We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gualala Country Inn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gualala Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gualala Country Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Vancouver, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gualala Country Inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The staff were friendly, the location was nice, and for the area apparantly the price was comparable. We paid about $150 for a friday night. The room was cutesy especally if you like collectables. I enjoyed chatting with both owners. We did not stay for breakfast.

I would not stay here again, there was no table to sit at and there was no dresser. Every surface had something on it so there was no place to put luggage or laptop except the one stand or the floor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    32
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
43
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a quaint, small hotel along a beautiful part of the Pacific Coast highway. Staff was friendly, and the rooms were decent, though not luxurious. The hotel offers a continenal breakfast in the office area, which is basic, but good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here while road tripping up the coast of California. The room was clean, though a bit dusty. The decorations were interesting..our room had a teddy bear theme. As others have mentioned the breakfast was pretty basic, but I was satisfied with a couple packs of oatmeal. The staff was friendly, the room comfortable. They are pet friendly which is a plus. Probably wouldn't stay again. but no complaints about the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamTK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
218 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We just stopped in without any reservations. They had a very nice room upstairs with a partial view of he ocean, but since it was foggy it did not really matter. Room was comfortable, clean and had fireplace for heat. Breakfast was continental but it was very good and it was enough. We had a pleasant conversation with other guests and the owner. It was a very pleasant experience although a little on the expensive side.

Room Tip: Get one upstairs away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XK140NUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I would not recommend this hotel for the price you pay. It's not a bad hotel, it's just that the price/quality balance isn't right according to me.
Examples: dirty windows (so unable to enjoy the ocean-view room), old and old-fashioned bathroom (I wouldn't care if the price had been lower..) and a very poor breakfast. We only had a cup of coffee (out of a paper can!). The rest was something like muffins and appels.
And there was no bar or restaurant at the hotel. We went to Shoreline Restaurant which is across the 'street' (Highway 1). That was very good though.
No other facilities that could bring the price up.
A good point is that they allow pets. We like it when hotels do that.

Room Tip: Try the Breakers Inn hotel to sleep in. It goes together with Shoreline restaurant. And there are mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike B, Owner at Gualala Country Inn, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations. Our advertising says Continental Breakfast, not hot, cooked breakfast. Even then, it includes boiled eggs, yogurt, muffins, croissants, bagels and cream cheese, whole grain bread, orange juice, apples, oranges, bananas and oatmeal. We do put the breakfast away at 10am. You may have come in after 10 when there is only fruit, coffee and tea. We have our breakfast hours posted in the room and we review them with you at the time of check-in.

It was a big surprise to us, when you said you went to Shoreline restaurant for breakfast, because they do not serve breakfast, except for catered events.

As for price, I wonder if your room was booked with an online booking agent. They are paid by commission. We have no control which price tier you or they choose on their websites. We have been told, this October, that this property is the best priced lodging in Gualala, especially if you called and booked directly with us.

The inn that you recommended is more expensive than we are. Since price seemed to be your main complaint, this surprises us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Yard Sale Chic (in the best way possible)-- eclectic decorations definitely remind you that you aren't at your standard Holiday Inn. The man at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Clean room with comfortable bed. Breakfast consisted of stale pastries; however, there's a grocery store next door and across the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BetsyRay101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spent one lovely night at the Gualala Country Inn after a change in travel plans. We were in an ocean view room, but what that means is that it faced the ocean and there was a highway and river inlet between the inn and the ocean. The room was decorated very nicely and had a fireplace, although we didn't need it in July. The bed was very comfortable and I felt like a princess using the stool to get up into the bed. The room is a little odd, in that the refrigerator and microwave is in the bathroom right beside the tub. The walls seemed to be a little thin as we could hear "discussions" nearby. Breakfast was good and was provided in a common area that was decorated nicely. Overall nice experience but expensive. I suppose in a town the size of Gualala the innkeepers can charge a high price.

Room Tip: If I were to stay again I wouldn't get the "ocean view" room. It was expensive and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoRAD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
7.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
21.0 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
21.8 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
4.0 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
14.2 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gualala Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gualala Country Inn

Property: Gualala Country Inn
Address: 47975 Center St, Gualala, CA 95445-7538
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gualala Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gualala Country Inn is situated on the Mendocino coastline, overlooking the Pacific Ocean, the Gualala River and the beach. Accommodations have either a Pacific Ocean and/or Gualala River views. The parlor & ocean view rooms offer an excellent vantage point to watch the fall and spring migration of the California Gray Whales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gualala Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gualala Country Hotel Gualala
Country Inn Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing