We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Woods Resort at the Russian River
Ranked #8 of 12 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2009

My boyfriend and two of my friends stayed at the bunkhouses. The owner is very nice and the garden is fantastic. However, when we got to our rooms, we were disappointed. The sheet has some unknown stains and they room service actually got my friend's t-shirt dirty. My boyfriend and i kept bumped into the TV-rack since it is placed so low. When i found out we were charged more than quoted. I asked the front desk, the lady just said she didn't do the quote and expressed no willingness to honor the quote price. The pool is not heated --freezing and it is such a disappointment that the resort has no jacuzzi. It will be wonderful to jump into one at night.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA_YoWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2009

As a regular guest of the Woods Resort in Guerneville, Ca, I must take exception the recent negative review of the Woods. I have been staying at the Woods for a few times a month over the last 3 years and I have always had a beautiful, clean and cozy room. I have stayed in every room at one time or another and have never seen any dust, water stains or any other problem. The grounds are lovely, the pool is always clean and cool and the owners are very attentive and friendly. The location is quiet but close to restaurants, bars and shops. I couldn't believe it when I read this negative review. I have always had a great experience at the Woods Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonomapatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Just returned from LazyBear and must say a huge “thank you” to Michael and Verna (the owners) for once again providing us with a phenomenal time in a wonderful space. While LazyBear is pretty much a huge party, Michael manages to keep the pool and grounds looking spectacular in spite of the crowd. Our room included a small kitchen complete with full size refrigerator which was sparkling and a nice stove. If you know anything about Guerneville and are looking for a clean, laid-back place to stay with no attitude, this is that place!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Alphabearz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

We just returned for our seventh year at the Woods for Lazy Bear Weekend.
The grounds are magnificent, the owner Michael, takes fastidious care of the pool and has an amazing green thumb for the garden and plantings onsite. The rooms and cabins have various amenities including full kitchen and fireplace in many and DVD player and free WiFi for all.
The pool area is clothing optional.
Michael and his mother Verna will take good care of you.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkBearSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

A friend told me he stayed here a couple of years ago and it was good. They lost my reservation, gave me a dirty room. There was hair in the sink, the toilet was dirty and there was spots on the sheets.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garth417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrwoods, Owner at The Woods Resort at the Russian River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2009

Our goal is to provide the best experience possible, it is always best if you have any concerns to come to the management on duty to resolve any issue during your stay. We take pride in providing clean rooms in excellent condition. If you would like to contact us directly to identify your stay it will help us ensure we review with our staff your issues so that they won't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

Kind and friendly hosts. We stayed in 2 cabins. The rooms are nice, but not very well insulated. Gets hot and cold very fast! -and we didn't get the bargain we had booked and discussed on the phone. We wanted a big cabin for 4 people and got two. This put an additional $75 + tax on the bill. - even though the bigger cabin was free all the time!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GoggenBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2008

This is one of the gay resorts in Guerneville. It has an old hotel/lodge kind of feeling in some ways. There's a big lovely pool which isn't heated (atleast in winter, i guess) and it's clothing optional.

The room we had was nice, a 2 bedroom suite which was newly renovated or built. It had a small kitchen area with only microwave for cooking, fridge, some kitchenware.

The bed in the front room was a king and the separate back bedroom had a full or queen. There are two bathrooms which were both new and had skylights. The suite looked out into the pool area (most rooms there do, as they are built around the pool) so it would be nice in summer when the hot men are hanging out by the pool.

The resort offered coffee in the morning, we usually went to the Coffee Bazaar for their very good coffee and espresso drinks and a light breakfast.

I liked Guerneville a lot, a quiet town in the off season. On the weekend there were a few more people. The Russian River Resort down the street has a bar and restaurant and it can be pretty busy at times. I'd say from what i saw that the rooms at RRR aren't as nice.

The real attraction to that area is the Russian River wine area of course and Guerneville is pretty well situated for that. It's a 15 minute drive to the heart of Russian River, maybe a 1/2 hour drive into Healdsburg, the capital of the Russian River wine area. Good restaurants abound. And great wine.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BigGuyUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
13 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,667 reviews
12.2 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
528 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 12 in Guerneville
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#10 of 12 in Guerneville
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#1 of 12 in Guerneville
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woods Resort at the Russian River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woods Resort at the Russian River

Address: 16484 4th St, Guerneville, CA 95446
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: £156 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Woods Resort at the Russian River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woods Resort is the perfect answer for a relaxing, rejuvenating and (perhaps) slightly "spirited" escape to the Russian River. The Woods, centrally located in downtown Guerneville, is situated between the tall, swaying redwood trees and the hypnotic flow of the splendid Russian River for the ideal getaway.Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, dancing and live entertainment, The Woods Resort sits in a quiet corner bend of Fifes Creek. The serenity of the grounds will enchant and lull you, with rooms and suites outfitted with the highest quality amenities.The Woods Resort offers cottages, free-standing guest cabins and multi-room suites with full kitchens, gas fireplaces, private balconies and stunning views of lush redwood forests. The resort has one of the largest swimming pools in the area, has full sun all day long. With an outdoor fireplace, stone fountains and romantically lighted landscaping, your stay at The Woods is guaranteed to make you forget the chaos of the real world.Your hosts, Michael and Verna, are veterans of the local customer service industry with a familiarity of all the area has to offer in the way of recreation, adventure, wine tasting, dining, spa treatments and entertainment. They are happy to help you plan an exciting, memorable stay at the Russian River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Woods Resort at the Russian River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woods Resort At The Russian River Hotel Guerneville
The Woods Resort At The Russian River Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing