We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
1 review
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 6 November 2007

My wife and I were referred to the West Sonoma Inn by a friend who had spent a week here in the Summer. We had a wonderful time. The accommodations are excellent: large rooms, huge bed, fireplace, a wet bar area with a couch and table, & private balcony facing the woods.

The staff was always helpful and very friendly.

Our main purpose in going to Sonoma County was for a nice quite relaxing get-a-way, with a few visits to the wineries, there are a few in Sonoma County :). The location was perfect, not too touristy, but within a 15 minute drive of everything.

We will be back to West Sonoma Inn in the future and would recommend anyone to stay here too.

Dave

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mfreewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    70
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
129
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon Manitoba
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2007

We rented a Vineyard Cottage sweet for our honeymoon. The jacuzzi tub was awesome, the bed was SO comfortable, the kitchen area very convienent and sitting area with plazma tv and fireplace made us feel very at home. The hotel manager/conceriege was absolutely excellent, very helpful and definatley went the extra mile.

The West Sonoma Inn was as best a place to stay in Guerneville as we could see, however, we were a little surprised by the "colofulness" of Guerneville itself. All in all, a good experience.

  • Liked — Private hot tub
  • Disliked — The town of Guerneville (but surrounding area is very nice)
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jwinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron Park, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2007

We booked this Inn from the pictures on the internet, big mistake! The room we got was old and overpriced, old room priced the same as the remolded rooms. We felt like we were in an overpriced Motel 6. There was no clock/radio, ironing board, iron, phone (these are basic items). The room was run down, dirty stained carpet, no plate cover over electrical outlet, small portable heater, chips in plaster on wall, plaster repair not completed.

When housekeeping did their thing they didn't replace the used coffee cups, looks as though they rinsed them barely, that was it. They left their dirty cleaing towel on the counter near the sink.

Beware when booking at this Inn, I've stayed at 4 star hotels in SF for $99, this 1 star motel 6 room was $183 night- ouch! We should have complained and left after the first night. Huge waste of money, the old rooms should be priced accordingly.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Noisy people in upstairs room, old run down inn
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chillsboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSISonoma_California, Owner at West Sonoma Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 8 October 2007
Our policy at West Sonoma Inn & Spa is to always do whatever we can to ensure a relaxing and positive experience for our guests. We are very sorry to hear that this guest had an unsatisfactory stay and regret that they did not bring this to our attention while on the property.

We inform everyone when reserving the Vineyard Rooms that they are the most affordable rooms because they have not yet been remodeled. However, the building is only ten years old and the room is not priced the same as our remodeled rooms ($165 verses $195 on the weekend during our peak season, roughly a 20% discount.)

We are a property that has undergone a huge transformation over the last year and we continue to make improvements and add amenities. (Since this guest’s posting was published, we have completed the installation of our in-room phone system.) Remodeling the six Vineyard Rooms is a project that we hope to have completed by early Spring 2008.

Karen O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rescue, Ca.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights. It was a perfect base for exploring the area. We enjoyed the large suite, the hot tub, the balcony overlooking the vineyards, the large pool with the deep end, the friendly staff and the fact that we could walk to downtown Guerneville. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2007

We enjoyed out stay. We had a nice little suite. The room was nice. The pool was also very nice.

It is close to good dining and to river activites.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MojoSanFrancisco_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2007

West Sonoma Inn is newly remodeled and it now has a great ambiance and atmosphere. The rooms are beautiful and the beds - well, they're more comfortable than my own at home. It's a 2 min walk to the beach, Safeway or any restaurant. It was nice and quiet but a minute away from any fun night life. I highly recommend staying here...

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank kpadgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2007

This is a centrally located hotel in Guerneville, most probably the best choice available in the centre. We stayed one night in a Suite / I would not call it a Suite as it does nto have a sitting area or separate sitting area. The Guestrooms was spacious with Double / Double Beds (we specifically asked for and booked a King, which was again reconfirmed by the hotel but for some reason not given to use…), the Suite has a spacious kitchen with Microwave, cooker, large fridge freezer, small breakfast table and two chairs and an outside small deck.

I would classify this as a three star hotel; the deck was dirty and had not been cleaned by housekeeping with leaves and dirt from birds on the chairs and tables. The accommodation has NO air conditioning at all, it was VERY warm. There is no room service or food service available.
The lobby area is pleasant, and there is a small pool.
I did not see any SPA / it is called a Spa Hotel

Be very careful if you need to amend your stay, we booked a one night stay, changed to a two night stay which was not available and we were waitlisted, space confirmed to a two night stay and 3 days before arrival we hanged back to a one night stay. The hotel wanted to bully us to either cancel our stay altogether or stay two nights…there was no mention of this policy on the terms and conditions of our booking, we were paying full rate $ 185 and the hotel accepted but only with an argument. We did not feel this was ethical, and did not agree to or did not have communication from the hotel that there is a two night minimum stay.

There is a cartel in this town operating at all the hotels that on weekends they all only want two night stays regardless if they have availability or not.

This hotel did not meet my expectations, it was expensive for the product, the innkeepers are greedy, there is no air conditioning. However it is probably the only place to stay in Guerneville.

  • Liked — Location, spacious room
  • Disliked — No Air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank John013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSISonoma_California, Owner at West Sonoma Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 12 September 2007
We regret that this customer did not enjoy his stay with us. We reviewed our email correspondence with this guest and found it clearly stated that, like most neighboring properties, we have a 2-night minimum stay on high season weekends. Business in this area is highly seasonal and our summer occupancy is very important in helping us survive the slow winter season. This is simple economic survival; we do not agree that it can be characterized as greed.

We have never claimed to be a full-service hotel; we are a country inn set between a rural town and a 100 acre vineyard in western Sonoma County. We have several stands of huge Redwood trees that shed their old growth every August/September and though it drops on some of the decks during this period, our guests seldom mind. Housekeeping sweeps down all decks before guests arrive, but it takes just a small gust of wind to scatter leaves again.

Regarding his other complaints, at no time did this customer bring his concerns to any member of the management or staff while he was on the property, when we would have gladly addressed them, as is our usual practice.

Karen O'Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
13.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,443 reviews
6.5 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
691 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
341 reviews
0.6 mi away
AutoCamp Russian River
AutoCamp Russian River
#1 of 9 in Guerneville
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Sonoma Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Sonoma Inn & Spa

Property: West Sonoma Inn & Spa
Address: 14100 Brookside Lane, Guerneville, CA 95446
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Sonoma Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Russian River Valley, the stylish, newly renovated West Sonoma Inn & Spa is superbly situated on acres of sun-splashed grounds featuring soaring redwoods, shaded lawns, vineyard views and pool. Our rooms and suites feature plush beds, crisp white linens, Italian tile bathrooms and wet bars or mini kitchens. Most of our units have fireplaces, many have private decks and valley views, some have private two-person hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your West Sonoma Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Sonoma Inn And Spa
West Sonoma Hotel Guerneville
West Sonoma Inn & Spa Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing