We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Orres

St. Orres
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Gualala
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Fascinating building on Hwy 1 with an interesting history. Ambiance was fun, food was good. Follow the lead of the locals and eat from the bar menu for a less expensive outing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    51
    21
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“St. Orres”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Beautiful and quiet. We saw families of deer walking around the grounds. Just down the street, there is a hike through a forest down to a beach. Very nice.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 8Traveling_withpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Overpriced food, waiter with dirty fingernails”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The food was ordinary, but overpriced. When you pay $45 - $50 for an entree (even including soup and salad), you expect something special. My wild boar chops were dry and chewy. The service was below par and the server had visibly dirty fingernails. Yuck.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Schunhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We had a very pleasant dinner here while visiting the area. The ambience was relaxed, the staff were friendly and the food was yummy (halibut for me and pleasant for my husband). The creme caramel was fabulous! We plan to go back and try the bar area and its menu.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank newtowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I know now why this is my in-laws' (who are lucky enough to be locals) favorite restaurant: bartender/server Lupe and amazing food. We started with Lupe's special basil martini -- which you have to experience to appreciate -- and then enjoyed braised lamb shanks with lentils, and fresh mushroom ravioli ... surrounded by the cozy bar ambiance, the energetic personality of Lupe, and occasions visits by the chef. Five stars!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheri888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Orres also viewed

Gualala, Mendocino County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 
Gualala, Mendocino County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 
Gualala, Mendocino County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 

Been to St. Orres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing