We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best in the area; room, food and service all excellent.”
Review of Applewood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Applewood Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“By far the best in the area; room, food and service all excellent.”
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We were almost put off by the last two recent reviews, which were quite negative, but the local tourist board said that they were getting more compliments since the new management took over, so we drove out there and booked two rooms. From the time we saw their welcoming sign on the highway until we checked out, we could not have been more pleased. The room, while small, was charming and immaculate and had access to a patio. The amenity kit was much better than most hotels in this price range. I slept better than I have in any hotel for ages. Finally, the crepes and fritatas at breakfast were an original touch and perfectly prepared. Unfortunately, we could not have dinner there as it was out of season, but their Michelin star must count for something. I doubt there is any hotel, inn, or other establishment that comes close and it is worth the extra dollars for the quality. (Note: there were no children in our group.)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    102
    35
    20
    7
See reviews for
24
375
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We used to love this inn and sometimes went twice a year. The new owners were unfriendly and made us feel uncomfortable. The grounds and rooms are still beautiful but we won't be returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturelover59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlosPippa, Owner at Applewood Inn, responded to this review, 4 February 2011
Dear Naturelover59,
I profusely apologize for making you feel uncomfortable during your last visit to Applewood. I assure you that what ever we did was unintentional.
We bought the inn about a year ago, and had to fill the shoes of Jim and Darrel, masters of inn keeping, that for the last 25 years made Applewood grow and flourish.
We have made some changes in the inn, like all new inn keepers do, and in general they have been very well accepted by Applewood old customers that not only praise them but return to see us. I do understand that not all people embrace change, but please read some of the commentaries made on Trip Advisor about Sylvia and I the new owners. Many of them are very positive.
Dear Naturelover59, we invite you to give us a second chance because I'm sure that you will find us genuinely interested in making all our customers visits, memorable.

Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I stayed here with my wife and 5-year old daughter for the Vineman event in July because of its great location to the start of the race. Making the reservation was easy but when we checked in, we could tell right away that the service was sub par. We parked and had a little trouble finding the reception. Ok, fine, but then it took over 10 minutes for anyone to address us in the main office. The manager Gwen took us on a short tour, and informed us that the pool was only for adult use. This was a HUGE disappointment to us as the website touted their pool and we choose Applewood in large part so our daughter, who loves swimming, could enjoy the pool. Having heard this and complained to Gwen about the website discrepancy, she offered no apology or even a little sympathy. The whole time, we thought Gwen appeared lost and disorganized. The worst part was when I had asked for and was granted, days earlier, a later checkout on Sunday after the conclusion of Vineman only to hear after we had arrived that the room was booked for Sunday evening and that we had to checkout BEFORE the start of the race. This proved HIGHLY inconvenient when I had to leave at 6:00 am, worrying about the race as well as packing to go home, and making sure my wife would be able to handle all the luggage while looking after our 5-yr old... when I protested and asked to speak to Carlos, the owner/co-owner, it was like going before the inquisition. No warmth, no attempt at understanding at all, no compromise and he wouldn't budge on the checkout time. I felt like I had stolen something and was at the principals office to ask for forgiveness, and I was the guest! To the management - here is a suggestion - try to presume that your guests are not liars - you'll go much farther in developing more rewarding business relationships that way.

We managed to get through these hurdles... the room we stayed in was modern, spacious, clean and offered a large tub and large bathroom. The grounds are beautiful and the restaurant is Michelin star rated. We even met another family with a young daughter that I still keep in touch with. We are returning for Vineman again in 2011 and bringing 3 other families with us but will be passing on Applewood simply due to the way we were treated. We don't ask to be treated like royalty, but at the prices they charge, it really implies that you'll feel welcome there, and unfortunately, that wasn't the case.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlosPippa, Owner at Applewood Inn, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Dear rwucla,
I'm of the school that believes that every complain is a gift that allow us to continiously improve our services yet I fill compelled to point out the in-acuracies in your comments.
Your anger is misplaced. Whoever chose Applewood for your stay did not research the fact that the inn is for adult couples and does not accept children nor pets. The "Villa Casa Grande" has a liquor license that includes the pool, and restricts the occupancy to adults over 21.
A few days before your arrival we spoke and I told you that up until that time the room you were staying has not been rented for the day of your departure and if that was still the case then, that you could have a late check out.
We have 19 rooms and each one is different. When our customers select a room they do not want or expect substitutions. By the time you checked in, your room was booked for the day of your departure. If you were that customer would you like to be told that you could not check in until late afternoon because some one else was occupying it?
Your departure time was noon and we offered to place your belongings in storage for you to pick them up after the race.
We love Vineman participants and many of them love us back. It looks like this year again we will be full for the event.
Finally, Gwen is no longer with us but I could write a book with all the appreciation and thanks she received from the thousands of customers she professionally took care of in her many years at the inn.

Carlos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2011

My wife and I celebrated New Years Eve at the Applewood Inn this year. The weather was chilly, foggy and rainy--Sonoma County in December! It was a good time to enjoy the fireplace in our room before and after dinner. The room was beautifully appointed, and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever been in.

The five course prix fixe dinner at the Applewood Inn's Michelin starred restaurant was superb as were the wine pairings. And the breakfast on New Year's Day was delicious.

With no cellphone reception (Verizon) and no WIFI, romance was inevitable!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerryandconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2010

The Applewood Inn is in a gorgeous setting, and it's close to many Sonoma wineries, yet not in the hub-bub of the bigger towns. The gardens on the property are beautiful and well-maintained, and the place is surrounded by giant redwood trees. The room we stayed in was comfortable and very clean, and it opened to a lovely courtyard, overlooking a large Mediterranean-style fountain and more beautiful gardens. The site is as relaxing as it is beautiful. The finest features of the Inn, however, are the innkeepers and the breakfasts. Sylvia and Carlos, innkeepers, are very accommodating and friendly, and the breakfasts are wonderful. We spent four nights at the Inn and each morning had a delicious, healthy meal, such as, crepes with fresh strawberries, Greek yogurt and granola with honey, fruit, and smoked salmon with avocado. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Inn and would certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

The Applewood Inn is a lovely property. Kudos to the housekeeping staff and the service staff in the excellent restaurant. However, it needs to do more to meet the price point.

As an in with an "over 21" policy on age, we expected some wine and basic appetizers in the evening. There were none. Also, the coffee and tea service was not on throughout the evening nor were there the small cookies or deserts usually offered in a inn of this caliber.

The fireplace was never lit in the main room. This was a great disappointment as it would have been a lovely place to sit and visit. Instead, it was cold and uninviting.

As we stayed past Thanksgiving, some holiday decorations were in order but there were none. Most of the time the management was missing.

The door between the original dining room and the swimming pool, spa area needs adjustment as I caught my thumb in it and received a nasty gash.

It appears the inn rests on the laurels of its excellent restaurant. But that is not enough for a B & B.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eurocat75005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Our room in the original historic home was delightful with sumptuous European linens and great attention to detail. The grounds, nestled in the redwoods, were gorgous and the healthy full breakfast a pleasure to linger over, and that we did. Planning to leave the first thing in the morning, we stayed until check-out to wallow in the experience and the deep down comforter. The owners private art collection is generously shared throughout the property, as well as their warmth and charm. Our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer. It is a must return and a place we have recommended to others without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OjaiCountess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
5.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
691 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,440 reviews
15.8 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
279 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applewood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Inn

Property: Applewood Inn
Address: 13555 Hwy 116, Guerneville, CA 95446-9486
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Applewood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean villa in the heart of the Russian River wine appellation, home to some of the world's best Pinot Noir & Chardonnay grapes.The inn offers deluxe accommodations beneath the Redwoods. Pool, Hot-tub, Massage, Picnic Baskets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Applewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Applewood Hotel Guerneville
Applewood Inn Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing