We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not judge a book by the cover.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cottages on River Road
Ranked #1 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Munfordville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Do not judge a book by the cover.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

From the road the cottages appeared ordinary. The minute you enter the lobby you know you have made an excellent choice. Our cottage was a two bedroom garden cottage with lovely grounds in front and redwoods in the rear. The interior was tastefully decorated and extremely clean. The beds and bath were comfortable.
The breakfast was fine, fruit, pastry, juice,delicious coffee.
The location is excellent.
There is some traffic noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    100
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
96
198
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
564 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our first trip to the Russian River valley and we found this ideal spot. Since this was just a "scoping" trip, we stayed only one night but wish it had been much longer. The cabins are very nice and homey. Our only suggestion, invest in some curtains - they get very bright inside in the AM. The helpful staff will give plenty of guidance re the area, including the many wineries.
Road noise isn't that bad - we always travel with earplugs just in case.
The breakfast is amazing - great fresh baked pastries, juice, etc. The nighttime fire pit with s'mores was fun and relaxing. This is a family spot, at least at this time during school vacation week, and this is good or bad depending on your perspective. We, traveling without children, feel that those who do should exercise some control and judgment. The grounds are lovely and garden-like, conducive to quiet relaxing or running around screaming, again depending on your needs. There are quieter times of the year here and if that's your need, ask the staff when they are (and come without the kids). All-in-all a great visit and we'll be back for a longer stay.
Frank, the resident cat holds court whenever and wherever he likes, and is a nice addition to the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quitter, also those at the ends of the property will have less foot tra...
See more room tips
Green Features: Like staying in your own lovely garden. Standard practices like conserving linens etc apply.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cands2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I am hesitant to wr ite a review of this place only because I'd love to keep this gem to myself. But in the end, that would not be fair to the owner or staff at this lovely property. Just a fantastic experience at this place. The hotel is tucked just enough into the woods off the highway that you feel like you have escaped from it all . The units are great - clean and nice..and updated. Best feature of all though has to do with the staff. All are very friendly and go out of their way to help you -- whether it is to make sure you are comfortable and have everything you need or to help plan your day of touring. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: If you have a family. go with the two bedroom. Worth the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here on a recent California trip. The hostess was very pleasant and friendly. She gave great advice about the town (not a lot to the town). Parking is on the main road, except for a few spots behind the cottages. The breakfast is fantastic. They also have a campfire at night where the guests eat smores, drink their own wine, etc. The grounds are like a garden - very nice. The cottage we stayed in was nice on the inside but small - no closet or area to hang clothes. There was no air conditioner but there was a ceiling fan and a heater. The bathroom was nice with nice shampoos, soaps, etc. My major complaint is that our cottage was right beside River Road and the noise from the traffic was pretty bad and interrupted my sleep several times. The bed wasn't very comfortable either. Other than those two issues - nice place. See my other review for Chef Patrick's restaurant in Guerneville. That place was out of sight fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave3176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We loved Cottages on River Road. The cottage we had was very large, the bathroom was enormous and everything was very clean. The grounds were very cute and we really enjoyed the bon fire with s'mores each evening. The staff was very nice in recommending things to do. The breakfast was great and had something for everyone. We loved the cat "Frank" who roamed the grounds. The place is also pet friendly which is great. We will be back and recommend it to all.

Room Tip: They all seemed really great! The studio was perfect for just the 2 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libbiroed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed 3 nights here and I was very happy to have found it. The cottage I had was a two bedroom with separate living area/kitchen. Very clean and modern, bed and linens were top notch, bath was great as was the nice hot shower. Wifi and TV were also good.
The setting is on a "busy only at peak hours" road, so was quiet at night and sleep quality was good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and they did an evening fire circle which guests seemed to enjoy. It is a short drive to get to town or the coast but I felt the value was excellent regardless. I didn't try the breakfast since I had a kitchen so can't comment on it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I was pleasantly surprised at how well kept the property was. Beautiful redwood trees in the backyard. Paid 88 dollars for a night which was a really good value for what I got. Breakfast was plentiful with boiled eggs, muffins, toast/bagels, fresh fruit and coffee/tea etc . Staff was courteous. There is a refrigerator, Kuerig machine and good supplies of teas available in all rooms. Rooms are super clear and tastefully decorated.
I stayed there for only one night and will consider staying here again if I am back in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
5.7 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
682 reviews
13.9 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,268 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Dry Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
509 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
332 reviews
1.3 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#7 of 13 in Guerneville
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages on River Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages on River Road

Property: Cottages on River Road
Address: 14880 River Rd, Guerneville, CA 95446-9279 (Formerly River Village Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cottages on River Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests the chance to escape the ordinary and experience a unique hotel in a diverse and breathtaking destination. Whether it is canoeing on the river, biking the backroads, touring a world class winery, hiking the redwood forests or strolling along the beaches of Bodega Bay, you will return each evening to enjoy s’mores under a sky full of stars at Cottages on River Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Cottages on River Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages On River Road Hotel Guerneville
Cottages On River Road Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing