We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay, friendly vibe.”
Review of boon hotel & spa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guerneville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
boon hotel & spa
Ranked #7 of 12 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at boon for a little baby moon weekend getaway. We brought our dog and were made to feel so welcome. Staying at Boon felt like staying at a friend's because the pool was such a "hangout spot" complete with a help yourself honor bar and great tree and garden views. We loved it, the service and pool were highlights. I only wish they had a poolside wine and cheese happy hour to go along with the great evening pool lounging and drinking.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzy_SanJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

Pros
+ very clean
+ very friendly and helpful staff
+ thoughtful in-room amenities like wine corks, board for cheese and crackers, etc
+ comfortable bed & cute decor
+ very reasonable in-room bar prices, cute honor bar at pool
+ nice pool area
+ free breakfast included
+ nice bath products
Considerations
- No AC. Probably not an issue on most weekends, but it sort of felt like for $250/night there should be AC.
- There was no couch or coffee table in the room. Would be nice to have a place to put things/sit and relax. Other decor of the room was nice and fashionable.
- deck in the front of the room is shared. They have grown bushes to try and shield you from foot traffic of other guests, but it is still a small motel so fairly close together. Not a bad thing - just depends on what you are looking for. Noise from other guests was not a problem at all, and the place still had a quiet, relaxing feel.

It's a long walk to town and I wouldn't want to do it in the dark. But the benefit of this is that you are out of the fray. Close to the road but this didn't bother us (and we're pretty sensitive) - not much traffic at night.

Overall pleasant stay. We were here for a wedding so we didn't spend a ton of time in the room/at the resort, and it was just what we needed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SFCA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed one night there recently and really like the setting and the set up of the hotel.......the place is clean and has a modern style. The pool area and rooms seem well designed and simple.... I was able to get one night by calling when the online reservations would only allow a 2 night min.
We checked in late (after 6pm) and the reservation area is closed but they called us and the key was in our room. The room was #13 and was closest to the road where you would hear road noise .... the bet was comfortable and the room had a small modern fireplace which was a nice addition.

There was a nice "honor" bar near the pool which had great priced drinks such as beer wine sodas.....Nice pool with lounge chairs and a small hot-tub....... The place is really nice and I would recommend.

Pro: Clean and modern design friendly staff on the phone. Comfortable room with fireplace

Cons: a long walk from town (the do have bikes) and our unit one could hear the road noise in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road and or parking area ..... one facing the pool would be nice ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DJBSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We brought our two dogs with us to the hotel. The room had dog bowls and treats. The room we stayed in had an outdoor area which was great. The could stay outside and play. The area had small rocks and was very secure. The hotel also has three areas which the dogs could play.

The room had hot water issues and the manager moved us to another room which was very nice! They serviced us breakfast each morning which was yummy. The manager of the hotel was outstanding! He was on top of everything! They lite candles each night around the hotel, many pool towels and a bar with alot to choose from.

Next time were in the area we will be back! Thank you to the hotel for mailing us our dog ID tag which feel off during the stay! Thanks again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My partner and I just spent a truly lovely weekend at Boon and recommend it highly. A great oasis of simple design and nice touches (such as candles in lanterns throughout the property at night). Tom, who manages the place during the day, was extremely helpful with tips on wineries to visit and checked in a few times to ensure we had everything we needed. The breakfast brought to your room in the morning is a great luxury. Yes, the food is simple, but it's good and the coffee rocks. We also ate both nights at Boon's restaurant in town and once at their market (Big Bottom Market) and were equally impressed with both. Will return as soon as we can!

Room Tip: We found room 9 to be a good one - about mid-way down the property with a nice deck in front, good v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristopherChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

When I first walked into our room, I was disappointed. Ratty looking carpet, bad tile job, ikea stuff scattered throughout. However, as the ambiance of the place sunk in, I fell in love with the cool vibe and particular vision of the place. First off, for those who hate eating breakfast with strangers, this is the bed and breakfast for you. In cooler months, the tray with french press coffee and a light continental breakfast is delivered to your room. Ingredients are excellent (eg. delicious yogurt, fresh berries, boiled farm egg), but there are no "choices", so if you are particular, this may not work for you. The stoves (firelog only) are fantastic at night and in the morning. The outdoor area is a blend of whites, blues and weathered wood, with the occasional injection of the places' trademark orange. The saline pool is FREEZING like a plunge pool (we were there late October). However, sitting out in the saline hot tub under palm trees and redwoods is emblazoned in my mind as one of those lovely vacation moments. Also, the place is practically in walking distance of an amazing redwood forest, which just adds to the magic. Staff are friendly, but not on-site all the time (you can call them if need be), so don't expect hand-holding, concierge service etc. This place is almost a whole different model of running a hotel, so if you're up for that, I think you'll love it. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank tobytyler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The Boon was over priced, the room was too small and out dated, but breakfast was good. The room was clean however, but TV was sooo tiny that it was hard to watch. If you are looking for luxury steer clear.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1006kh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
6.2 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
700 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
420 reviews
1.3 mi away
AutoCamp Russian River
AutoCamp Russian River
#1 of 9 in Guerneville
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 12 in Guerneville
531 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 12 in Guerneville
353 reviews
0.7 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#10 of 12 in Guerneville
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to boon hotel & spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about boon hotel & spa

Address: 14711 Armstrong Woods Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: £57 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at boon believe the earth and its resources are gift and we must do our part to preserve them. We believe in luxury, design and amenities. We believe a hotel should amaze you and leave you eager to return as soon as possible. Welcome to boon. You're gonna love it here. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boon Hotel And Spa
Boon Hotel & Spa Hotel Guerneville
Boon Hotel & Spa Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing