We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cottages on River Road
Ranked #3 of 12 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We and another couple stayed in the 2 bdrm cottage (#7) and it was simply perfect...very clean, spacious, comfortable, and nicely decorated (I loved the colors and added touch of wood over the windows)...we slept on bedding that was so comfortable that my husband and I agreed we are getting the same pillows, comforter, etc for our bed at home. The owners are very warm, caring people who take the extra effort to make sure your stay is pleasant and relaxing...we were greeted w/ smiles and during the free wine tasting and appetizers bet 5-7pm we chatted with Ted the owner and his sister who both are really friendly and down to earth people. Even Ted's cat Frank was so friendly that came over to us and just fell asleep on our friend's lap and didn't want to leave...lol...and when Ted came to get him the cat seemed annoyed....like he was actually enjoying our company. When we arrived back late from dinner and missed the s'mores Deeann was more than gracious to relight the campfire and bring out the s'mores fixings again...we were then join by other guests and everyone had a good time indulging in those delicious s'mores. The Cottages are in a great location...nearby to bars/restaurants like the Rio Nido Roadhouse which offers great food and music, Armstrong State Park where we walked along the trails of the majestic redwoods, and Korbel Champagne Cellars which is just down the road where we ate lunch at their fabulous deli and sipped on champagnes. My friends and I are already planning our next stay here and hoping to bring more couples to enjoy the beautiful garden setting and wonderful atmosphere the Cottages on River Road offers!

Room Tip: Cottage 6 & 7 highly recommend for couples traveling together
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renebboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed two nights in this wonderfull place, very nice kept cottages and well kept garden. The personal attention was a nice touch and the relief after all these faceless motels. Making s'mores in the garden in the evening was memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorbertWolfgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Clean and spacious cottages, nice and spacious bathrooms, and nice decks, the cottages are fully renovated, helpfull staff, good little breakfast, good parking, s'mores every night (missed it!) and beautiful garden! Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We only stayed one night but had we known how nice this place was, we'd have stayed at least one more. It's all been recently renovated and after speaking with the owners, we were super impressed with the other plans they intend to make.

Loved the convenience of the nearby wineries, we toured a lot of them. Guerneville is a tiny little town, quaint tho and all the places we went to provided good service.

Best part for us was relaxing on our little deck and then having smores later in the evening.

Regarding our studio: the bed was super comfy, very clean, loved the inviting colour scheme. We had everything we needed.

We were street side, but the traffic noise died down at a reasonable time and didn't impact our stay or sleep at all.

We'll definately be back!

Room Tip: book hillside if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We just enjoyed 2 nights in cottage #7. It had 2 bedrooms, living room, kitchen area, bathroom. All very clean. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. We loved sitting out on our deck in the afternoon. The owners are very very nice and obviously working very hard to maintain the place and make everyone very happy! This was our first trip to Guerneville. We were able to walk on the old River Road into town for dinner, approx 1 mile. Our 2nd night we had dinner near the hotel at McHughs. Food was great and deck overlooking the river was beautiful. While in the area we really enjoyed the Korbel tour and tasting and visits at Porter Creek Winery and Hop Kiln. A beautiful area that still seems undiscovered as opposed to crazy Napa!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravel524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Had a great four night stay at the Cottages on RIver Road. Our cottage (number 7) had recently been renovated and was airy and clean. We were traveling with another couple and the cottage was perfect with two nice sized bedrooms seperated by the living room area. I would advise requesting one away from the road as there is some traffic noise. The innkeepers were extremely nice and very helpful. Smores were great and the breakfast was pretty good as well; could have used some oatmeal or cereal though. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed 1 night and it was marvelous! The cottages & grounds are a feast for the eyes. The bed and bedding was luxurious and our suite was spacious. We were upgraded to a suite after our studio cottage became unavailable (Thank you,Ted). The s'mores were a great treat, the redwoods right outside were magnificent and breakfast was great. The only drawback is the busy highway to 101 is right outside the front door. Fortunately, our suite was hillside, so it wasn't bad. I would stay here again in a heartbeat, husband wanted to! The staff was friendly and helpful. I would recommend the cottages to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a hillside room if you want quiet, as the road can be noisy. The motel is right on the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mermaid82001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
14.1 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 24 in Santa Rosa
591 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#1 of 12 in Guerneville
353 reviews
1.9 mi away
AutoCamp Russian River
AutoCamp Russian River
#1 of 9 in Guerneville
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rio Nido Lodge at the Russian River
1.1 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 12 in Guerneville
530 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Woods Resort at the Russian River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages on River Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on River Road

Address: 14880 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9279 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: £64 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottages on River Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests the chance to escape the ordinary and experience a unique hotel in a diverse and breathtaking destination. Whether it is canoeing on the river, biking the backroads, touring a world class winery, hiking the redwood forests or strolling along the beaches of Bodega Bay, you will return each evening to enjoy s’mores under a sky full of stars at Cottages on River Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Cottages on River Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages On River Road Hotel Guerneville
Cottages On River Road Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing