We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, quiet and homey!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Coast Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Coast Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Gualala B&B and Inns
Colfax, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous, quiet and homey!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

My wife and I had a great visit at this B&B. Phil makes you feel very welcome and the Southwind room was warm and inviting. The bed was so comfortable, we could have stayed in it all day. The ocean sounds rocked us to sleep at night, and the view at night with all the stars, and in the morning with the sun, were wonderful. We had breakfast at 9:00 a.m.every morning, and you couldn't ask for a better selection of hearty food to start your day. Phil was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and informative about the day trips we might want to take. He also told us where the best clam chowder and the best bakery were located, but we won't say...so you'll have to ask Phil when you visit NCCI.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphCarpenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
58
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

This is a very nice and very reasonably priced B & B on the Mendocino Coast of California. The room was very nice -- comfortable bed, a desk, two arm chairs in front of a fireplace. Clean modern bathroom with a full shower. Kitchen sink and refrigerator.

The B & B consists of six different room built into a hill side. The rooms get nicer and more expensive as you move up the hill. There is gazebo with chairs and a table in a meadow at the top of the hill.

The innkeeper was very helpful and gracious. He really went above and beyond to insure our extended weekend.

Room Tip: The rooms at the bottom of the hill are closer to the road. This is not a big problem, but I think n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank will in sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We felt very welcome and well-cared for at the North Coast Country Inn. The rooms were spacious and came with all the bells and whistles. The breakfast was pleasant and well prepared, although not huge. What we missed were ocean views. The breakfast room, which was did not have much window space at all. Trees blocked the view of the ocean from the rooms our party occupied. We could hear the surf and the seals, though, and the grounds were delightful.

Room Tip: This place comes with plenty of steps. Do not stay here if you have major mobility problems, Some r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

My husband and I planned a brief get-away on the coast and wisely selected this awesome inn. Our room was cozy, with a gas fireplace and a killer ocean view. Waiting for us was a small bottle of local wine, some chocolates, and a well-stocked coffee station. While we could have easily hunkered down in the room with some wine and reading materials, Sandy graciously directed us to the perfect beach destination where we spent the day walking the beach, picking through driftwood, and picnicking. We began each of our 2 mornings with a deliciously-prepared and generous breakfast, and Sandy made recommendations for lunch and dinner destinations. We were especially thrilled to discover that the inn was pet-friendly, and on our return trip,we plan to definitely bring our dog. Both Sandy and her inn were warm and welcoming, and we would highly recommend this destination for anyone looking to get away from the rat race and soak up some coastal ambiance.

coastal character.

Room Tip: For the best views, select one of the two rooms at the uppermost section of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

My husband and I spent one night at the North Coast Country Inn this summer and it was WONDERFUL! Sandy is a gracious and thoughtful host. We stayed in the Sea Urchin room and found it to be immaculate, well appointed and charming without being kitschy. The breakfast was absolutely delicious! We highly recommend this lovely inn and look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

My fiancee and I stayed here for the weekend when we were in the area looking at wedding venues. We brought our 60 lb high-energy dog. The room (Sea Urchin) was lovely - big, clean, amenities were great (working kitchenette, heaters in main room and bathroom, fireplace), lovely wraparound deck from which we could see the ocean, sea lions barking in the distance. Many unique furnishings, decorations and books, magazines left to make us feel at home. Bottle of wine greeted us upon arrival. The inn itself (grounds) is really lovely, with beautiful gardens. Excellent breakfast. But the best part of the stay was Sandy, the innkeeper. She was SO nice and friendly (and not only put up with our bit-too-friendly pup, but adored him), went out of her way to make us feel at home, gave us tips on where to go for great local beaches and other places our dog could run and swim, and was just so kind. Plus, I had to reschedule our stay not once but twice prior to it, and she was nothing but accommodating.

We highly recommend the North Coast Country Inn!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexisBuyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We spent two nights at NCCI on our vacation - it was a WONDERFUL place to celebrate my birthday and just relax. The breakfasts were outstanding; Sandy was very helpful with tips on places to visit; the Southwind room was gorgeous and had a view of the Pacific ocean across the way and between the tree tops. The setting is very peaceful and calming. It was a lovely stay in the middle of a lot of driving from San Francisco to Oregon. I highly recommend NCCI - if we are ever that way again, you can be sure we will book it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baritone09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gualala
12.0 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
3.9 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
10.1 mi away
Coast Guard House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Coast Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Coast Country Inn

Property: North Coast Country Inn
Address: 34591 S Highway 1, Gualala, CA 95445-9574
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Gualala
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Gualala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — North Coast Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your North Coast Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Gualala
Gualala Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing