We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Gualala, will be staying here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gualala Country Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Stayed here on a Saturday night, everything was great. Had a large room with a comfortable bed, and we were traveling with our dog so we needed a place where he was welcome. He liked the fireplace and slept on the floor right in front of it. I always take him for a walk in the morning and behind the property was a road going up into the forest so we walked up there and checked things out, not really sure if I was supposed to be up there, but it was a great view. The only thing negative was the lobby wasn't open when I checked around 7 am, but I came back by around 8 something and the breakfast was all prepared. It wasn't a big deal and I have no idea what time they usually open. The staff was very friendly and offered us a free soda when we checked in. Definitely check out the Road House restaurant across the street... awesome food!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hotel_bidniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2008

nice place very clean and great homey feel.had a decent view of the river/ocean.
gas fireplaces in all the rooms i think.
cont breakfast was great quality stuff.muffins fruit bagels etc.
free sodas upon check in.
had a great stay and the owner is super nice.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotwng1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We found the Gualala Country Inn by chance. Our vacation/honeymoon was based on driving Hwy. 101. When we reached the coast, after visiting Napa Valley, we arrived in Gualala. The room had an awesome view of the ocean and a fireplace. The extra touches to the room gave the feel of a bed and breakfast versus a chain hotel. The continental breakfast was a perfect way to start the day. The breakfast is set-up in the "living room area" and gave us a chance to talk with other guests who gave us some tips on what to see on our drive north. Would definately recommend this inn to anyone who prefers the ambiance of a bed and breakfast. If we're ever fortunate enough to travel to this area again I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lablack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

This is a very nice inn! My girlfriend and I stayed in the Horizon Room, and were very pleased. The side of the room facing the water is almost all windows, and it has some great views. Waking up to the view of the river, ocean and beach was very special. You can't beat the view!

The proprietors were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was a little weak, however. There was some fruit, muffins and croissants, and not much else. The coffee was not very good, either. But this is a minor quibble. We really liked this place!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CharlieTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2008

We didn't have reservations (and they would be advisable because we just lucked out at this time of year) but stopped in and found they they were pet friendly and would allow our dog in the room for a reasonable $10 fee. The office staff is very helpful and friendly and gave us a great suggestion for dinner, but that's another review.

The room was comfortable and tastfully decorated with antique furniture. The view was spectacular even though the motel is located on the east side of the highway. The continental breakfast they serve in the mornings was nice and the coffee is great.

For the price, we truly enjoyed our stay and can highly recommend this place, especially if you are traveling with a pet.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rlucas50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2007

This was a nice comfortable hotel in the city of Gualala. We booked late and could not get into the more popular Sea Ranch Lodge, but we were very pleased with our choice.

It's really more of a motel than a hotel, but it had a nice parlor to sit and have continental breakfast or afternoon tea.

The property is close to everything, but then again, Gualala is a small town so everything is close. Access to the beach and state park is just down the road.

The room was spacious and included two queen beds, and room to spread out. The bathroom was also of a good size.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bsmithy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2006

We stayed at the Gualala Country Inn for our 2nd anniversary. I was hesitant because I did not see any reviews of it anywhere! It was a nice inn, and the owner was very helpful. We reserved the Sunset room, and it was very nice. The choice of decor was a little too bright and cheery for me, but it was clean. The only real problem was the water was not working properly in the jacuzzi. The owner let us move to the Surf room for the 2nd night. The decor was more romantic, but the carpet was outdated and the wall was cracked where the door opens. The jacuzzi was great and quite large, and you could see the ocean from across the room while sitting in it. Although the fireplace was gas, I thought it added a nice romantic touch. They provide bath robes and free sodas. The breakfast was pretty bad...just some store bought muffins and bagels. The inn is on the opposite side of highway 1, so if there is a lot of traffic, you can't hear the ocean. I think that for the price, if the jacuzzi tub is working, the Sunset room is well worth the money.

4  Thank kb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
7.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
790 reviews
21 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#1 of 7 in Gualala
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#4 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
316 reviews
4 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gualala Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gualala Country Inn

Address: 47975 Center St, Gualala, CA 95445-7538
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range: £113 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gualala Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gualala Country Inn is situated on the Mendocino coastline, overlooking the Pacific Ocean, the Gualala River and the beach. Accommodations have either a Pacific Ocean and/or Gualala River views. The parlor & ocean view rooms offer an excellent vantage point to watch the fall and spring migration of the California Gray Whales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Gualala Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gualala Country Hotel Gualala
Country Inn Gualala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing