We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Inn in a fantastic little town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Sonoma Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Guerneville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hattiesburg, Mississippi, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn in a fantastic little town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I stayed in one of the Vineyard suites for two nights and absolutely loved it! The grounds and pool were beautiful. The deck had a great two person hot tub and overlooked a lovely vineyard with redwood covered hills as the backdrop. I spent the second morning relaxing in the hot tub as I watched deer graze in the vineyard. The suite was large with a very comfortable bed, living room with fireplace, kitchen, and a large mutli-head shower.

The staff was incredibly friendly and made great recommendations for dining and entertainment in the area. The best part was that everything was within easy walking distance!

Easy 45 minute drive from Sonoma and 15 minutes or so to the coast. Just a couple of minute drive from Armstrong Redwoods State Natural Reserve which is a must see!

There is a continental breakfast on weekend mornings that had croissants, fresh fruit, cheese, muffins, coffee and juice. Very good!

Room Tip: Vineyard view suites offer a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    68
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
28
122
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pope Valley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We thought we were going to love our room and time in Guerneville. We had a great dinner at Agriculture Bar and loved that it was walking distance from the hotel. Our time in the Hydro Spa in our room was truly relaxing and peaceful. However that all came to a stop when we went to bed. The hotel booked a room to some locals they new would probably cause a problem. We didn't sleep a bit. All night they were loud and LOUDER... They were having a party. All we wanted was our first night away from our childeren to be a peacful, special one. So much for that sleep we wanted too. Check out was noon the next day, but we were knocking at the lobby door to get out. The lobby receptionist came down to collect our key. She said, oh did you have any problems with the neighbors? We looked at her with question. She had two other complaints of the noise being too loud and didn't do anything about it. My family and I are hotel owners and if that happened at our hotel I would have refunded the disturbed guest for sure. They knew these local people were up to no good. Sweet room, but terrible service. She said, "Oh, if you come back I'll have your name on file and we will give you a discount." Ha, Ha, Ha...

Room Tip: The room with the hydro spa on the deck was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSISonoma_California, Owner at West Sonoma Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Our commitment to excellent customer service is something we pride ourselves on. It was with sincere shock and disappointment that I read this review. I met these guests the morning they checked out and neither mentioned any problem. It was only when I asked if everything had been good with their stay that the reviewer told me her neighbors had been noisy. I spoke with them for several minutes and they never expressed the level of disturbance portrayed here.

The reviewers statement that there were 'two other complaints of noise' is simply not accurate. There were no complaints from anyone. All our rooms have phones and we have a 'quiet time' policy after 10 pm. Neither the reviewer nor her husband contacted us that night to tell us of a noise problem. The only way a business can remedy a problem is when they are informed that there is a problem.

She also claims that we knew the people and knew they were going to cause a disturbance. This is completely inaccurate. It goes against everything we stand for to host people who are disrespectful to our other guests or our property.

The reviewer did not ask for a discount or a refund when she was checking out. Since reading her review I have issued a full refund to her account and written to apologize for a disappointing stay.

Karen O'Brien
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina del Rey
Level Contributor
187 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had a cabin with fireplace and nice small deck with 2-person hot tub and a lovely view out over a vineyard to very green hills beyond with deer bounding through the vineyard. The cabin was comfortable and clean with a great shower, a refrigerator and a microwave. The furniture is a bit drab, but adequate--definitely not a designer boutique or artist-inspired place. Fresh fruit, croissants , juice and coffee for breakfast. WIFI available, but signal quality a bit spotty.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyTraveler26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The quiet cabin-like rooms were immaculate. We stayed in room 130 which had newly installed wood floors in the living area that also had a fireplace and kitchenette and dining table. Outside our cabin was a little quiet patio. There was one bedroom and one bath, both updated and immaculate. There was a pool and spa and many rooms had a view of this beautiful vineyard. There is a continental breakfast included.

We brought with us our 9 month old baby to the West Sonoma Inn and it worked out great. Though I believe our room is "pet friendly", it was extremely clean with no evidence of past pets. They have a pack and play for little ones which worked perfect for us.

You can walk to the little town from this location. Everything was wonderful. Choosing West Sonoma was perfect for us and our needs. I would definitely recommend this to friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFTravelersT-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I bought a Groupon over six months ago for a one-night stay at the West Sonoman Inn and Spa that included a VIP wine pass, spa credits, and a nice bottle of wine. My husband and I had never been out west, so I called the resort to get the details on the Groupon and a little advice about our travels. I first spoke to Jenny who was so awesome at giving me all the scoop about Guerneville including where to fly into, what rental car company to use, what sites to see and what time of year she recommended for our visit. Over the next few months, I called Jenny several times with more questions, and she was always bubbly and very informative. She arranged an awesome wine tour for us and our friends with Terrific Tours and even hooked my friends up with a wine pass, since they didn't have a Groupon. Even when we arrived to the Inn last week, Jenny gave me more advice and even googled our airline to find our their wine check-in policies! The entire staff at this resort was cool and helpful and the place was so quiet and relaxing that I wish we could've stayed there much longer. I would highly recommend the West Sonoma Inn and Spa for anyone who'd like a nice vacation in the Russian River Valley!

Room Tip: Our room was a suite with a little kitchen area and a cute little fireplace that cut on automaticall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Corlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had a quiet, cozy room overlooking the vinyards with personal hot tub on the deck and a fireplace. All of the staff are really helpful - they were very accommodating fixing a date mix-up, booking spa treatments, making great restaurant recommendations, and mapping out a wine tasting plan that we were very happy with. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaver7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed for one night on a trip to see the Armstrong Redwoods and the Russian River Valley. Rooms are part of a series of 1 story "bungalows." We had a king suite, which was quite large, with a separate sitting room with microwave, wet bar, and refrigerator. Coffee service was provided. The window overlooked part of the Korbel vineyards and the fog rising over the vineyards in the morning was a lovely sight. The room was heated entirely by the gas fireplace, which meant that on a chilly night the bathroom and sitting area got a little cold. The bathroom was rather small, but very clean. It took a while to run the water to get it to become hot. Only 1 bar of soap was provided for both the sink and the shower. :( There were chairs out on the "porch" for relaxing. The inn has a pool but it was too cold for this time of year.
Guerneville is a small, retro town that still has a 5 and dime! The inn is easily within walking distance of most of the stores and sites in Guerneville. There is a grocery store where we picked up bakery items for breakfast. There are also a number of coffee shops and book stores. Guerneville is like a walk back in time.
You will not get luxury here but it is a reasonable accommodation at a fair price.

Room Tip: I would look at the website to peruse pictures of the rooms. There are a number with different featu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maretrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guerneville
6.5 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
15.0 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#3 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Sonoma Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Sonoma Inn & Spa

Property: West Sonoma Inn & Spa
Address: 14100 Brookside Lane, Guerneville, CA 95446
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Guerneville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Guerneville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Sonoma Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Russian River Valley, the stylish, newly renovated West Sonoma Inn & Spa is superbly situated on acres of sun-splashed grounds featuring soaring redwoods, shaded lawns, vineyard views and pool. Our rooms and suites feature plush beds, crisp white linens, Italian tile bathrooms and wet bars or mini kitchens. Most of our units have fireplaces, many have private decks and valley views, some have private two-person hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your West Sonoma Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Sonoma Inn And Spa
West Sonoma Hotel Guerneville
West Sonoma Inn & Spa Guerneville, Sonoma County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing