We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place in a nice little town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice little place in a nice little town”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We were leery of staying here, because we booked just a few weeks before a trip on one of the busiest weekends of the year (Columbus Day weekend) and it was the only one with availability in either the Napa or Sonoma valleys. We were very pleasantly surprised. It's simple but clean and nice; our room had a beautiful view of Korbel's vineyards, and they do a nice little breakfast including mini-granola muffins that you can pop a few into your bag for fuel for a day of winery-hopping. The location in Sonoma is great. Guerneville is a quirky, fun little town with some great restaurants, and some of Sonoma's best wineries are right along the same road as the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 126, which Jenny (one of the businesses only four employees) told us is where her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gberg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    70
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
127
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I would highly recommend staying here if you are planning a trip to wine country. We recently stayed for my husbands 40th birthday and West Sonoma Inn and Spa not only helped me plan activities and gave recommendations prior to our stay, but were so welcoming and accomodating for our entire trip. The property is beautiful, with amazing views of vineyards and redwoods, a nice pool, lobby and outdoor spaces. My husband also had a fabulous massage that he booked last minute. The rooms were very large and updated with VERY comfortable king size bed. Walking distance to coffee shops and restaurants, yet feels remote and quiet. Also, 5 minutes from Armstrong Woods- a beautiful old redwood forest. We will definitely stay here next time we are in wine country!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I would reccommend this place many times over! I found this place and booked it SOLELY by TripAdvisor and the wonderful ratings. I emailed them before booking to see if the room was available because we had not finalized our plans yet & the mgmt held the room for us. (who does that anymore?!?)

My husband and and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary and thought the place was top-notch. It's very warm and inviting. It's a small town feel.

The breakfast on the weekend mornings was nice and very simply stated, but enough to get you started each morning. We were new to the Wine Country and the girl at the front gave us an entire rundown of where to go, what to do, where to eat, coupons, and lots of local information!

The room was warm, nice, updated (!!!) , and a very nice fireplace! It was very spacious for 2 people. We even saw a family with 2 babies (4yr & younger) and they were enjoying themselves!

A+
We would come back here again and again. We have told all of our friends of our amazing time here.

If you are reading this, you should book this place!

Room Tip: Any room is good! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyFlorida5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

There were so many opportunities for the West Sonoma Inn to excel, but they failed with each one. It was disappointing because I really wanted to like this place. I must say that the most excellent part of our stay was the MASSAGES - top notch quality. The views are delightful too. So...now for the disappointments. We were driving from 1.5 hours away. I called to see if we could check in early to avoid traffic. The person who answered the phone said YES. When we arrived, the person at the desk said NO. After some nudging to actually see if our room was available, it actually was. (the staff were arguing about it.) Then the room was 85 degrees F (no air conditioning, which is not stated on their website). We headed straight to the pool, only to hear another family grumbling about a miscommunication about when to check in.... This made a bad start to our stay. I was also hoping for some good coffee, but you have to walk to the coffee shop to get that (they provide drip coffee makers in the room, but the coffee is weak. (Bring your own coffee!) Also, we had a small refrigerator in the room (GOOD), but it was not on (BAD), so we could not keep our cool groceries cold for a few more hours. Like I said - many opportunities to impress.... but no ribbon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oakley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSISonoma_California, Owner at West Sonoma Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thanks for the valuable feedback. I was happy to see that you did enjoy your spa treatments and the views and naturally disappointed that we didn't score higher points elsewhere, so to speak.

Allow me to explain what happened regarding your check-in. Check-in time is 4 p.m. If someone requests an early check-in we try our best to accommodate this but we don't guarantee it. While you were checking in early, one of the management team was performing a management room check, which is always done before allowing guests to check into their room. It had not been completed prior to your arrival but was in the process. While you were still at the front desk, the staff member checking you in was correct to say that your room was not ready but then a member of the management team came in and gave the go-ahead for check-in. If there ever is a delay, guests are welcome to relax by our pool or in our wine garden.

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy our complimentary in-room coffee. It's organic, shade-grown and purchased and roasted by a local coffee company. I selected this medium body blend with the hopes that most coffee drinks would enjoy it. For anyone with stronger coffee just use less water.

It's true that we turn our fridges right down to conserve energy when the room is not in use. We do normally turn them up again for check-ins and this must have been over-looked. We will be more vigilant about this in the future.

We don't have air-conditioning. For most people it's not a problem as the climate here is warm during the day when people are out and cool during the evening. Thanks again for your candid feedback.

Karen O'Brien
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I stay at the Russian River frequently, but for some reason overlooked this place in the past. My loss! I loved it and will definitely be back.

Pros:
- Views, views, VIEWS! Almost every room has a deck that looks out at the hills, vineyards or both. If your room doesn't have a deck, there are various outdoor seating areas in which to plop down. There are even beautiful redwoods surrounding the pool, but conveniently not blocking the sunlight.
- The pool area is spacious. Plenty of room to scoot away from loud (drunk) talkers. It's a nice deep pool, too. Not one of those 4' shallow lame ones.
- Overall location is good - you can walk to all of the restaurants & the beach in town easily.
- The beds are amazing, and I am a bed snob.
- Everyone at the front desk was helpful. I didn't require much assistance, but they were printing out airline tickets etc. for other guests.
- Good value for wine country. Yeah, the Russian River bills itself as a bit rougher around the edges ... but it's still wine country, folks.

Cons:
- This place isn't going to win any design awards. That said, it was clean, spacious & comfortable.
- No breakfast, bottled water, cocktails on site - nada. They will deliver wine by the bottle to your room, but that's it. I had to get my Diet Coke fix elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We read about this place in Sunset as a great place to stay in the Russian River Valley for 150.00 a night. The view of the vineyards was spectacular, but the room was on the second floor, small and the ceiling fan didn't work. The manager offered to move us into a larger suite while we were out wine tasting. We returned to find all of our luggage had been carted down to a much larger suite at no additional charge. Additionally, they gave use great tips on where to eat, smaller wineries that most people don't know about and spectacular views (where the Russian River meets the ocean). These guys are very hospitable, responsive and customer oriented. This is a value-added getaway.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomn8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The West Sonoma Inn is a delight. The courtyard room we were in had a small private deck, a kitchen, and a good-size bedroom area with two queen beds and a fireplace. Even though the resort was full, we did not hear any other guests. The grounds are well-kept and offer a couryard seating area as well as several picnic tables under trees. We did not use the pool. Coffee and croissants were offered on the last two mornings but for some inexplicable reason, not on the first. The staff was very helpful in suggesting wineries to visit (and offering complimentary wine-tasting coupons, breakfast and lunch places, and maps and directions. If you will be arriving after 8:30 p.m. be sure to contact the inn in advance because the office will be closes at that time--they will arrange for a key and directions to your room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
13.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,271 reviews
6.5 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
682 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#4 of 13 in Guerneville
509 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sonoma Orchid Inn
Sonoma Orchid Inn
#5 of 13 in Guerneville
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fern Grove Cottages
Fern Grove Cottages
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Sonoma Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Sonoma Inn & Spa

Property: West Sonoma Inn & Spa
Address: 14100 Brookside Lane, Guerneville, CA 95446
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Sonoma Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Russian River Valley, the stylish, newly renovated West Sonoma Inn & Spa is superbly situated on acres of sun-splashed grounds featuring soaring redwoods, shaded lawns, vineyard views and pool. Our rooms and suites feature plush beds, crisp white linens, Italian tile bathrooms and wet bars or mini kitchens. Most of our units have fireplaces, many have private decks and valley views, some have private two-person hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your West Sonoma Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Sonoma Hotel Guerneville
West Sonoma Inn And Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing