We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip!”
Review of Applewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Applewood Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent 2 nights at Applewood Inn, but wish it was longer! We drove in to San Fran and wish we would have stayed here. We had Room 1, so nice and cozy. The breakfast is unbelievable! We decided to have dinner one night at the restaurant......wonderful! The whole staff made us feel so welcome, such a relaxing place. They also gave us a certificate for free wine tasting at certain vineyards that came in so handy. You are only 20 minutes from the coast as well. Great place to spend our 19th wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

I purchased a voucher from Travelzoo for Applewood Inn and am so glad I did! The value of the voucher was phenomenal! Breakfast was included each morning, and a dinner was included as well. We went as a group of 4 girlfriends with 2 different types of vouchers. The Inn and the restaurant bent over backwards to accommodate us and match up our wants and needs with what each room had available.

Sandy checked us in and really set the tone for the entire stay. While we sipped on our complimentary champagne, she went over the map of all the wineries where we could receive complimentary tastings. She also gave us recommendations of wineries based on the grounds and our tastes. She was phenomenal! To top it off, while we were eating dinner that night, she came over and said good bye! She was just fantastic during every moment with her.

As for the rooms, we loved them! We had one suite and one petite room. The only downfall for the suite was there was no actual shower, just a jacuzzi tub with a shower head. It made for a cold shower, but the rest of the experience only made that a little hiccup in an otherwise amazing stay. The beds were memory foam mattresses, so sleeping was not an issue. The grounds were beautiful, and the food at the restaurant was to die for! I highly recommend the lamb!

Even though Guerneville is a little out there, it has everything. We went hiking in Armstrong Redwoods, we were close to tons of wineries, Guerneville has some tasty restaurants, and it was just a fun place to go. I am looking forward to an opportunity to go back!

Room Tip: Room 12 is the only suite without an actual shower, but it does have a jacuzzi tub. Take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJ E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We enjoyed the setting, among the redwoods and smaller vineyards. Expensive but relaxing; a great place to celebrate an anniversary, with a wonderful restaurant just across the courtyard. Breakfast at the restaurant was also exceptional.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmepl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We wanted to stay in the Russian River Valley away from the hustle and bustle of other towns in Sonoma. Guerneville certainly is a quaint/quirky beautiful location with redwoods abound.
If you want chic squares, dining, and shopping- go to Healdsburg, a nice cross of history with convenience, go to Sebastopel, to be away from it- Guerneville may be it for you!

Lovely location, away from the road. Clean and comfy large room with fireplace and patio firepit.We stayed in the Michaelango room.

Shelby was a great assistance for booking a wine country bike tour and for restaurant recommendations too! ( thanks again!)

Something was lacking in the service though. This was consistent in the way no one checked in with us to see how our stay was progressing to the lack of staff in the restaurant. Food was delicious but service was so understaffed at dinner and at breakfast. Wow- where is the teamwork and no management to be seen at any time. ???

For $350++ per night, I expect turndown, slippers, something besides a nice room with dated furniture. C'mon, put the $$ back into training as you cannot rest on your laurels ( or apples) for too long- it is much too competitive up there these days....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We'd talked about dining at the restaurant at Applewood numerous times. Finally decided to splurge on a 1-nite romance pkg. Included a visit to Osmosis day spa for Cedar enzyme baths, a lovely picnic lunch to take there w/champagne, dining credit at their Michelin star rated restaurant, and a wonderful breakfast the morning after. It was all awesome! Well worth the price! Reception was great Shelby, Valerie & Randi were courteous & helpful. Luiz, our breakfast waiter was friendly and cordial. We will highly recommend this to our friends. Thank you Carlos for taking excellent care and ensuring us a wonderful experience at Applewood Inn. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alohakauaisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Let me say, I love this place. The feel is great, super relaxing/romantic. My (now) husband and I looked into booking the place for our wedding, met with the owner, and unfortunately decided it was too small for our needs.

Nonetheless, we wanted to make it a part of our honeymoon, so headed straight there after the wedding. I booked the room directly with Carlos (the owner) who had showed us around when we were considering for our wedding, and let him know it was our honeymoon. We booked the honeymoon suite - the most expensive room - and were really looking forward to it.

The stay was fine, but considering they knew it was our honeymoon and we had met the owner, we booked dinner at the restaurant and were staying for 3 nights in the honeymoon suite, I was disappointed with the lack of service. This place offers every guest a glass of Pinot or champagne upon check-in. Couldn't they have left a bottle for us in the room? Or at least said congratulations? Every other hotel (even a large Marriott) acknowledged our recent nuptials and made us feel special. Except the Applewood, which we were most excited for and felt most connected to. It's unfortunate. We were hoping to make the applewood a regular visit, like a second home in wine country, but they severely disappointed on service, and so we will likely not be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 680Leila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Booked the Osmosis Spa package for an over night stay at the inn and did the spa the next day. We arrived early before 3 pm and checked in at the reception office. We were greeted with warm smiles by 2 ladies and were told our room wasn't ready. The young lady briefed us on the inn info and showed us around the main building. We were offered wine by Randi while we are waiting to be checked in, confirming our dinner reservation that night at the restaurant located in the premise. They also gave us the wine tour pass but we didn't use it since we are only staying overnight. We brought lunch and headed beside the pool and table underneath the tree was a perfect setting to eat our food. Randi came over and told us our room is ready. Our room was big and spacious with a private garden with jet tub and another jet tub inside our room. We love the room except for taking a shower. You have to hold the hand held shower and water was flowing all over the floor and the side of the tub. I think they need to re-design and fix this issue. The room carpet is new. Use the outside Jacuzzi which was very nice to see the stars at night time. The food at the restaurant was very good but service needs a little bit more attention on check back. The next morning breakfast was a bit chaotic and service was uneven. I believe they were short staff that day. Our food server was running everywhere. The dessert like pie pancake was dry as well as the scrambled egg was way done with the salmon and slices of avocado. The WIFI is spotty in some area. Checkout time we had to be out of there by 12 noon, prior to that our reservation say that we can do a late checkout of 12:30 pm and pick our picnic bag with all the lovely yummy delight. We waited for about 15 minutes to get our picnic bag ready for us. There seem to be some disorganization in the front office when we are there in the reception office during check in/out. We can hear the owner Sylvia discussing issue with her staff of business functions that should have been taken in a private office not in the waiting area which was a turn off that leaves an impression they couldn't get act together. She was the one who told her staff that we can’t stay pass 12 noon by her head gesture of NO and she didn’t smile or acknowledge us while walking in front of us. I would have given them 5 stars if I didn't hear and see what I observed in the main reception area. Kudos to Randi for being so sweet and very helpful during our stay, a smile could make or break someone day!! It a service industry it doesn’t hurt to “SMILE”.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c1kb68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,659 reviews
15.8 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#10 of 12 in Guerneville
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Woods Resort at the Russian River
0.9 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 12 in Guerneville
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn

Address: 13555 Hwy 116, Guerneville, CA 95446-9486
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: £176 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean villa in the heart of the Russian River wine appellation, home to some of the world's best Pinot Noir & Chardonnay grapes.The inn offers deluxe accommodations beneath the Redwoods. Pool, Hot-tub, Massage, Picnic Baskets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Applewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applewood Hotel Guerneville
Applewood Inn Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing