We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor...”
Review of Dawn Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dawn Ranch Resort
Reviewed 18 August 2006

we were in sonoma from chicago last weekend staying at the dawn ranch...the room was okay but definitely not worth the $350 per night cost. the path to our cottage was so poorly lit that you couldn't see in front of your face at night...bring a flashlight if you're in the back.

re: the roadhouse restaurant. we were looking forward to dining at this restaurant. they were out of the fish special they were advertising on the specials menu so our non-meat eating folks were stuck with shrimp or nothing. i ordered the steak special (medium) and it came out cold and rare...i sent it back when the waiter finally came back to the table (10 minutes later)...they took the same steak, threw it back on the grill, and cooked it a bit more. very poor.

the chef came out to check on us...we told him there was a problem with the steak...he sent out some desserts to apologize....but then when i checked my credit card statement, i was double charged for the meal and now have to dispute the charge with the restaurant or credit card company.

won't be going back the next time we're in the area...atmosphere is great at the restaurant, food and service is very disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nujazzsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2006

Let's just say they hired a really good photographer for their website.

The cabins are quite small. In the regular cabin that sleeps two, there is one queen bed, two small nightstands, and on wicker chair in the corner by the window. No side table, though. Amenities were fine. The carpet must have just been washed because it was still damp. My friends rented a slightly larger cabin across from us that slept 4 people. Their carpet smelled like cleaning fluid, they also had no table by the chairs and their pull-out futon came with no bedding. When they finally received it from housekeeping, we saw that there was dog hair all over the blanket. Two of us are allergic to dogs, but I don't think that's where our sneezing bouts started. When I took a shower and looked up, there was mold all over the ceiling, plus the floor was really warped. In my friend's cabin, in the shower, the paint (or plastic?) was peeling away from the siding. There is also no decorations anywhere, all walls are white, chairs are wicker. It's like a rustic cabin, but more expensive.

The pool was fine, needed a cleaning, but that's to be expected I guess?

The hotel's restaurant - The Roadhouse - was quite good for dinner, although expensive. The chef came out and asked how we were enjoying dinner, which was nice. For the complimentary breakfast, however, the muffins, croissants and banana bread were all either super dry or flat and tasteless. They offered butter and no jam. Coffee was good. The people working there were very nice, as well.

The grounds were pleasant. Two decent sized grassy areas to play croquet or frisbee, and also a grove with apple and plum trees, as well as lots of blackberry bushes. The "beach access" wasn't what you would think - there was a sandy trail down to the river, no beach - but we heard from a passerby that it was because the rains had heightened the river.

I think that's all. I don't think I'd stay here again unless the prices came down or the shacks were renovated.

Stayed: June 2006
4  Thank SeisOjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco
16
Reviewed 14 July 2006

Don't go unless you want a bed and shower instead of camping.

Looked very nice on website. "Cottages" were cabins at best. Utterly oversold by nice website.

Nice bed and bedding, towels and and renovated bathroom floors and toilets but shower while having plenty of hot water, was old with mildew curtain with no shelf for soap and shampoo.
No fan for the warm night and ineffective wall heater for the cool morning.

Front desk suggested I go buy a hairdryer, they didn't have any, and to go to Safeway to get ice. Went to restaurant at late hour to ask them to please turn off the outdoor speakers turned towards the cabin. They politely and pleasantly obliged, but not what I wanted to be doing at 11:30 at night. Paper thin walls. Every conversation outside is heard.

Clean on the inside, but outdoor walls of cabins needed cleaning or paint.
No television was known, but any chance to read was nixed by the small ineffective lamp by the bed.

With no phones, and no one on the premise during the night or early morning, it did not feel safe, particularly with growling garbage eating raccoons under the cabin.

Would Never stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
ann arbor, michigan
17
Reviewed 7 March 2006

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2005

  • Stayed: October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonColinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank randy2724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Salt Lake City, UT
110
Reviewed 29 August 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guerneville hotels
1.5 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#3 of 12 in Guerneville
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#10 of 12 in Guerneville
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 12 in Guerneville
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#1 of 12 in Guerneville
356 reviews
2 mi away
Santa Nella House Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Guerneville Lodge
Guerneville Lodge
#9 of 9 in Guerneville
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawn Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawn Ranch Resort

Address: 16467 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9654 (Formerly Fife's)
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Guerneville
Price Range: £117 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dawn Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled riverside in Sonoma's wine rich Russian River Valley, Dawn Ranch Resort is a virtual natural preserve. Sited on 15 lush acres of ancient giant Redwoods, vintage apple trees, native meadows and our own kitchen garden; this Sonoma Wine Country oasis is a precious escape. Historic, simple renovated for comfort 1905 cabins and cottages cluster about the landscape but leave ample room to wander peacefully amid nature. Amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast, pool and seasonal pool bar, popular and well reviewed onsite restaurant Agriculture Public House. In room guests will find super comfy beds and linens, baths with showers, Aveda amenities, fire stoves to warm the cool mornings and wherever possible outdoor seating to enjoy the pristine setting. Dog friendly cabins are available. For the health of all our guests Dawn Ranch Resort is a non smoking property. Due to the historic nature of the property and cabins, we are an unplugged retreat with no in room TV or phones. Wifi works in some cabins and in the common areas. Canoeing, kayaking, hiking, world class wine tasting and lovely country roads await. Come relax with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dawn Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawn Ranch Hotel Guerneville
Dawn Ranch Resort Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing