We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay”
Review of Applewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Applewood Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We got the travelzoo deal and couldn't have enjoyed it more. Great hotel. A lovely welcome with delicious tea and explanations. The property is very pretty. We enjoyed the basic pool out back. Our massages were fantastic. Dinner was unbelievable and we like food! Book early. If the deal comes up- grab it

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samzav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have stayed over ten times at Applewood and it only gets better and better. Sylvia and Carlos continue to upgrade the property and keep supplying wonderful, wonderful service. Their entire staff is there to please and they do an excellent job, Our visits are like coming to visit family. Guernville itself is a beatiful Redwood filled area with lots to do.. Thanks for a super visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgusdorff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The property is lovely, rooms spacious, air conditioned and very clean. The bed was very luxurious. The restaurant was good but the staff seemed a little "stepford". No night time staff and the common area only open to the main building at night. Wine, coffee (Keurig), tea available during the day in the main lobby. The lobby area was a bit under or over decorated considering the setting. Not a very welcoming space considering it's the first impression for they're guests. A short 10 min. though somewhat precarious walk to town. The restaurant was good, great breakfast inclusive with different daily set menu or the usual eggs, bacon and toast and generous helpings. Some of the main staff seem a bit surly. Overall a lovely experience but for a few details that with a little work could make this a AAA+ destination.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We have stayed at many hotels around the world and were looking forward to this hotel at $375/night. We were greeted (after finally locating reception), checked into the hotel, offered tea, water, or wine and we chose a chardonnay which was very good. After that, it was all down hill. When asked for information about staying at the hotel, without moving she pointed to her left and then right, then "over there" for the pool, access to the pedestrian bridge to town (through a garden we were never shown) no shuttle; no explanation about the grounds or hotel, Pool had abandoned vacuum in it and hot tub (still covered) could have used cleaning. Hot tub didn't work until someone fixed it (5 min. before locking doors to hotel) and then only partially worked.No bell hop so bags have to be carried from parking up long sidewalk, down stairs, across loosely graveled courtyard, upstairs (no elevator) to room. Parking is limited due to popular restaurant. What??? Limited parking for guests??? Finally found some bushes to park against to get out of road. The hotel locks up at night. No staff on site, so don't want anything during the night. I asked what if we need something and were asked "what are you going to need?" What??? She said if we had to have something call the owners; number is by the phone. Only people at hotel are guests and if you aren't in the main part of hotel, you can't access the sitting area, lobby, etc. Asked for hangers upon check in, never came. No bottled water in room. Refused to ship our wine ("we don't do that"). No shower, tub only. Very limited area for clothes. Have to go to reception or restaurant for coffee. Impression: give us your money, but don't bother us. We don't have time for you. I feel the problem is with the owners which is reflected by the staff. Spend your money elsewhere. A lot of people will appreciate it.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Other towns close with better hotels and more to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CandyLuvsDoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife and I came to the Russian River Valley for two days and our experience with the Applewood in was blissful. The staff is friendly, the food is spectacular (especially for supper, have the Wine paired meal!). The bed was extremely comfortable, which is a huge point for us.

The service was exceptional, they recommended great family run wineries that were small and quaint (instead of the corporate giants). My wife and I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 10 with an outdoor private hot tub. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This place is super cute! It is an Inn with a Michellin star restaurant. Check in is in the main house which also serves as an office. Ask about wineries in the area, and they will give you some good suggestions plus a card for free tastings. It is a good distance to the Korbel winery and some other smaller wineries.

The inn has 19 rooms total. Each room is a like a little private cottage. We stayed in room #12. It has a nice seating area with fireplace, private patio with a small water fountain and table and chair to enjoy a bottle of wine. The room also has the most amazing Jacuzzi tub ever! It is a good size and even has arm rests!

There is a small spa on-site. After going wine tasting, I had a 1 hour massage that was just heavenly.

We had a late dinner at the restaurant. The 5 course tasting menu is $75 per person plus $35 for the wine pairing. The best course was the scallop with uni. The flavor was just amazing! Overall, dinner was great. In the morning, they serve free breakfast for guests of the inn. There is a coffee and tea self serve station. Then you sit down and a server brings you a menu. You can choose the daily special (2 courses) or have eggs, bacon and toast. Drinks are also complimentary. Way better than the free continental breakfast at other places.

Overall my husband and I had a great time here. We will definitely be back! (PS: The whole place is powered by solar panels...totally cool!)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesVacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This is a lovely property! We had a small but cozy room with a great bed-soft sheets and lots of pillows. The property is well-cared for and the service was excellent. We were greeted with a glass of champagne upon arrival. We had dinner at their beautiful restaurant and everything was so tasty. Ditto for the breakfast in the morning. It was a wonderful overnight visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redheadtraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,720 reviews
5.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
707 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#10 of 12 in Guerneville
229 reviews
6.8 mi away
Inn at Occidental
Inn at Occidental
#1 of 1 in Occidental
359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Santa Nella House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn

Address: 13555 Hwy 116, Guerneville, CA 95446-9486
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: £172 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean villa in the heart of the Russian River wine appellation, home to some of the world's best Pinot Noir & Chardonnay grapes.The inn offers deluxe accommodations beneath the Redwoods. Pool, Hot-tub, Massage, Picnic Baskets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Applewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applewood Hotel Guerneville
Applewood Inn Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing