We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Russian River Area”
Review of Highlands Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guerneville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highlands Resort
Ranked #10 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
191 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Russian River Area”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Pleasant stay in Guerneville. I traveled alone and stayed in the Garden unit with views of a well manicured garden and swimming pool. My room was equipped with an adequate small fridge/freezer and microwave in a sitting room adjacent to the bedroom fiited with a gas fireplace....perfect for the cool evenings and mornings. The managers were pleasant and non-obtrusive and were very helpful and attentative. Continental breakfast features home made granola and on weekends homemade muffins/dessert breads. There are also charming cottage available for rental, and hot tub on premises ensures relaxation. The complex is secluded, yet only a short walk down the hill to downtown Guerneville.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markmena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    17
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
46
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My boyfriend and I spent three nights here and it was a great experience. Extremely friendly staff, clean room, charming location, etc. I would highly recommend. However, one caveat for those not used to small towns--restaurants here close around 9pm during a weeknight, so plan accordingly!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cthardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I found this hotel through a travel guide, and I was very pleased with the room and the friendliness of the management. Since we were "walk ins" with out a reservation. I was so pleased we chose the pool view suite. Really two bedrooms, with a porch overlooking the grass and the pool area. Very nicely appointed but basic rooms with ceiling fans and gas fireplace. Mini fridge, coffee and micro wave were nice touches. Comfortable beds and rustic, but nice appointments. Clothing optional hot tub and pool. We liked it so much, booked second night there and short walk to restaurants and downtown.

Room Tip: They have a suite with a whirlpool jacuzzi but was already booked. I liked the pool suite if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelagent0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I booked a stay at Highlands based on the glowing reviews on this site, and felt that I had to voice my experience for the sake of other customers that might have similar tastes as myself. I love nature and the outdoors, however when booking a hotel room I do expect a certain level of quality. The room we reserved was simply not up to any standards I would expect for $115 per night.

Shortly after checking in we returned to the front desk to inquire about the poor state we found the room in (mold in shower, rotting baseboards, rust in sink, holes in wall... etc.). I was informed that we had booked a room that had not been renovated and that this was reflected in the price we paid. The staff of the property tried to be very accommodating and even offered us a more expensive renovated room for the price we already paid. While this was very nice of them, the renovated room was not much better than the first they had given us. So we chose to leave the hotel and look for another property. They charged us for one full night citing the cancellation policy. I disagree that showing up and being unsatisfied with the quality of the product counts as a cancellation, but that is another story.

Overall, this property is beautifully nestled in the redwoods and a convenient walk from the center of town. However, if you are at all particular about the cleanliness and upkeep of your room I would suspect you would have been equally unhappy. Maybe I'm not the right target customer for the russian river, if this is really the best available quality at that price point. I ended up staying at a nice 4 star property for under $100 about 15 minutes away in Santa Rosa, and still found it very convenient to drive out to Guerneville for the restaurants, bars, and shops.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peterjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlandsgirl, Owner at Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
Thank you for your feedback.

The cabin you booked was our Two Room Cabin. To answer some of your concerns, the rust stains in the sink are caused by galvanized plumbing, which we have since replaced. There is a bit of water damage to the baseboards next to the shower, but had any mention of cleanliness or mold been made at the time of your visit, we would have taken care of that immediately. Like all innkeepers, we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms. This is one of our more popular cabins (primarily due to the price point) and over the 3 months preceding your stay, it was vacant a total of 17 nights.

Guests who return to the office shortly after their arrival; and who find our resort does not meet their expectations receive a full refund and our assistance in selecting a lodging property in the immediate area that suits them.

When a room has been used for several hours, the situation is different. In this situation, dissatisfaction was not expressed until several hours after arrival. They were not charged a cancellation penalty; they were charged a one night rate which included tax. At the time the reviewer seemed to think that this was fair to both parties.

As the reviewer states, we attempted to relocate the guest to a nicer room (king bed, gas fireplace, two person shower, wet bar, remodeled in 2006 – none of which the original cabin had) at no additional charge.

We also offered to call around to the lodging properties nearby (there are 10 within ¼ mile) to find accommodation that would suit, but our offer was rejected and the reviewer expressed interest in traveling to Santa Rosa (18 miles away). At that point it seemed clear that not only did our resort not suit, but that Guerneville did not suit.

The little village of Guerneville is a bit like our rooms and cabins. Older, charming, eclectic and a bit funky. Prices are a bit higher in our area for both lodging and meals than along the freeway in Santa Rosa. Visitors from out of state should be aware that California is a more expensive destination than many others, but worth every penny!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The best part is they are a very short walk to town, but buried in the woods! Feels like a true getaway. I stayed in cabin #3, which has 2 beds and 2 rooms, woodstove, and a great front deck. I had to change rooms the 2nd night, (#15) and moved to a small room, not a cabin, but very nice for the budget minded. It had a small koi pond just outside the window, which was nice to hear a night. Also a small front deck w/table & chairs. The pool area is just beautiful. Very nicely landscaped. Light breakfast is served. I can't think of a single complaint. Oh, and the most comfortable beds ever!

Room Tip: All cabins, #1-#10 are great. The higher the number, the quieter/away from parking lot. #15 &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I first came to the Highlands in 1981, long before the current owners were in place. I have stayed in almost every cabin, but most often bring my tent and camp in the meadow. I appreciate many things about this resort: it's walking distance to town, it's a quiet, laid back resort (no blaring music, so noisy bar, etc.), it has a clothing optional pool & hot tub, it's in the middle of gorgeous redwoods, but MOST of all, I appreciate the love, care and improvements that the owners have put into the property over the last decade. It is vastly improved from when they took over. I come here to re-sharge my batteries in a calm, peaceful setting that's an easy drive from SF.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfbigcelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Beautiful, detached cabin with its own terrace with sunlounger and two patio chairs to sit at the table with umbrella. Cabins all set around redwood trees and feels so cool and calm in the scorching hot days that we were there. Stayed in Cabin No.7 which had an enormous (by our European standards) King-size bed that was very comfortable. Furthermore the cabin had a two-person bath tub in the room as well as a shower cubicle etc in the bathroom. The cabin also came appointed with a sink, microwave and various cookware which we didn't use but would have been helpful had we been staying longer. The communal areas in the main building were comfortable and Lynette (owner) was very helpful when I needed to contact our car-rental company to report a problem with the car. As described before the breakfast is simple but at least it included fresh fruit, juice and coffee. Our restaurant recommendations are: if you're there just one night give Boon a miss and instead try Chef Patrick, a French-American restaurant in the town. Although the place could do with some serious interior design advice and a lick of paint, the service and food were amazing. My partner had a huge steak and lobster tail dish and I had a fantastic pasta with asparagus. Also try Boon if you're there a second night as their food is good too.

We didn't use the pool but it looked clean and the terrace was spacious.

We had a day kayaking on the Russian River (launched from Healdsburg) which was fantastic fun.

Room Tip: Go for a King Cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyprusboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
6.2 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Woods Resort at the Russian River
0.3 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#7 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Resort

Property: Highlands Resort
Address: 14000 Woodland Dr, P o Box 346, Guerneville, CA 95446-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since the 1930's, Highlands 'came out' as a gay resort in 1980 (we're 'straight-friendly'). Individual cabins retain a vintage look with chrome and formica tables, inlayed linoleum floors, charming gas fireplaces and private porches.Two blocks from town, the resort is on 3 acres of redwood groves and gardens. Relax at our clothing optional pool! Our concierge assists with everything from restaurants and outdoor activities to wine tasting adventures. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highlands Hotel Guerneville
Highlands Resort Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing