We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, good food!”
Review of Bones Roadhouse - CLOSED

Bones Roadhouse
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun place, good food!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

If you like meat and beer plus a pretty view with outside seating this place is for you!! We were unfamiliar with Gualala and arrived at motel in the evening. Bones was an easy find and was well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wahini42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    121
    54
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dem tasty bones!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

So finger-licking good, we ate here twice in a 4 day stretch in the area! Between us, we tried all of the house specialties: ribs, barbeque, burgers, sausages, beans, mac-and-cheese, and beer! GO forth and be fulfilled!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Its where the locals go”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Its always a good thing if the locals hang out there. The clam chowder was off the hook !!!!~ We had awesome service from the bartender, wish I had got her name. If were ever in the area again we will stop there again for sure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb-Jon06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
1,049 reviews
483 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,666 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and view”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Don't let the outside of the place deter you - it's a lot nicer inside :-)

We were a little leery since it was deserted inside when we arrived. Turns out we were just a tad early for the lunch crowd as by the time we left the restaurant was full.

We had a great experience here for lunch!

Service was excellent. Our gal (wish I'd gotten her name) was efficient yet friendly and relaxed. She and my husband had a discussion about hard cider, and he opted for one we'd never heard of. She said the name, but we couldn't make sense of it. When she brought it, we realized why - it's called "Cidre", pronounced 'see-draw', French for "cider" LOL! It was good, fresh and crisp.

As for our food, I ordered a pulled pork sandwich. I have eaten pulled pork in lots of restaurants in several states and this sandwich was one of the very BEST I'd ever had! My husband had the Tri-Tip sandwich and he said it was *delicious*. Both sandwiches were large with a lot of meat.

They smoke everything right here in the massive smoker outside, and whoever does the smoking starts with good quality meat and really knows what they are doing. The meat was sooooo tender!

My side was macaroni and cheese which was outstanding, very cheesy. The sandwich was large enough that I got full and saved most of the mac & cheese to take home. It was just as good the next day. My husband's side was the beans, which he said was okay.

This place isn't cheap, but it's not outrageously priced. The sandwiches were $12 each, which includes one side plus potato chips. Their menu is huge, by the way, with all kinds of food.

It was a grey rainy day so the view was less impressive than I'm sure it is on a clear day, but it was nonetheless very nice.

We're glad we ate here and if we're ever again in this area, we'll stop by again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great service but just ok food”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The BBQ was ok but nothing special. The service was fast and friendly and the roadhouse them was really cute. GREAT VIEW!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bones Roadhouse also viewed

Gualala, Mendocino County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 
Gualala, Mendocino County
 
Gualala, Mendocino County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing