We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smile = try it!!!”
Review of Applewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Applewood Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Booked the Osmosis Spa package for an over night stay at the inn and did the spa the next day. We arrived early before 3 pm and checked in at the reception office. We were greeted with warm smiles by 2 ladies and were told our room wasn't ready. The young lady briefed us on the inn info and showed us around the main building. We were offered wine by Randi while we are waiting to be checked in, confirming our dinner reservation that night at the restaurant located in the premise. They also gave us the wine tour pass but we didn't use it since we are only staying overnight. We brought lunch and headed beside the pool and table underneath the tree was a perfect setting to eat our food. Randi came over and told us our room is ready. Our room was big and spacious with a private garden with jet tub and another jet tub inside our room. We love the room except for taking a shower. You have to hold the hand held shower and water was flowing all over the floor and the side of the tub. I think they need to re-design and fix this issue. The room carpet is new. Use the outside Jacuzzi which was very nice to see the stars at night time. The food at the restaurant was very good but service needs a little bit more attention on check back. The next morning breakfast was a bit chaotic and service was uneven. I believe they were short staff that day. Our food server was running everywhere. The dessert like pie pancake was dry as well as the scrambled egg was way done with the salmon and slices of avocado. The WIFI is spotty in some area. Checkout time we had to be out of there by 12 noon, prior to that our reservation say that we can do a late checkout of 12:30 pm and pick our picnic bag with all the lovely yummy delight. We waited for about 15 minutes to get our picnic bag ready for us. There seem to be some disorganization in the front office when we are there in the reception office during check in/out. We can hear the owner Sylvia discussing issue with her staff of business functions that should have been taken in a private office not in the waiting area which was a turn off that leaves an impression they couldn't get act together. She was the one who told her staff that we can’t stay pass 12 noon by her head gesture of NO and she didn’t smile or acknowledge us while walking in front of us. I would have given them 5 stars if I didn't hear and see what I observed in the main reception area. Kudos to Randi for being so sweet and very helpful during our stay, a smile could make or break someone day!! It a service industry it doesn’t hurt to “SMILE”.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c1kb68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

Yes we were comfortable but the inn just seems to miss the mark in a couple of areas. Although the grounds are lovely, the rooms really need a decorator's touch...and it wouldn't take much at all. There's no art on the walls - what is there seems to be just indiscriminately placed with no thought at all to style. It is quite motel-like but actually, Holiday Inn Express has more warmth and style. Forget the fire pits on the balcony that no one uses - put some wine landscape scenes on the walls and the lobby décor doesn't go at all with the Italian "villa" look. The food at the restaurant was excellent - there was a little snafu that should have been acknowledged more than it was - the special appetizer ordered by one of us wound up being identical to the main feature of the vegetarian plate - and not as described on the menu. When pointed out the server did have the kitchen prepare what was missing from the plate but someone should have caught that considering the Michelin rating of this restaurant. By the way, an artificial flower arrangement? It's California - there are beautiful fresh flowers everywhere. Actually, the rooms should reflect the décor of the restaurant which was quite pleasant - except for the plastic flowers. I don't want to come off as a big complainer but it was things like this that were just notices throughout our stay. Fortunately we found Valerie at the front desk who gave us great information on wineries and other activities in the area ie- canoeing, hiking in the Armstrong Redwoods. She was very helpful and friendly, the other gals well... Our servers at breakfast were welcoming and professional and the breakfasts were quite nice. I was also surprised that there wasn't coffee service in the room. I can't remember the last time (other than Vegas) that there wasn't coffee in the room. There's coffee in the lobby and the restaurant at 7:30 am but some of us are early risers. Had dinner at Boon + drink in the downtown area - highly recommend. I'm not sure if we would stay at Applewood again - it is a great location, close to everything but there wasn't anything there that would pull be back. Oh, by the way - the free wine tasting pass was unexpected and quite a value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creeker5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Applewood Inn is a beautiful spot nestled in a redwood forest. The buildings are Italian villa styled, with earth toned stucco walls, terracotta tiles and green shutters. The grounds are gorgeous, with a lovely pool (a bit too cold for us to swim), fountains and gardens all around. Our room was small but very nice, with French doors that opened onto a small terrace. During the day, it was great to have it open but too many bugs at night. The rooms have a/c, which isn't all that common among B & B's in the Wine Country. Beds were great, really comfortable with exceptional linens. The restaurant was good, although we didn't eat there for dinner since we couldn't get reservations, so be sure to phone ahead and make yours. Other dining options in Guerneville are limited, often closed on M-Tu, and from our experience, pretty poor in quality so you may want to dine in Santa Rosa or Healdsubrg for better choices. Breakfast at Applewood was quite nice--a 2 course meal, the first one being something like crepes or pancakes, the second course an omelet and toast. You can substitute bacon, toast and scrambled eggs if you don't like the omelet of the day. Breakfast is generally between 830-10am, but since we needed to leave for a winery tour by 9am, they were good enough to accommodate us by serving a few minutes early. All in all, a pleasant experience and very relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillcntrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Secluded b&b near the Russian river that will pamper you. Large rooms, spa, pool, hot tub, restaurant and friendly staff. Near town and only 30 minutes from the coast at Jenner. Don't miss the Armstrong Redwoods park. No children, pets or smoking.

Room Tip: best rates are mid week. Avoid festival weekends in Guernville if you are looking for some space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrykayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I can't recommend this place highly enough...it is truly a great place to stay. From the moment we arrived we felt looked after - the welcome we received was personal and warm; we also got a complimentary glass of wine (excellent local wine) and lots of great information about the locality and how to make the most of our stay in the local area, so a special word of thanks must go to the receptionist on duty that Monday night.The room was very comfortable and bed linen was gorgeous. There is great quality coffee available for guests in the lobby, and a fresh bottle of water in the room every day. Breakfast is included in the room rate and this was a real treat - wonderful food and very attentive service. The pool area is perfect for relaxation - either swimming in the cold-water pool or lounging in the warm-water pool, or reading poolside....a great way to forget about the world. I took my yoga mat to the deck by the pool and the memory of doing 'tree pose' surrounded by the beautiful trees of the Russian River Valley is one I'll always treasure. Thank you for a wonderful couple of days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed at Applewood Inn for a few days to help celebrate our 20th Anniversary. We stayed in the Michelangelo Room and it was truly an experience. the bed was comfortable, nice whirlpool tub, indoor automatic fireplace, a balcony with a fire pit, and some other nice touches made this one of the nicest inns we have ever stayed in. The fact that we could walk out of our room an into a Michelin starred restaurant was pretty awesome. The breakfast that comes with the room is truly exceptional and the wait staff are friendly and aim to please. Randy helped us navigate the wonderful Russian River Valley and its wineries. We received a complimentary wine tasting pass from the inn that encompassed 20+ wineries and the recommendations for places to eat were great. We felt as though we were treated very well. the location was truly convenient too. We were no more than 20 minutes from everything and we even traveled to the Sonoma Coast one day as it was very easy to get to from here. Great place with a wonderful staff. Can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: Be sure to make reservations 2 weeks in advance if you want to eat at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Husband and I treated ourselves to a marvelous dinner at Applewood Inn. We sat on the enclosed porch with a lovely view of the rest of the Inn. We chose the Tasting Menu with the accompanying Wine Pairing. Everything from the beginning to end was fresh and lively and oh so tasty. And oh so expensive...but you are paying for quality, their attention to detail, and non-intrusive yet spot-on service with answers to all our questions.
Not your run of the mill night out, this is a place for special occasions and celebrations. Or a special treat to yourselves. I shall return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Revlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,659 reviews
15.8 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#10 of 12 in Guerneville
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Woods Resort at the Russian River
0.9 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 12 in Guerneville
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn

Address: 13555 Hwy 116, Guerneville, CA 95446-9486
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: £176 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean villa in the heart of the Russian River wine appellation, home to some of the world's best Pinot Noir & Chardonnay grapes.The inn offers deluxe accommodations beneath the Redwoods. Pool, Hot-tub, Massage, Picnic Baskets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Applewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applewood Hotel Guerneville
Applewood Inn Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing