We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pets welcome cozy cottages easy walk to stores and dining.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dawn Ranch Lodge Resort
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We arrived at Dawn Ranch for a wedding. We travel with our dogs so it's great to find a establishment that embraces the fact that family's come in all sorts of packages. The cozy cottages are minimal but clean and fresh E O bath products are provided nice touch. Great place for large families and friends to gather. The grounds are beautiful giant grass meadow trails down to the river. We are looking forward to a great party and a relaxing weekend.
Thanks Dawn Ranch!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SF_Bulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed there two nights for a wedding. It is a great setting for such an event as the place for the ceremony and cocktail hour are fairly isolated from the rest of the world. You are among the trees and you can hear the rolling waters in the background. (Advice - Ladies, wear flat shoes as otherwise, if the ground is damp, you'll find yourself sinking in the soil!) If you're getting married there, get yourself a small quartet of instruments to play in the background to round out the venue. The cocktails and hors d'oeuvres were great! The dinner food was just ok. The dinner area for the reception was small and because of the construction, was very loud. The bar and dancing area were very nice. Accommodations are rustic. The bathrooms are very small - you can barely turn around in the shower and in mine, I couldn't bend enough in the confined space to get my head under the shower head. I stayed in one of the buildings that had two units. Nice and bright but the walls are paper thin, and you hear everything next door. The evenings were cold but the rooms had unit heaters which kept them toasty. The double unit had a gas fireplace as well in a little sitting area. The beds were comfortable.

Also, breakfast was scrambled eggs, some fried potatoes and mini muffins - they could do more for their guests in that regard.

So, the bottom line is that this may be considered upscale camping. And if that's you liking, then it's an ok place in a nice setting.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BobbyGolfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed at Dawn Ranch for our son's wedding. We had checked out the place with the couple last spring and were excited about the venue. However, that excitement changed quickly once we were there for the wedding. There is a notice that if you lose your key there is a $50 charge - and all we were given was 2 loose keys - no key chain or other way to identify the room number. It's a wonder that we were able to keep from losing the keys. The cabin we were in was sparse but fine - very quaint. Breakfast is included - from 8 til 10. At EXACTLY 10 A.M. the food is removed. It doesn't even matter if there is food left - it is taken away. You can't even get a cup of coffee. Someone asked what happens to the food that is remaining and the waiter said that is was thrown away. Even at a hotel where the price is much less, you can get a cup of coffee. I had a something special planned for the rehearsal dinner which required some equipment. I had checked with the hotel's wedding planners (there were 3 different ones within the year) several times to insure that my plan would work. However when we were setting up it seemed as if this was a brand new concept that nobody knew about. We needed an extension cord - and were told that they didn't have any. It was mentioned that some groups use a microphone for their speeches. However, they didn't have any of those either. We can't imagine why a place that has weddings and other group events doesn't even have the basics. There were other things that were unpleasant concerning the staff and the wedding which I won't go into. Just know that they were there.

The grounds are beautiful and an idilic setting for a wedding. The food was fantastic and everyone had a great time. Having the whole weekend at the ranch was great because so many people came from different parts of the country and there was a chance to really connect and re connect. The bonfire on Sun. night topped off the event.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wyndmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I just stayed at Dawn Ranch for a wedding. The grounds are beautiful and it is a great place for an outdoor wedding. That being said I wouldn't recommend people stay there for the price (unless you're there for the wedding). Your room is a cabin which I was excited about, but the cabin is very small with little room to walk around. The bathroom is also very small. The stand up shower is tiny and it was very hard to turn and move around. I could also see the mold on the side of the shower which I wasn't very happy about. The room had no hair dryer or iron though you could at least get an iron at the front desk (don't know about the hair dryer). For the cost of the room I wasn't happy.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterfly50538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Horrible staff. I can excuse a lot of issues if the staff cares, and they try to correct the problems but I can honestly say that the staff is the problem. It started when we tried to book a room- no one ever answered the phone, and they didn't return any of our many messages for well over a week. At check-in there was no hello or welcome to the ranch, and the front desk lady didn't acknowledge our being there. We had to wait more than a half hour to check in, and she kept getting up and leaving the room with no explanation.

Any time we had an issue, and there were many, we were met with a shoulder shrug and the staff walking away. We didn't talk to anyone who worked there who seemed to care about the guests experience at all. Stay here if you feel like being treated like an animal.

It is a shame because this place has the potential to be very nice- the cabins are cute, and the location is beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Christian377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed here for a weekend wedding and I had a heads up as to what to expect from reading other reviews here. It worked out perfectly for us. I liked it's retro-feel. They tape the room key on a piece of paper. The heater provided enough warmth at night. The bathroom is small though. It behooves one to close the camode lid for extra surface area and prevent the blow dryer from falling in. We enjoyed the pool. The food is delicious and the setting was perfect for an outside wedding/reception in the grove. There were shelves instead of a bureau. But it is small inside.
The town is charming and we enjoyed strolling around there as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

On a road trip, we needed a place to stay overnight. We got a Ok cabin that was worth $70 a night, but they charged 5 times that! The grounds were nice, but everything else was below average. DO NOT STAY HERE- WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John Paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
7.2 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
125 reviews
12.1 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
527 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Johnson's Beach - Cabins and Campground
0.5 mi away
Creekside Inn & Resort
Creekside Inn & Resort
#6 of 12 in Guerneville
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawn Ranch Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawn Ranch Lodge Resort

Address: 16467 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9654 (Formerly Fife's)
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Guerneville
Price Range: £122 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dawn Ranch Lodge Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled riverside in Sonoma's wine rich Russian River Valley, Dawn Ranch Resort is a virtual natural preserve. Sited on 15 lush acres of ancient giant Redwoods, vintage apple trees, native meadows and our own kitchen garden; this Sonoma Wine Country oasis is a precious escape. Historic, simple renovated for comfort 1905 cabins and cottages cluster about the landscape but leave ample room to wander peacefully amid nature. Amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast, pool and seasonal pool bar, popular and well reviewed onsite restaurant Agriculture Public House. In room guests will find super comfy beds and linens, baths with showers, Aveda amenities, fire stoves to warm the cool mornings and wherever possible outdoor seating to enjoy the pristine setting. Dog friendly cabins are available. For the health of all our guests Dawn Ranch Resort is a non smoking property. Due to the historic nature of the property and cabins, we are an unplugged retreat with no in room TV or phones. Wifi works in some cabins and in the common areas. Canoeing, kayaking, hiking, world class wine tasting and lovely country roads await. Come relax with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dawn Ranch Lodge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawn Ranch Hotel Guerneville
Dawn Ranch Lodge Resort Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing