We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wine Tasting Location”
Review of Highlands Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guerneville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highlands Resort
Ranked #10 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Wine Tasting Location”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here over three days. The place is amazing. Friendly owners, comfortable beds, amazing hottub in the woods.... This place is like heaven. Wineries are literally about 4 minutes away. I recommend the Westside Drive Wineries....

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrRankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    17
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
47
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We have just returned from another wonderful stay at The Highlands Resort.This was our 15th stay at this magical place. We could travel to Paris in the time it takes us to drive up there from our home in Southern California but we prefer to go to Guerneville so that we can enjoy the beauty, peace and quiet of "The Highlands". The nine-hour journey is always worth it. Where else in the world can you sit outside on the patio of your cabin with your partner and your dogs and drink steaming cocoa or wine into the wee hours surrounded by towering, magnificent coastal redwood trees just feet from you? And where else can you enjoy a massage inside a grove of redwoods?
This is a unique property and it's lovingly cared for with great pride by its owners, Ken and Lynette. The landscaping is absolutely spectacular during the spring and summer months when the gardens are in full bloom. Over the years we have stayed in almost every room/cabin and not once have we been disappointed. The cabins are rustic, well-appointed, warm and spotlessly clean. I mention "rustic" as it seems that some reviewers unrealistically expect Ritz Carlton amenities here. We stayed in cabin 5 this time which has a great new bathroom and two-person shower. Our dogs slept in front of the gas fire all night. We had a microwave, fridge, full sets of cutlery and crockery, teas and coffees and the bed couldn't have been more comfortable.
Breakfast in the lodge is always a great opportunity to meet and chat to the other guests. As we stayed over Christmas, Ken and Lynnette provided all of us with a (free) Christmas-eve feast of Lynette's home-made specialties (She is an amazing cook.) wine and champagne. Breakfast, including sausages, quiche, granola, OJ, coffee/hot chocolate was provided on Christmas morning.
A very high proportion of Ken and Lynnette's guests are regulars, including us. We have made numerous friends with them over the years and make new ones every time we stay there. It's not uncommon for guests who meet one another at breakfast or at the pool to go to dinner together later or gather on the patio of a cabin to enjoy a glass of wine, conversation and laughter in the evening.
I could go on and on but, suffice to say, we love this place and hope it will be around to provide a beautiful, magical place for the LGBT community for many years to come. We can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LughaidhN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My partner and I booked three nights at The Highlands for the Thanksgiving holiday. We had enjoyed two nights in the garden suite earlier this year, so we were excited to be returning. We chose a more expensive room this time (cabin 10). Nice layout, comfortable couch, convenient kitchen etc... until it was time to go to bed. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed we'd ever slept on. We decided not to let it get us down and enjoyed Bodega etc. When we woke up the following morning a mixture of physical pain and 2 nights of very little sleep, we were over it and presented the situation to the owner. She was at a loss for wards and met our disappointment with indifference. Not only did he not offer us, a top layer of cushion, another room or partial refund/nothing, she simply looked down and said 'well, okay'. We were both in shock about her total lack of concern or response to the situation. No follow up phone call, letter of apology nothing... very inconsistent with their otherwise advertised hospitality.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SacCubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

It is great to see the majority of folks giving Highlands the positive reviews that it deserves. My partner and I found the property and facities very comfortable and well maintained. Our cabin was spacious with quality bedding and linens (plus, I loved the shower soap). The landscaping was nice with lots of trees and bushes to help mask the sounds of the neighborhood.

Our hosts, Olive, the dog, and her owners Lynette and Ken, could not have been more friendly and helpful. Although we arrived late in the evening, they greeted us with warm smiles and slices of pie (you will also get the smiles but don't expect the pie, it was leftovers from the special Thanksgiving dinner they hosted for their guests). Each morning, they were at breakfast with helpful advice on places to visit and things to do. I made a point of asking others guest -- including one older gentleman who has been staying at Hightlands for many years and a young gay couple who were visiting for the first time -- how they were enjoying their stay, and all had nothing but positive comments

As others have noted, the location is great for walking into Guernville as well as a hub for exploring the western side of Sonoma County. It is a very easy drive from Highlands to Armstrong Redwoods Park and nearby towns such as Bodega Bay.

And while we did visit off season, if Highlands provides even half the level of service during the high season that they provided during our visit, it would still be outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdpndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gros Morne National Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 606 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We booked a cottage for three nights but only stayed for two, I thought it was over priced.The cottage was nice but nothing to special.The linens could have been better quality for the room price.The bed was way to soft.The pool was closed which we knew before booking.The hot tub area is old and in need of replacing and should be in the pool area.The breakfast is some cranola,coffee and muffins and OJ. it was pet friendly with a charge We might stay again but for the price we would look at other options, no tv or phones not even a pay phone on site.Owners are very nice and all the guests where friendly

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greyhoundlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We have stayed at the Highlands at least once a year for the past 6 years and will keep returning. The property itself is just beautiful, surrounded by redwoods and luscious gardens. The main house is open to all the guests giving the resort a B&B feeling.

Here is our opinion of the different accommodations.

Cabins- If you can afford it stay in one of the cabins. They are self contained and each have a private deck and are quite nice. If you can get a cabin in the back away from the parking lot you will probably be happier.

Garden Suite-We really like this room in the back of the main house with a terrific deck overlooking the pool but still private. I believe this is one of the few rooms with a tv and is a good value. Room is a bit dated.

Pool Suite-We found this to be the most dated and run down room in the property, off the main house with the entry right next to reception you have two bedrooms separated by a skinny bathroom with a shower we did not like.

Redwood Suite-We have stayed in this room twice and just don't like it. No private deck, Big ADA access bathroom, near entrance to reception and parking lot.

Standard Room-Next to the redwood suite , very small , very small , room. I would only stay in this room again if I was single and on a strict budget.

Room Tip: Get a cabin in the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tristan017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just got back from the Highlands resort in Guerneville and have had a relaxing and quite pleasant time. The hosts are always friendly, the breakfast goodies always quite tasty, and the cabins quite comfortable. My partner and I stayed in cabin 2 which has a nice sized bedroom, living area, and a kitchen stocked with cook and tableware.

Room Tip: If you want to have a kitchen at your disposal try cabins 1 or 2. These cabins have a bedroom, livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfcelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
6.2 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
687 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Woods Resort at the Russian River
1.0 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
509 reviews
0.9 mi away
AutoCamp Russian River
AutoCamp Russian River
#1 of 9 in Guerneville
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#7 of 13 in Guerneville
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Resort

Property: Highlands Resort
Address: 14000 Woodland Dr, P o Box 346, Guerneville, CA 95446-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since the 1930's, Highlands 'came out' as a gay resort in 1980 (we're 'straight-friendly'). Individual cabins retain a vintage look with chrome and formica tables, inlayed linoleum floors, charming gas fireplaces and private porches.Two blocks from town, the resort is on 3 acres of redwood groves and gardens. Relax at our clothing optional pool! Our concierge assists with everything from restaurants and outdoor activities to wine tasting adventures. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highlands Hotel Guerneville
Highlands Resort Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing