waffle (don't let her leave it in the iron too long, though, or you'll be eating it a bit burnt), eggs, the works.

This is definitely a great choice.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglandScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
8.2 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
773 reviews
21.2 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
122 reviews
22.0 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
92 reviews
14.0 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
305 reviews
3.8 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Motel

Address: 39170 S Highway 1, P.O. Box 695, Gualala, CA 95445-9559
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range: £98 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surf Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Motel was the first lodging facility in Gualala on the Ocean built in 1965, it has seen upgrades over the years to include 3 full ocean view rooms and 1 suite; 5 rooms have full kitchen. The inn was redone in 2008 when bought by new owners and now serves a full hot breakfast each morning. Free Wifi and parking are your to enjoy. Office is open from 8:30am until sunset. 24 hour phone service and night service is avalible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Motel Gualala
Surf Hotel Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing