We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Great time!”
Review of Applewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Applewood Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We arrived on Tuesday night in November. The weather was great, somewhere in 70s and 80's. What can be better? Randy met us at the Inn when we arrived and gave us a glass of wine and Champagne to let us to relax after 4 hour drive...After, she showed us the room which was lovely and very clean! Then we set by the real fireplace at the foyer waiting our massage therapists to take us to the Spa. What a treat for my birthday? After massage, we decided to sit in Jacuzzi...The next day we walked into the city, just 10 minutes walk...and then traveled to sample wines...I would recommend to stay in this Inn if you celebrate any special occasions, anniversaries, or just to relax. Dinner? Go eat at their Applewood restaurant! Also, visit Bodega Bay for barbecued oysters!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaGirl5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

I'm being generous giving 3 stars only because the restaurant food and service was outstanding for dinner.
Calling a room a Jr. Suite when there is no stand up shower, just a jacuzzi tub with a nozzle is stretching the truth. Some people may like memory foam mattresses, we didn't care for it. The room however was spotless. We had a couples massage booked and only 1 therapist showed for the appointment. We were told the issue would be discussed and they would "figure something out". The inn felt crediting us $25 was ample compensation. I think not and express that plain and simple. My time is worth far more not to mention a relaxing annivesary celebration experience was completely missed.

This was our second visit to the restaurant and it was simply fabulous for food, service and wine pairing. Really a special spot!

In the morning we arrived for coffee at 7:30 and it was still not available by 7:45...at an inn! Then the poor breakfast waiter. He worked incredibly hard but with only 1 person in the restaurant working and no help it took ages for him to even pay our table a visit. When we mentioned this we were told they are understaffed at the moment. Hiking in Armstrong Redwoods is a beautiful start to the day and there are many wonderful wineries in the area. Go for those experiences and consider if staying at this inn is worth the price considering there are so many others to chose from.

Room Tip: Room 14 has a very large heating or cooling unit that runs very loud. There is no stand up shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank appreciatefinetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos P, Owner at Applewood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

I am glad that you enjoyed our restaurant and that part of your experience was positive but I'm very sorry that your stay at Applewood, to commemorate such an special occasion, was a disappointment. I'm specially sorry about the failure of our contract therapists to make the appointment for your massage. It is a very unusual occurrence but never the less it spoiled your stay. The massage given to your husband was done at no charge.
About the Jacuzzi, Roman Tub for two featured in your room, it comes with a hand held shower and is the preference of many guest that find it romantic and ideal for a sensual leisurely bath. There is a picture and description of the tub in our website. I have often found Roman tubs in my trips though out Europe and Specially Italy and it never had a negative connotation about the room nor the hotel.
The king size "Cloud" Tempur-Pedic mattress you slept on is a very popular luxury mattress in the US. Innumerable times our guests requested information about the mattress because they wanted to buy it for their home.
Breakfast is a very special event at Applewood and the many great reviews we get on this venue attest to the care that we put into it. A two course breakfast with free mimosas and espresso drinks is served and alternatives are always available. Two servers are always present with very few exceptions. I'm sorry once more that we failed to satisfy you.
Team Applewood and I wish you wonderful travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed in Room 9 which is right be the pool. The room is large with a nice set of windows to allow in the morning light. There is a nice wall mounted tv for the guys. The bathroom is a little tight but very serviceable. Breakfast each morning is good, but the dinner is amazing. It is definitely in our top 5 dining experiences.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 65mstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent 2 nights at Applewood Inn, but wish it was longer! We drove in to San Fran and wish we would have stayed here. We had Room 1, so nice and cozy. The breakfast is unbelievable! We decided to have dinner one night at the restaurant......wonderful! The whole staff made us feel so welcome, such a relaxing place. They also gave us a certificate for free wine tasting at certain vineyards that came in so handy. You are only 20 minutes from the coast as well. Great place to spend our 19th wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I purchased a voucher from Travelzoo for Applewood Inn and am so glad I did! The value of the voucher was phenomenal! Breakfast was included each morning, and a dinner was included as well. We went as a group of 4 girlfriends with 2 different types of vouchers. The Inn and the restaurant bent over backwards to accommodate us and match up our wants and needs with what each room had available.

Sandy checked us in and really set the tone for the entire stay. While we sipped on our complimentary champagne, she went over the map of all the wineries where we could receive complimentary tastings. She also gave us recommendations of wineries based on the grounds and our tastes. She was phenomenal! To top it off, while we were eating dinner that night, she came over and said good bye! She was just fantastic during every moment with her.

As for the rooms, we loved them! We had one suite and one petite room. The only downfall for the suite was there was no actual shower, just a jacuzzi tub with a shower head. It made for a cold shower, but the rest of the experience only made that a little hiccup in an otherwise amazing stay. The beds were memory foam mattresses, so sleeping was not an issue. The grounds were beautiful, and the food at the restaurant was to die for! I highly recommend the lamb!

Even though Guerneville is a little out there, it has everything. We went hiking in Armstrong Redwoods, we were close to tons of wineries, Guerneville has some tasty restaurants, and it was just a fun place to go. I am looking forward to an opportunity to go back!

Room Tip: Room 12 is the only suite without an actual shower, but it does have a jacuzzi tub. Take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJ E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We enjoyed the setting, among the redwoods and smaller vineyards. Expensive but relaxing; a great place to celebrate an anniversary, with a wonderful restaurant just across the courtyard. Breakfast at the restaurant was also exceptional.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmepl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We wanted to stay in the Russian River Valley away from the hustle and bustle of other towns in Sonoma. Guerneville certainly is a quaint/quirky beautiful location with redwoods abound.
If you want chic squares, dining, and shopping- go to Healdsburg, a nice cross of history with convenience, go to Sebastopel, to be away from it- Guerneville may be it for you!

Lovely location, away from the road. Clean and comfy large room with fireplace and patio firepit.We stayed in the Michaelango room.

Shelby was a great assistance for booking a wine country bike tour and for restaurant recommendations too! ( thanks again!)

Something was lacking in the service though. This was consistent in the way no one checked in with us to see how our stay was progressing to the lack of staff in the restaurant. Food was delicious but service was so understaffed at dinner and at breakfast. Wow- where is the teamwork and no management to be seen at any time. ???

For $350++ per night, I expect turndown, slippers, something besides a nice room with dated furniture. C'mon, put the $$ back into training as you cannot rest on your laurels ( or apples) for too long- it is much too competitive up there these days....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,658 reviews
15.8 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#10 of 12 in Guerneville
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Woods Resort at the Russian River
0.9 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 12 in Guerneville
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn

Address: 13555 Hwy 116, Guerneville, CA 95446-9486
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: £176 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean villa in the heart of the Russian River wine appellation, home to some of the world's best Pinot Noir & Chardonnay grapes.The inn offers deluxe accommodations beneath the Redwoods. Pool, Hot-tub, Massage, Picnic Baskets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Applewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applewood Hotel Guerneville
Applewood Inn Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing