We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cottages on River Road
Ranked #3 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent two nights here while visiting Sonoma. The place is definitely amazing and relaxing. I would have liked the room to be equipped with some basic kitchen stuff, like plates and cutlery. Breakfast a little bit basic (hard boiled eggs and few pastries and fruits) but overall we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JoLondon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for Cottages on River Road
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed here with 2 friends for 2 nights last week. Just a very nice place, clean and neat with great front desk persons. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and recommend it to friends!
Plenty to see and do in this area. Many wineries in nearly any direction and Armstrong Forest
(a smaller version) of Muir Woods about 2 miles away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

this is wine country + giant redwood forest. We had frineds nearby and decided to stop in Guerneville for one night. Very pleasant and nice private cottages; no road noise in the room despite being very near the main road. Very nice garden...

Room Tip: cottages are on a main road, but very quiet -no road noise- and very clean. Very good value as well...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a lovely little vacation resort, right along the River Road (not surprisingly) which gets fairly busy, but not annoyingly so. The pool is tiny, so it is not a place to come to and spend the day on site. The cottages itself are very well equipped and tastefully decorated, with a nice little porch looking out onto the lovely garden. Everybody has already described the s'mores and the camp fire, and our girls loved that! Very nice touch. We went to visit the Korbel Champagne Cellars, that was very much worth it. Otherwise there really isn't that much to do and see in Guerneville.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Check-in was a snap: friendly and professional. The cottages are comfortable and clean, a cut above other accommodations in the area. There is some variation in size and comfort, but the three 2-bedroom cottages I saw were all quite nice. The smores around the fire pit at night are good fun, and we were glad to have the fridge and wet bar area so that we could have our own little happy hour. Dog-friendly. Quiet. It's a little over a mile to townl we chose to walk along Old River Road, which was pleasant enough and there were few cars. Slightly pricey but probably worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAGreens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Maybe not so hidden--it's right on the main road--but it feels a million miles away. We reserved a suite with a kitchen called the "Tree House." and upon seeing it immediately asked for a second night. It's up a lot of steps but has its own private deck surrounded by redwoods. Most of the cottages open on a charming garden, where s'mores are served nightly around the fire pit. There is a pool (unheated) and many inviting nooks and crannies to sit and relax. It's a bit too far from town to walk, but we didn't mind driving in.

Having a kitchen after a week on the road was a treat. So was the convenient coin-operated washer and dryer. The staff was friendly and helpful. The fresh crullers in the morning were irresistible.

Room Tip: The staff was happy to show us the available rooms before we decided.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Lovely cottages. Very clean and newly remodeled. Definitely not a two star. Many amenities of a 3 or 4 star (wifi, massages, pool...). Lovely breakfast included and smores by the fire at night! The staff were wonderful and made us and our small daughter feel right at home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
13.9 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,501 reviews
5.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
694 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#8 of 13 in Guerneville
228 reviews
1.1 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
516 reviews
1.9 mi away
AutoCamp Russian River
AutoCamp Russian River
#1 of 9 in Guerneville
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages on River Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on River Road

Address: 14880 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9279 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range: £68 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottages on River Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests the chance to escape the ordinary and experience a unique hotel in a diverse and breathtaking destination. Whether it is canoeing on the river, biking the backroads, touring a world class winery, hiking the redwood forests or strolling along the beaches of Bodega Bay, you will return each evening to enjoy s’mores under a sky full of stars at Cottages on River Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cottages on River Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages On River Road Hotel Guerneville
Cottages On River Road Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing